The Buffer Strip

31 Jul

The buffer strip is growing and the alfalfa and clover are blooming.

Buffer Strip_3161ews

It needs made into hay again.  My nephew was going to mow the other day, but it was drizzly misting out, and there’s an unsettled forecast for the week.  You need dry weather for good hay, so he hasn’t mowed it yet.

Alfalfa butterfly_3140ews

That’s okay.  Until it gets mowed, there’s lots of critters enjoying the flowers.

Clover_3148ews

clover_3156ews

I finally found a cooperative tiger swallowtail!

Swallowtail_3166ews

Swallowtail_3181ew

Swallowtail_3184ews

I’m so excited.  They are my most favorite butterfly.

If you want to join me for Friday’s Hunt this week, I’ve listed the items at the top of my sidebar.

14 Responses to “The Buffer Strip”

  1. Margaret Birding For Pleasure August 1, 2016 at 12:20 am #

    yes I would be excired if If I saw a Swallowtail buttery. Good shots Teresa

    • Teresa August 2, 2016 at 9:53 am #

      Thanks. There seems to be a lot of swallowtails this year.

  2. Jeanne August 1, 2016 at 12:39 am #

    Lovely pictures of the Tiger Swallowtail! They are my most favorite butterfly too! Thanks for sharing the pictures!

  3. TexWisGirl August 1, 2016 at 6:24 am #

    they are beauties.

  4. Claire Moxon-Waltz August 1, 2016 at 6:28 am #

    Wow – fabulous shots of the swallowtail – they are just gorgeous. Do you use a special macro lens?

    • Teresa August 2, 2016 at 9:55 am #

      I never seem to have my macro lens with me. I was using my 18 – 140 zoom lens.

  5. Eileen Wise August 1, 2016 at 7:43 am #

    Gorgeous butterfly captures! Happy Monday, enjoy your new week ahead!

    • Teresa August 2, 2016 at 9:55 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. It’s always fun when they want to pose (or just keep eating while you hang out).

  6. Mama Zen August 1, 2016 at 5:50 pm #

    Beautiful shots! I love the butterflies!

  7. pattisj August 1, 2016 at 8:40 pm #

    Looks like you have lots of happy pollinators! I love it when butterflies cooperate! Nice shots of them.

    • Teresa August 2, 2016 at 10:01 am #

      They absolutely love it out there!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

