Chocolate is Killing Me

14 Aug

If you remember, some of my moms were struggling to feed their kids and take care of themselves and moms and kids were all run down.  Well, most of them are doing great.  I weaned as many as I could.  The kids in my yard are doing amazing! Vanilla was run down and skinny (because he escaped the first time or two that I weaned him) with pale eyes, but not anymore!

Vanilla

Vanilla

They are fat.

Strawberry

Strawberry

Their eye membranes are bright red.

Zoe

Zoe

Granted, Cutie can’t quite figure out how to get in the patio chair, but she’s doing well.

Cutie

Cutie

I cannot keep Chocolate weaned though.  He and his mom really need for that to happen.  Maggie’s fur is coarse, and her eyes membranes are pale (she was wormed).  I need her to dry up and put all her energy into herself.  Chocolate is thin.

Chocolate

Chocolate

His eyes are white.  Seriously.  My vets would recommend a transfusion if they saw him, but he’s been wormed and I did a fecal.  The problem is his poor diet.  He isn’t getting milk from his mom.  He’s not eating well.  He doesn’t go out to pasture enough.  What he eats in the barnyard isn’t good.  It wouldn’t do any long-term good to do a transfusion if we don’t change what’s causing the anemia in the first place.  I have weaned him more times than I can count, but it doesn’t last.

kid eating tree_4260ews

He jumps onto the tin siding, up onto the dog house, and then he goes up on the roof.  Then he can go over the peak and it’s an easy jump to the ground in the barnyard.  He got creative with this method after I plugged the other fence holes he had been going through.

kid on roof_4262ews

At least he was eating some nice oak leaves before going back in, but he really needs weaned.  He needs food.

kid on roof_4263ews

He’s killing me.  I don’t know what to do with him.

10 Responses to “Chocolate is Killing Me”

  1. Claire Moxon-Waltz August 14, 2016 at 6:58 pm #

    Wow – what a rascal! He’s certainly got good energy if he can take himself up and over that roof. I hope he gets on the food wagon soon.

    • Teresa August 17, 2016 at 5:51 pm #

      He really does worry me. It’s been a rough pasture year and the heat doesn’t help either.

  2. Jim August 14, 2016 at 11:42 pm #

    He needs a spanking Teresa, they are all like ornery kids. Sweet, but even ornery kids are sweet.
    ..

    • Teresa August 17, 2016 at 5:51 pm #

      That’s for sure, but I couldn’t spank that sweet face. He just wants his maa, but I know what’s better for him.

  3. Margaret August 14, 2016 at 11:57 pm #

    Oh dear chocolate is a bit of a problem. Can you not supplement is diet with iron

    • Teresa August 17, 2016 at 5:52 pm #

      Lack of iron is not the problem, so it wouldn’t help. Too much iron can be harmful. He just needs to keep eating lots of green stuff.

  4. Jeanne August 15, 2016 at 1:30 pm #

    What a little rascal! I wonder too, if you could give him some kind of supplements. How you’re going to keep him away from his mom though,I have no idea. Good luck!

    • Teresa August 17, 2016 at 5:52 pm #

      Food. No supplement needed if he would just spend his days eating food.

  5. hedgewitch August 15, 2016 at 3:45 pm #

    Good luck with him, Teresa–and I can’t believe how he can climb *over the building* to get to his mom! I thought the chickens were bad!

    • Teresa August 17, 2016 at 5:53 pm #

      He’s the first I’ve had do that, but it’s not as easy to wean a goat as one might think.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

