Friday’s Hunt v2.10

2 Sep

Welcome back to Friday’s Hunt.  I want to thank everyone who joined in last week.  I had a lot of fun visiting everyone who linked up.  It’s very simple.  Anyone can participate.  The link opens at 7pm Central time and will close Sunday at 7pm, so you have plenty of time to enter. Hopefully, you’ll be inspired to visit some of the other entries.

If you didn’t participate this week but would like to next week, the topics will be:  Starts with K, Week’s Favorite, and yellow/gold.  I will always keep a list of the items for the coming week in my sidebar at the top. I am crazy busy with teaching and working on the farm right now, but I will make sure to visit all participants.  Without further ado, here’s my interpretations for the week.

Starts with J:  I am going with juvenile.  I have all my June babies that are still juvenile goats.

Elmer, Jacob, Daisy, George and Martha

Elmer, Jacob, Daisy, George and Martha

Week’s Favorite:  My favorite this week was coming home from work last night and seeing the goats in pasture.  Now, isn’t that supposed to be normal.  Yes, it is, but when I came home Tuesday and Wednesday, the goats were in my corn field.  Actually, they were in the corn field on Tuesday.  On Wednesday, they  had made it all the way to the pumpkin patch and starting to head out onto the road.  I guess I managed to get the gate fastened tight enough on Wednesday, and they were in.  Yay!

goat pasture_4596ews

Surprise:  I got a text from my sister on Sunday asking if I wanted tomatoes.  Well, of course I did.  My geese ate all of mine–the few they had with our dry summer.  I got three five gallon buckets full.  Then my mom brought me part of another bucket.  So, in the midst of my goats being out, I was busy canning tomatoes. That’s a lot of surprises this week. I do like the results of the tomatoes though!

tomatoes_5097ews

6 pints roasted tomatoes and 1/2 pint, 7 quarts and 36 pints of cold packed tomatoes

Now it’s your turn!

19 Responses to “Friday’s Hunt v2.10”

  1. Ralph Villers September 2, 2016 at 7:49 pm #

    June and juvenile are perfect (and cute) examples of starting with ‘J’! You have captured the goats nicely. The roasted tomatoes look delicious!

    • Teresa September 4, 2016 at 5:43 pm #

      Thanks. I do love my roasted tomato sauce.

  2. Patty Leonard Woodland September 2, 2016 at 9:50 pm #

    That’s a great surprise! Our tomato crop is going to be a disappointment this year. It’s good that last year was extraordinary.

    • Teresa September 4, 2016 at 5:44 pm #

      Sorry to hear your tomatoes aren’t doing well. Maybe you’ll have some gifted to you.

  3. Jim September 2, 2016 at 11:09 pm #

    The tomatoes look really good, Teresa. We now and then get gifted by friends a few garden tomatoes. They are sooo good. Also, I am sorry that your goats got out. No fun, besides if they would have left your farm they could hurt your reputation.
    Thank you for hosting, things go along fast with the letters.
    ..

    • Teresa September 4, 2016 at 5:44 pm #

      Well, I don’t think it would hurt my reputation. I just worry that they would be hit. I don’t want anyone to get hurt.

  4. Gattina September 3, 2016 at 2:39 am #

    I would call them teenagers, lol ! They must be in a playful mood all the time. Canning tomatoes you are really brave I would be far to lazy to do that !

    • Teresa September 4, 2016 at 5:45 pm #

      They are ornery. Even my old ladies.

  5. vem030956 September 3, 2016 at 9:35 am #

    Love your sweet goats, though I am sure you have other words for them…..love the tomatoes,,,wish I knew how to can! Thanks for hosting us!

    • Teresa September 4, 2016 at 5:46 pm #

      I do adore them. Although occasionally, I do have other choice words. They are just being goats. I love the home canned foods.

  6. Su-sieee! Mac September 3, 2016 at 6:57 pm #

    That’s a lot of canning! Good for you. I like your sweet photo of the frolicking juveniles.

    • Teresa September 4, 2016 at 5:46 pm #

      Well, you have to can when you have the tomatoes. LOL The kids love running around out there.

  7. scotiaspinner September 3, 2016 at 7:13 pm #

    The June Juveniles are adorable still! The tomatoes are a great bonus – I can’t wait to grow more here. I had a lot of cherry tomatoes from my container plants, but not enough to make sauce.

    • Teresa September 4, 2016 at 5:47 pm #

      They are cute! It will be nice when you can garden again. I would appreciate gardening without goats and geese.

  8. Jeanne September 4, 2016 at 1:17 am #

    Such naughty goaties!! I’m so glad they didn’t get out onto the road! What a blessing to receive those lovely tomatoes. They look really nice all lined up in their jars.

    • Teresa September 4, 2016 at 5:49 pm #

      Me too. I do worry that they will get on the road. I am very grateful to my sister for the tomatoes.

  9. Margaret Adamson September 5, 2016 at 12:36 am #

    WOW You have been very busy with all those tomatoes. Love both the juveniles adn the herd of goats in pasture. Thanks for hosting

    • Teresa September 5, 2016 at 9:41 pm #

      It’s a good feeling to have tomatoes canned for winter use. So glad you join me for Friday’s Hunt!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday’s Hunt 2.9 | brokenbarnfarm - September 3, 2016

    […] back for another version of Friday’s Hunt! Thanks again to Teresa at Eden Hills for hosting. This week our prompts are Starts with J, Week’s Favorite, and […]

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

