When it Rains…

19 Jul

Well, I am declaring our horrible dry summer to be over.  We had rain again all day today.  My barnyard is actually muddy!  The only ones who like that though are the geese (notice some little gosling is getting feathers!).

gosling_2003ews

The goats hibernated all day.  They just finally got to go out to pasture to eat this afternoon.

Haley

Haley

The kids are still in the barn.

Vanilla, George,

Vanilla, George, Martha, Gomez, Chocolate, and Daisy

One bad thing about the rain we’ve had in the last couple of weeks is that the worm eggs rise to the top of the barnyard.  Add to that the kids are still not all going out to pasture, and that’s a recipe for worms.  Can you see in Pixie’s eyes that she looks tired.  Poor baby isn’t feeling well.  Everyone got wormed today.

Pixie

Pixie

Aside from worming kids, I spent my day in the soap room.  I got three batches of soap made.

Plumeria, Lightly Lavender, Moonlight Pomegranate

Plumeria, Lightly Lavender, Moonlight Pomegranate

Can’t wait to see how the design turns out on this one.

soap_2000ews

I guess I’ll have to finish weeding the pumpkins when we have our 110 – 115*F (43.3 – 46.1*C) heat indexes for the next three days.

pumpkin patch_2013ews

Hope everyone else that is flooding and baking stays safe!

If you want to join me for Friday’s Hunt, I have this week’s items listed at the top of my sidebar.

5 Responses to “When it Rains…”

  1. Suzanne Gunter McClendon July 19, 2016 at 7:47 pm #

    I’m glad you’re finally getting some needed rain. Sorry the babies weren’t feeling too perky. I hope they feel better soon.

    We’re in the baking category now. It keeps threatening rain, but it isn’t happening. You know the story, gray, ominous clouds, then zilch. The ground is cracking and they are likely re-instating the burn ban.

    Your babies are beautiful! 🙂

    • Teresa July 19, 2016 at 9:11 pm #

      So sorry to hear you are still burning. Pixie is the only one that seems not to be feeling well. I’m hopeful she’ll be feeling better soon.

      • Suzanne Gunter McClendon July 19, 2016 at 9:36 pm #

        Thank you. I don’t know how hot it got today, but when I checked early this afternoon, the heat index was 104 degrees. I’m ready for it to be winter. I’m a heat wimp. 🙂
        I’m glad the others seem to be fine. I’ll pray that Pixie will be better very soon.

  2. Jeanne July 20, 2016 at 2:50 am #

    I’m so sorry about the little ones not getting out and not feeling up to par! Thank goodness for the medicine! Those little ones are getting so big!

    I was surprised at how big they are!

    How much of the pumpkin patch is left to do?

    • Teresa July 20, 2016 at 4:45 pm #

      Pixie is the only one that seems bothered, but they are nasty worms. I have probably a quarter of an acre to do in the pumpkin patch.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

