Moms and Kids

27 Jul

I had some of my moms in the yard during the horrible heat so they could eat grass and not have to walk in pasture because they were not doing well with trying to raise kids in heat.

Harley

Harley

With the break in weather, I put them back out to pasture.  I also have done some fecal checks, and everyone is looking good that way.  I think we’re past the worm crisis.

Goats in pasture_3017ews

I had the kids in my yard to continue the weaning.  It’s not going so well.  At one point I caught Red on the roof of the greenhouse happily munching oak leaves.  That was not in my plan.

Red

Red

I kept losing them back to the other side of the fence.  I fixed a spot or two, and I have no idea how the last two got back over with their moms.

Wilson, Red, and Vanilla

Wilson, Red, and Vanilla

I only have Strawberry and Cutie Pie in the yard now.  Obviously, Cutie can’t go running around in pasture.

Cutie

Cutie

She is doing well and adjusting to the splint.  Now if I could just figure out how to get the kids to stay weaned.

If you want to join me for Friday’s Hunt, I have the items for this week in the top of my side bar.

10 Responses to “Moms and Kids”

  1. Jeanne July 27, 2016 at 10:18 pm #

    Oh those kidlets! They surely are little rascals! They’re so darn cute, ya can’t get mad at though! Right?😁

    • Teresa July 31, 2016 at 7:38 am #

      It is hard to stay mad at them. They a re adorable.

  2. erika July 27, 2016 at 10:38 pm #

    Love the expressions of the 3 on the other side of the fence. Also with the way goats eat everything I am surprised Cutie hasn’t chewed of her splint.

    • Teresa July 31, 2016 at 7:39 am #

      Goats are actually pretty picky eaters. They like to nibble and taste everything, but they are pretty selective about what they really want to eat.

  3. Eileen Wise July 28, 2016 at 9:12 am #

    Hello, they are all so cute. Sorry, you are having a tough time with the kiddies. Happy Thursday, enjoy your day!

    • Teresa July 31, 2016 at 7:39 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. I think we’re getting better now.

  4. jubileestreet2015 July 28, 2016 at 10:23 am #

    yay for a break in the weather . . .
    golly, those adorable kids are clever . . .

    • Teresa July 31, 2016 at 7:39 am #

      The cooler weather has been nice.

  5. janicead July 31, 2016 at 12:21 pm #

    Hope things continue to improve for you and your furry and feathered family.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

