My New Nemesis

13 Jul

How long does it take to rid an acre of pumpkins of water hemp?  I don’t know.  I’m at seven hours so far.  I’ll let you know the total when I’m done.

20160713_140429.jpg

I am optimistic that when I get through it, the pumpkins will have grown enough to not need to weed them again. (I hope. I hope. I hope.)  Honestly, if I could wave a magic wand and remove the water hemp, it would look really good!  But I can’t do that, so I will keep pulling.

20160713_140519.jpg

I actually see some little pumpkins on the plants that came up from the first two plantings.

20160713_174037.jpg

The ones from the third planting are growing well.

20160713_140425.jpg

Now I just need a bit of continued luck, and we’ll have plenty of pumpkins for the pumpkin patch this fall.

And a totally random thing:  today is my 6th anniversary on WordPress.  This is my 2,333rd post.  Although, few of those I transferred from my previous blog.

I do hope you’ll come back and join me for Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this week are at the top of my side bar.

15 Responses to “My New Nemesis”

  1. brokenbarn July 13, 2016 at 9:07 pm #

    I hate water hemp. Almost as much as I hate thistles. Almost.

    • Teresa July 13, 2016 at 9:12 pm #

      This year, I hate the water hemp even more. It seems to hate me too.

      • brokenbarn July 14, 2016 at 10:10 pm #

        It is not a nice weed! Is it breaking off or pulling ok? Do you need help? I have children that could help you.

      • Teresa July 16, 2016 at 8:02 am #

        Most are pulling now that the ground is softer. Of course, the ones I broke when I was first pulling and watering just keep breaking.

  2. pattisj July 13, 2016 at 9:20 pm #

    Happy anniversary to you and your blog! Cute baby pumpkin! Hope all continues to go well. That’s a LOT of weeding.

  3. Suzanne Gunter McClendon July 13, 2016 at 11:09 pm #

    I’ve never heard of water hemp. I’m glad that your pumpkins are coming along nicely.

    Happy WordPress-aversary!

    Have a blessed night. 🙂

    • Teresa July 16, 2016 at 7:59 am #

      Thanks, Suzanne! Water hemp is horrible here in the midwest.

  4. Margaret Birding For Pleasure July 14, 2016 at 12:15 am #

    Congratulations 6 years. that is marvelous. now that field looks like VERY hard work. This wil be my last comment until after 31st July due to my family visiting from Malawi however I have posts schefuled in for each day so enjoy.

    • Teresa July 16, 2016 at 7:59 am #

      Enjoy your visits!

  5. Alica July 14, 2016 at 7:52 am #

    I don’t think I’ve heard of water hemp either, but if it’s a weed, I despise it along with you!! Your pumpkins look happy, despite the water hemp and lack of rain! 🙂

    • Teresa July 16, 2016 at 8:01 am #

      Lucky! It’s one that has an interesting reproduction cycle that makes it resistant to most chemicals. This year is worse than others for some reason.

  6. Eileen Wise July 14, 2016 at 7:59 am #

    YAY for the little pumpkins. I have not heard of water hemp. I learned something new today. Happy Thursday, enjoy your day!

    • Teresa July 16, 2016 at 8:01 am #

      I was very happy to see the little pumpkins already!

  7. Jeanne July 15, 2016 at 7:35 pm #

    I had never heard of water hemp, so I asked my husband about it. He said he knew about it. Hmm! It surely sounds like a nasty weed! I hope you’ll be able to get rid of it!

    • Teresa July 16, 2016 at 8:03 am #

      It is horrible! I still need to get back out there and pull more. I had a delay due to the farmer’s markets.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

