No Rest for the Weary

20 Aug

The last few days have been crazy.  I seem to say that a lot, but it’s true.  I started back to work on Thursday on the second floor of an un-airconditioned brick building when we had a 100*F (37.78*C) heat index.  Just to make it more fun, I got to work an extra two hours too.  In good news, a co-worker did give me some tomatoes.  That’s good since my weeder geese mistook my tomatoes for weeds.

tomato sauce_4277ews

Between what I’ve bought at the farmer’s market and what people have gifted me, I’ve been able to start some canning.  I would like to do one more batch of roasted tomato sauce.  Then I need to start on just cold-packed tomatoes.

tomato sauce_4280ews

Friday was a busy day at home (non-mandatory work day.  Too hot to go to that building).  We are still painting and varnishing and doing all kinds of stuff in the garage.  I’m hoping to get a lot of this stuff finished on Sunday before I am back to work full time on Monday.

garage_4271ews

In addition, I’m still making things like hand pies to sell at the pumpkin patch.  I did finish the last of my jams and jellies right before going back to work.

Jams_4352ews

I had the farmer’s market Friday night.

Farmer's Market_4523ews

It was a race to get home before the storms arrived.  You’ll notice the hay did get baled!  I got to get Gomez’s head unstuck from the fence.  Then, I managed to finish milking just before the rain got here.  Now that I’m only milking once a day, my girls aren’t giving me as much milk, but it’s still quite a lot.

storm_4527ews

Today, I made mozzarella cheese since I have so much extra milk.  My mom has been making some too.  In between everything else, I keep making phone calls for the pumpkin patch to try and get food vendors, advertising, and I bought a big popcorn popper!

12 Responses to “No Rest for the Weary”

  1. Margaret August 20, 2016 at 10:11 pm #

    Your work load is tremendous I just don’t know how you get. Your jams look lovely

    • Teresa August 21, 2016 at 8:24 am #

      I never will get done, but I just keep chugging along. Thanks Margaret.

  2. Claire Moxon-Waltz August 21, 2016 at 7:06 am #

    I’m tired after reading that! Hooray for baling the hay! The tomato sauce looks great – I think that might be from the technique I shared a while back – if so, I’m glad it’s working out for you! I am hoping to have better tomato harvests in the coming years so I can make more myself! Working in that heat would be unbearable. I hope they let you have a desk fan or something similar.

    • Gayle August 21, 2016 at 7:16 am #

      What a workload!!! I suspect you thrive on it.

      • Teresa August 21, 2016 at 8:26 am #

        I’m not sure thrive would be the word, but I do prefer to be busy.

    • Teresa August 21, 2016 at 8:25 am #

      It is your method of making sauce. I absolutely love it! It’s the only way I do sauce now. I do hope you will be able to have a good garden next year. It is hard to do anything at home after spending the entire day in that heat.

  3. jubileestreet2015 August 21, 2016 at 10:56 am #

    You manage to accomplish So Much!!! (tomato sauce looks yummy) – Hope Monday is a Happy Start . . . thank you for taking time to share so much w/us.

    • Teresa August 21, 2016 at 12:44 pm #

      Thanks. It keeps me busy. I really do enjoy sharing my farm. Hope you have a great week.

  4. janicead August 21, 2016 at 1:07 pm #

    You stay so very busy.

    • Teresa August 21, 2016 at 1:46 pm #

      Yep. I’m never bored!

  5. Edith August 25, 2016 at 12:38 pm #

    I would love more details on how you make the sauce. The sauce I have canned from the stove top is just not thick enough. Your sauce looks thick and delicious!

    • Teresa August 25, 2016 at 7:24 pm #

      I will put instructions on my blog post for tomorrow. (Title of the post will be Friday’s Hunt v2.9)

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

