Bonfire and Rain Showers

10 Jul

With the recent rains and still winds yesterday, we decided it was the best day we were probably going to have to light a bonfire. Shortly after we fed the bottle kids, my mom and I headed north to meet my son and nephew and his wife.  I think the deer was not expecting company.

Deer_1384ews

Deer_1382ews

We lit the pile of old tree stumps and branches and lumber from my garage project.  It was behind the pumpkin patch building where we have kids’ activities, so it has to be cleaned up.

Bonfire_1390ews

We weren’t sure how well it would burn because of all the dirt, but we had a good fire going!

Bonfire_1396ews

It didn’t completely burn up, but we’ll use the backhoe and push it together into a pile again, and hopefully we’ll get another nice day to burn.

Bonfire_1408ews

This morning, we had a surprise rain shower.  It was supposed to stay farther north, but my farm managed to actually get about a half an inch of rain.

Kizzy

Kizzy

The geese enjoyed it.

Geese_1405ews

Daisy seemed to find a way to entertain herself.

Helen and Hilda in front; Daisy on Llenny in the back

Helen and Hilda in front; Daisy on Llenny in the back

I’m not sure Llenny liked it though.  Good thing he’s tolerant of the kids.

If you want to participate in Friday’s Hunt next week, I have the items listed at the top of my side bar.

9 Responses to “Bonfire and Rain Showers”

  1. TexWisGirl July 10, 2016 at 6:03 pm #

    awww. sweet llenny!

    • Teresa July 10, 2016 at 6:52 pm #

      He really is a great guy!

  2. Linda Hutchison July 10, 2016 at 6:05 pm #

    Love to read your posts. I live in Louisiana and having our usual summer weather….hot!! I love to see your farm and the beauty of it all, and cooler summer lol. Thank you.

    • Teresa July 10, 2016 at 6:53 pm #

      Thanks! I’m glad it looks cooler. We are really hot this summer and humid, but it’s been a little better lately.

  3. pattisj July 10, 2016 at 9:17 pm #

    You had a nice fire going there. Llenny looks so big in that picture.

  4. Alica July 11, 2016 at 7:07 am #

    Hooray for 1/2″ of rain! Llenny sure is tolerant!

    • Teresa July 11, 2016 at 7:42 am #

      The rain was perfect! Llenny really is a very sweet guy. I’m glad he came to our farm.

  5. Jeanne July 13, 2016 at 1:22 am #

    Sorry to be slow in making my comments! I thought your bonfire was quite impressive! Almost on a par with some that our son in law has done!

    I have to feel a bit sorry for Llenny, having to put up with Daisy on his back! He must be quite patient. Good for him.

    • Teresa July 13, 2016 at 7:26 am #

      I was impressed the fire did as well as it did. There was a lot of dirt on the pile with the tree stumps.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

