Flying Things

26 Jul

I’ve seen lots of butterflies this year.  Last week’s heat was brutal.  I think it was even too hot for the flying insects because they were way more cooperative than usual when I wanted to take their picture.

swallowtail_2533ews

Dragonfly_2352ews

fritillary_2295ews

butterfly_2567ews

Monarch_2872ew

swallowtail_2523ews

red spotted purple_2893ews

dameslfly_2342ews

Admiral Butterfly_2888ew

Damselfly_2367ews

It also gave me an excuse to rest under the shade trees while I was checking goats.  I’m very thankful that our temperatures and humidity have returned to more normal levels.

I do hope you’ll come back and join me for Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this week are at the top of my side bar.

10 Responses to “Flying Things”

  1. Jeanne July 26, 2016 at 11:50 pm #

    Lovely! Absolutely!!

  2. Claire Moxon-Waltz July 27, 2016 at 10:23 am #

    Wow, you took some amazing shots – it was definitely helpful to have cooperative insects! I was trying to take some today and failed. I really only do well with the moths, which are fairly quiet during the daytime.

    • Teresa July 27, 2016 at 1:27 pm #

      I love my camera, and I really think the heat had slowed them down.

  3. brokenbarn July 30, 2016 at 8:23 am #

    I love this post! I see this little guys all the time but if I even attempt to grab the camera they disappear! Beautiful pictures!

    • Teresa July 31, 2016 at 7:48 am #

      Thanks, Jen. I think it was the horrid heat when I was taking these. The butterflies were even too hot to fly away.

  4. janicead July 31, 2016 at 12:24 pm #

    Beautiful series.

  5. pattisj August 1, 2016 at 8:49 pm #

    You have quite an assortment!

    • Teresa August 2, 2016 at 10:01 am #

      I do! It was nice to see them all.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

