A Life Saver

20 Jul

When I went out this morning, Pixie had taken a turn for the worse.  I loaded her and Cinnamon up and went to Iowa State University’s Lloyd Veterinary Hospital.

Blood donor goat_2026ews

Cinnamon with her blood donor sticker.

Cinnamon gave blood, and Pixie had a transfusion.

blood donor goat_2032ews

Cinnamon is back home happily munching green stuff and resting.  Pixie is still in the hospital, but I expect a call this evening or first thing in the morning for me to bring her home.

I hate parasites.

I hope you’ll come back and join me for Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this week are at the top of my sidebar.

11 Responses to “A Life Saver”

  1. Dave From Philadelphia July 20, 2016 at 4:33 pm #

    Hope all is well for Pixie.

    • Teresa July 20, 2016 at 4:44 pm #

      They wanted to monitor her for a bit longer before sending her home, but her prognosis is good.

  2. Anonymous July 20, 2016 at 4:44 pm #

    Where in te world do you get all this ENERGY!! j

    • Teresa July 20, 2016 at 6:14 pm #

      Not a matter of energy. It’s priorities. If I hadn’t done this today, Pixie would not have made it to tomorrow.

  3. brokenteepee July 20, 2016 at 4:54 pm #

    Poor little Pixie. I’m glad she is going to be OK

    • Teresa July 20, 2016 at 6:15 pm #

      She should be. Her heart was still not quite regular, so they are monitoring. I assume she’ll be able to come home in the morning.

  4. Jeanne July 20, 2016 at 10:30 pm #

    Poor Pixie! She looked pretty sad. It amazes me that they can do transfusions like that. I’m looking forward to hearing how she’s doing tomorrow.

    • Teresa July 21, 2016 at 10:44 pm #

      So sorry I have no good news. We don’t know what went wrong. She was past the procedure and doing well and then simply died.

  5. Suzanne Gunter McClendon July 20, 2016 at 11:34 pm #

    We’re praying for Pixie. I hope that she is going to be okay. Cinnamon was a brave and good friend. 🙂

    • Teresa July 21, 2016 at 10:44 pm #

      Thank you. I wish I could say the transfusion saved her.

      • Suzanne Gunter McClendon July 22, 2016 at 1:09 am #

        I am so very sorry, Teresa. This just breaks my heart. 😦 You’re all in my prayers. I hope that all the remaining babies will be okay. {{{Hugs}}}

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

