Milking

11 Aug

I don’t talk about the milking part of my dairy farm very much because it’s not something I can easily photograph and share with you.  I kind of need both hands for it.   I do milk though.  Since I sold my March kids at the end of June, I’ve been milking five goats twice each day.  I’m not exactly a six and six milker.  I’m more of a 6:30ish to 7 milker.  It works for us.

milking goat in stanchion

Milking Meg five years ago. Boy, I love my milk room not in the chicken coop!

With going back to work next week, I’ve been stressing over how to do things.  I’m not exactly a morning person, and it takes time to milk five girls, filter the milk and clean up.  I could cut back on how many I milk, but that would cause fights trying to keep out whomever I chose not to milk.  Or I could go to milking just once a day.  That runs the risk of cutting back production though.

filtering goat milk

This morning, the thunderstorms and my desire not to get out of bed kind of made that decision for me.  I will milk just once a day.  That way, I can keep milking all five of them.

Dolly Ann Street

Dolly Ann Street

Cinnamon Blackboer

Cinnamon Blackboer

Haley Blackboer

Haley Blackboer

Clover Blackboer

Clover Blackboer

Stormy Sue Street

Stormy Sue Street

Hopefully, it doesn’t cut back too much on their milk or make them dry up.

I do hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this week are at the top of my side bar.

16 Responses to “Milking”

  1. Patty Leonard Woodland August 11, 2016 at 8:17 pm #

    I only ever milked once a day and I got good milk production.

    • Teresa August 11, 2016 at 8:19 pm #

      That’s good to hear. The CAE is my enemy in them not drying up. Because their udders get fibrous, I can’t get it completely milked out. I’m not sure once or twice a day will make a difference.

  2. Margaret August 11, 2016 at 8:46 pm #

    I hope that works out for you.

    • Teresa August 11, 2016 at 9:42 pm #

      It will. It always works out one way or another.

  3. jubileestreet2015 August 11, 2016 at 9:19 pm #

    beautiful photographs . . . .

  4. Jeanne August 12, 2016 at 12:14 am #

    I didn’t realize the CAE causes fibrous tissue! They are all beautiful goaties!

    • Teresa August 13, 2016 at 9:09 pm #

      It does in the udder. It can also impact lungs, the arthritis, and a neurological condition similar to MS in humans. Nasty virus.

  5. Allison August 12, 2016 at 6:36 am #

    I’m very interested to see how milking once a day works out for you. We just added 3 wonderful goats to our homestead. While the girls are still kids, I am wondering what the future holds for us here in Western NY state. Working a full-time off farm job and milking seems like it would be pretty difficult, adding in an active high school senior to the mix…. Good thing we have time to think about and plan what we are going to do.

    • Teresa August 13, 2016 at 9:10 pm #

      As long as I’ve already been milking, it should be fine. Haley might dry up just because she does that kind of thing, but everyone else should be fine. It did cut my production down a bit, but I don’t need more than a gallon a day anyhow.

  6. Eileen Wise August 12, 2016 at 9:24 am #

    I hope the milking once a day works out for you and the goats. Happy Friday, enjoy your weekend!

    • Teresa August 13, 2016 at 9:11 pm #

      I’m sure it will. I just wasn’t sure I was ready to do it yet.

  7. Claire Moxon-Waltz August 12, 2016 at 4:09 pm #

    Milking does take time, but it’s a lovely way to “connect” with the goats. I always enjoyed it – but my milkers were the little Nigerian Dwarf goats, so they didn’t take as long! I hope the once-a-day schedule works out well.

    • Teresa August 13, 2016 at 9:12 pm #

      You do always develop a great relationship with your milking does. With my girls all being half Boer, it doesn’t really take too long, but some have those tiny teats that do slow me down.

  8. Jim August 13, 2016 at 8:10 am #

    Liking your milking post, Teresa. I hadn’t thought much about how you were handling that. No cows to milk? No one to help you early in the morning? On our farm we milked up to twelve cows, twice a day. I started helping when I was four or five. And milked ever since until I left the farm.
    A couple of years before I left Dad bought a milking machine. I am sure goat milkers are made as well. 🙂
    ..

    • Teresa August 13, 2016 at 9:16 pm #

      I don’t have cows anymore. I don’t know how anyone could help me. It’s not hard, but it does take time. They do make machines for goats, but considering the expense (crazy) and having to clean and sanitize afterwards, I’m not sure I’d gain any time. It’s pretty fast washing dishes and my hands. I do enjoy milking anyhow.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

