Community Celebration

23 Jul

This weekend is my small town’s community celebration.  There were fireworks last night, and I went into town to watch them.

Fireworks_2659ews

Fireworks_2679ews

fireworks_2770ews

I do think it’s one of the best fireworks displays around!  Today we had a parade.  My nephew drove the tractor pulling Artie, the vintage flarebox wagon.

parade_2783ews

My mom threw candy.

parade_2782ews

I walked along the route handing out fliers on my pumpkin patch this fall.  That means I didn’t get to take many pictures.   Okay, I only took a picture of the fire truck behind Artie.

Fire Truck_2784ews

I didn’t set up for the farmer’s market.  With today’s horrible heat and humidity, I decided I needed to get back home to check on the goats.  Unfortunately, as I was getting ready to come into town, I realized my ride, the Ranger, had flat tires, so I got to ride back home in Artie.

Gravel Road_2785ews

Tonight there’s live music, but I’m not sure I’m up to going out in the heat anymore.

There’s still time to join me in Friday’s Hunt if you want.

16 Responses to “Community Celebration”

  1. jubileestreet2015 July 23, 2016 at 7:35 pm #

    Thank you for taking care of yourself – AND – that fire truck picture is fabulous!

    • Teresa July 23, 2016 at 7:40 pm #

      That old truck does a lot of parades, but that’s it these days.

  2. Jeanne July 23, 2016 at 9:29 pm #

    I enjoyed your pictures. How old is the fire truck? I always enjoy parades. In our town’s parade, we have an ancient chain driven log truck! (Can you tell this is a logging area?) I hope the heat goes away!

    • Teresa July 24, 2016 at 9:37 am #

      I don’t remember how old it is. It’s from the neighboring town.

  3. Pondside July 23, 2016 at 10:19 pm #

    Small town celebrations are the most fun, and fireworks make kids out of all of us!
    Take care of yourself in this heat!

    • Teresa July 24, 2016 at 9:37 am #

      They really are! I tell you, I am ready for the heat to be gone.

  4. TexWisGirl July 24, 2016 at 7:54 am #

    glad you took a break from the heat – as best as you could.

    • Teresa July 24, 2016 at 9:38 am #

      I did enjoy the fireworks! It was fun.

  5. Claire Moxon-Waltz July 24, 2016 at 9:28 am #

    Great post – what fabulous fireworks photographs! I’ve never successfully taken pics of them before. I always miss them or just get a blurry mess.

    • Teresa July 24, 2016 at 9:34 am #

      I used the back button focus this year, and it was amazing! You should see if your new camera has it. I highly endorse it.

  6. Alica July 24, 2016 at 11:30 am #

    Great fireworks pictures! I almost feel like I’m right there…minus the noise and the summer evening bug bites! 🙂

    • Teresa July 24, 2016 at 11:53 am #

      I used my own bug repellent lotion bar, and it was great! Only the noise (and the falling fireworks debris hitting me) to complain about!

  7. janicead July 24, 2016 at 6:06 pm #

    Take care and hydrate often!

    • Teresa July 24, 2016 at 6:08 pm #

      No worries there! After the parade, I went home.

  8. pattisj July 25, 2016 at 12:55 am #

    The heat is awful, one doesn’t want to be out there any more than necessary.

  9. Jim July 25, 2016 at 1:26 pm #

    Parades are fun, you had a nice entry. I have a 1:18 scale model wagon like that, ‘claimed’ to be John Deere. It is green with yellow wheels and a logo.
    ..

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

