Checking Cows

6 Aug

Well, I haven’t had to check cows in quite a while, but my nephew went on vacation before his dad gets back from vacation, so I get to check his last two cows waiting to have their calves.

Cows_3565ews

They are pretty mellow, but they seem to think I should be bringing them treats.  Maybe next time. Here’s a peak in his barn.  They blow their hay instead of baling it.  There is no wasted space or hay with this method.

barn_3567e2ws

I also decided to take a couple of extra cow pictures while I was passing by my brother-in-law’s place.

Cows_3579ews

These are his cows and calves relaxing in the shade.

Cows_3589ews

It does make me miss my bovine.

16 Responses to “Checking Cows”

  1. Pondside August 6, 2016 at 9:46 pm #

    Your bovine was a very special one – it’s understandable!

    • Teresa August 7, 2016 at 6:17 pm #

      He really was special. I miss him every day. 🙂

  2. Jim August 6, 2016 at 10:06 pm #

    I am hoping they will treat you more civilly after you feed them a bit. They are pretty cows.
    ..

    • Teresa August 7, 2016 at 6:17 pm #

      They were pretty nice. They really just hoped for a treat. I only had face scrubbies for them.

  3. Margaret August 7, 2016 at 12:12 am #

    Is there a reason why you cannot have Connors again? The cows in these photographs are really left me under very well cared for.

    • Teresa August 7, 2016 at 6:18 pm #

      They do a great job of caring for their cattle. I could have cows, but it’s hard to breed them and deal with a bull and take care of such big animals on my own. It’s best I just visit. 🙂

  4. TexWisGirl August 7, 2016 at 6:49 am #

    does make for wonderful shots.

    • Teresa August 7, 2016 at 6:19 pm #

      Thanks. My nephew’s wife has me taking photos to decorate their house. She wanted one of cows, so she has these to choose from.

  5. Eileen Wise August 7, 2016 at 7:04 am #

    Hello, it is cool to cow-sit. I thought it was fun to dog sit my grand-dog. Pretty shots of the cows. Happy Sunday, enjoy your day and the new week ahead!

    • Teresa August 7, 2016 at 6:19 pm #

      Dog sitting is probably more fun. I just have to go make sure these two aren’t having a calf. LOL They don’t look like they are close yet, so it’s pretty boring.

  6. Mama Zen August 7, 2016 at 10:43 am #

    Wonderful shots. W miss having cows, too.

    • Teresa August 7, 2016 at 6:20 pm #

      They are great animals!

  7. Jeanne August 8, 2016 at 12:34 am #

    It’s obvious that you love cows! Those are pretty, but I think your goat-critters are really neat!

    • Teresa August 8, 2016 at 9:32 pm #

      Cows are great animals. It’s a lot easier for me to work with the goats though. Size matters when you have to do most things on your own.

  8. pattisj August 10, 2016 at 9:41 pm #

    I’ve never heard of blowing hay into the barn. What do they use to do that?

    • Teresa August 11, 2016 at 7:51 pm #

      They chop it into smaller pieces and then have a special blower. It’s very efficient, but not many people do it that way anymore.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

