Hide and Goat Seek

7 Jul

Today was a busy day.  Just when I was thinking of doing a blog post, I got involved in a couple of rounds of hide-and-goat-seek.  I won the first one!

Reva's kids: Elmer and Jacob

Reva’s kids: Elmer and Jacob

I walked out to pasture and searched for Reva’s bucks.  I found them on my way back up to the barnyard.  Granted, I spent half an hour walking up and down hills and they were twenty feet outside the barnyard, but I found them!  The next round was a bit more difficult.  Litha’s kids were in the barnyard with her, and sometime she went out to pasture.  I couldn’t find her babies.  I did wait until after the goats came back from pasture and I milked and I still had not seen the babies with her before I decided she left them in pasture.  After and hour and a half of trying to find them and trying to get Litha to call to them, I could see her thinking about it.  Then she turned and went to the barnyard.  I might have threatened her if she was just following the herd.

Buckling_1270ews

Litha’s buck, Roi

Doeling_1269ews

Litha’s doe, Princess

I found them safely in the barn hidden behind a tarp that I did not know they could get behind.  At least I found them and they were safe.  Final score, Farmer Teresa: 2; Goats:2

I do hope you’ll come back and join me for Friday’s Hunt tomorrow.  The items for tomorrow are listed at the top of my sidebar.

10 Responses to “Hide and Goat Seek”

  1. Jeanne July 7, 2016 at 11:33 pm #

    Oh such ornery goaties! 😃 But I’m glad everyone is accounted for! I love your scorekeeping!

    • Teresa July 8, 2016 at 2:34 pm #

      I’ve lost count of the score over the whole season. Nobody has been permanently lost though!

  2. Margaret July 8, 2016 at 1:11 am #

    One sure thing then those goats are keeping you on your toes and you certainly will be fit.

    • Teresa July 8, 2016 at 2:35 pm #

      They do! I need to hike, but I’d prefer to do it when I choose, like when it isn’t so hot and humid. LOL

  3. vem030956 July 8, 2016 at 7:56 am #

    Aren’t kids great!!! Love the post…

    • Teresa July 8, 2016 at 2:35 pm #

      You gotta love ’em!

  4. Eileen Wise July 8, 2016 at 8:26 am #

    Hello, I am sure you get plenty of exercise walking around the farm looking for the goats and working. I am glad the kids were found and they were safe. Happy Friday, enjoy your weekend!

    • Teresa July 8, 2016 at 2:35 pm #

      They do give me a good workout!

  5. Jim July 8, 2016 at 2:18 pm #

    I didn’t know that goats would hide. I suppose, like cats, when they found a favorite place they would stay there for a while.
    ..

    • Teresa July 8, 2016 at 2:33 pm #

      More like putting their baby somewhere to sleep while they are off eating. Cows do it. Deer will do it. It just drives me crazy.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

