The Other Corn Crop

15 Aug

Besides my twenty-four acres of field corn, we planted a tiny little patch of Indian corn and popcorn.  In keeping with the theme this year, we had mechanical failures and the corn is spotty and full of grass.

corn patch_4367ews

But there’s actually some ears on it!  They should be ready around the time of the pumpkin patch.

Indian Corn_4370ews

It looks like the deer have sampled a lot of the ears.  Dang.

Indian Corn_4371ews

popcorn_4372ews

Hopefully, we’ll get enough for our needs this fall.

Corn tassels_4375ews

I’m thinking I’m not cut out for raising these alternative crops.

8 Responses to “The Other Corn Crop”

  1. Margaret August 16, 2016 at 12:57 am #

    It looks as if the deers are going to enjoy the crop of corn more than you are this year

    • Teresa August 17, 2016 at 5:53 pm #

      They certainly are enjoying it!

  2. Eileen Wise August 16, 2016 at 5:32 am #

    Hello, that is a shame. I just heard on our news that the black bears were causing problems with our corn crops here. The critters needs to eat. Have a happy day and week ahead!

    • Teresa August 17, 2016 at 5:54 pm #

      Well, they could walk twenty feet away and eat all the field corn they want. I don’t think it’s too much to ask for them to leave my fancy corn alone. 😉

  3. Jeanne August 17, 2016 at 12:56 am #

    That’s a shame that your fancy corn isn’t turning out so well. I hope you get at least enough to really enjoy it. Drat those deer!

    • Teresa August 17, 2016 at 5:55 pm #

      I think we’ll be fine. I also have a back up plan. 😉

  4. janicead August 21, 2016 at 1:14 pm #

    Farming is not for the weak of heart.

    • Teresa August 21, 2016 at 1:46 pm #

      It isn’t. I’m horrible about the gambling part of farm life.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

