The Splint Comes Off

21 Aug

Lucky for me, my son stopped in yesterday morning and agreed to hold Cutie while I took her splint off.  In my mind, I’d cut the splint off, set her down, and she’d race off on all four perfect legs.  I saw that in a movie once with a dog.  Did I mention it was a movie?  I really didn’t expect that, but I thought she’d stand on it and walk with a limp.  When I got it off, her leg was completely devoid of muscle, that’s what I figured.

goat with splint_4354ews

However, her knee didn’t want to bend, and when I put her down, she let it dangle, lifeless.  That I didn’t expect.  She didn’t try to stand on it. Instead she hopped on her three good legs.

Goat 4583ews

I couldn’t pinpoint exactly what was wrong, but I knew it wasn’t right.  I even called my vet.  She really wondered why I was bothering her, but it just wasn’t right.  She said the only thing to check would make sure the bone was stable (i.e. it had calcified and healed).  It was fine.  Two hours later, I checked her, and the entire leg from shoulder to hoof was swollen.

goat kid_4538ews

I gave her an anti-inflammatory and chewed over what could have caused that to swell so completely and suddenly.  I debated.  I talked to my friend.  When I went back out to check again, more of her fur was coming off, and it was easier to see she had bright red skin and sores.  When I felt it, the knee was hot.  I called the vet (after hours so it was a different vet) and got her started on the proper antibiotic.

Goat infected leg4686ews

Goat infected leg_4650ews

Goat 4642ews

She’s better today, but I’m still keeping a close eye on her.  This poor little girl.

20 Responses to “The Splint Comes Off”

  1. Marie August 21, 2016 at 6:07 pm #

    You are a good caretaker and persistent too. She is adorable.

    • Teresa August 21, 2016 at 6:14 pm #

      Thanks. Sadly, I wish she could just get past this and be happy again. Poor baby.

  2. PC PHOTO August 21, 2016 at 6:11 pm #

    Poor little creature. Hope all will be well soon.

    • Teresa August 21, 2016 at 6:15 pm #

      I do too. I’m really glad her splint came off when it did. I’d hate to think how bad it would have been in another few days.

  3. Patty Leonard Woodland August 21, 2016 at 6:15 pm #

    oh, poor little cutie. I hope she gets better

    • Teresa August 21, 2016 at 6:15 pm #

      Thanks. Me too. She already is walking on it better today.

  4. jubileestreet2015 August 21, 2016 at 6:21 pm #

    oh . . you report so matter of factly – so bravely –
    me?? three days later I’d still be frantically chanting stuff . . . and panic stricken . . . and
    You Must Be Some Kind of Super Hero . . . I’d sure like a friend like you on my side – if i were facing a challenge.
    Looking for a Good Outcome
    Wishing YOU the Very Best.

    • Teresa August 21, 2016 at 7:31 pm #

      Trust me. I still have visions of flesh-eating bacteria and her going septic and every other horrible thought going through my head. That doesn’t help though, so it’s best to stick with the facts. 🙂

  5. Margaret August 21, 2016 at 7:37 pm #

    the poor little dear her leg must’ve been really sore. I hope she improves quickly

    • Teresa August 21, 2016 at 7:39 pm #

      The antibiotics are already helping. I feel so badly for her.

  6. Jim August 21, 2016 at 7:39 pm #

    Poor Cutie. I feel sorry for her and will pull for the antibiotics to do their job, quickly. Human knee, or other, transplants get infected too. Most have a slight infection but should not turn warm to the skin for more than six months.
    Cutie won’t be like that will she? Mine lasted about eight months but I am a slow healer.
    ..

    • Teresa August 21, 2016 at 7:41 pm #

      I don’t know how badly the infection has gotten into the joint. If it is still just a skin infection, it should heal quickly. I am hoping the antibiotics help quickly and it doesn’t leave any lasting damage.

  7. hedgewitch August 21, 2016 at 9:38 pm #

    Poor Cutie! Looks like an abscess almost. Hopefully it’s something that will respond to the antibiotic quickly. It’s always something for you and your goat-people, isn’t it,Teresa.

    • Teresa August 21, 2016 at 9:51 pm #

      Goats do seem to be susceptible to a lot of things. Seriously. Hopefully, the antibiotics help and she’s done with all this stuff.

  8. Jeanne August 21, 2016 at 11:42 pm #

    Poor sweet Cutie! Poor Teresa, too! This has to be very difficult for you. I’m so sorry. I can’t believe your vet’s attitude. I’ll be praying for healing for Cutie.

    • Teresa August 22, 2016 at 7:46 pm #

      The vet was very helpful. The first vet was correct also. She can’t help with my feeling that something is off. I have to be able to actually articulate real symptoms.

  9. pattisj August 22, 2016 at 1:21 am #

    I’m glad you kept an eye on her, and also got the splint off when you did. Hope her leg heals quickly.

    • Teresa August 22, 2016 at 7:47 pm #

      It’s not too uncommon to have the sore, but I was worried the infection would spread. Antibiotics are helping.

  10. Eileen Wise August 22, 2016 at 8:32 am #

    Poor cutie, I hope it heals and she recovers quickly.

    • Teresa August 22, 2016 at 7:48 pm #

      It is looking better. She is starting to walk on it a bit more.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

