Weeder Geese and the Garden

4 Jul

I’ve always wondered how well weeder geese would do.  This year it looks like I’ll get my chance to find out.

Weeder Geese_1095ews

There are several of my slim bodied geese that are coming through the fence into the yard.  Now they’ve found their way to the garden.

Weeder Geese_1101ews

In theory (and I do believe it), they will eat the weeds and leave your garden plants alone.  It makes sense as long as your garden has sprouted and started growing when they enter it.  Geese like the tender new shoots and digging through loose soil for roots.

Weeder Geese_1098ews

Of course, looking at the tomato plant, it looks like the geese (and I) have a lot of work to do.

tomato_1111ews

I did go out and do some weeding today too.  I found that my dill has completely flowered.  Oh well, it’s still pretty.

Dill_1114ews

I found my first pick of the year.

Zucchini_1106ews

It won’t be long before I can pick the Anaheim chili pepper too.

Chili_1116ews

I even have okra growing this year.  I hope the geese don’t like it, or it better hurry up and grow.  Do you see how dry and cracked the soil is?

okra_1113ews

I did water everything tonight too.  I watered the pumpkin patch and weeded out there yesterday.  We actually have chances for rain again this week.  I have my fingers crossed!

I do hope you’ll come back and join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have the items for this week listed at the top of my sidebar.

16 Responses to “Weeder Geese and the Garden”

  1. pattisj July 4, 2016 at 8:28 pm #

    If geese weed the garden, I might have to hire some!

    • Teresa July 19, 2016 at 6:39 pm #

      So far they get too distracted in the yard to be of much use in the garden. (For some reason, I just found all your comments in the spam folder. Glad I found them and know to check it more frequently now.)

  2. Margaret July 4, 2016 at 10:30 pm #

    I do hope the geese can help with your garden and that they can live up to their name

    • Teresa July 5, 2016 at 10:58 am #

      Thanks. I’m sure they’ll help, but I bet I still have to do plenty of weeding too.

  3. Eileen Wise July 5, 2016 at 7:44 am #

    Hello, it is cool to see the geese weeding. Hopefully they will not think your plants are weeds! Cute geese and photos. Happy Tuesday, enjoy your day and the week ahead!

    • Teresa July 5, 2016 at 10:59 am #

      So far, they’ve done a good job of not eating my veggies.

  4. itsallaboutpurple July 5, 2016 at 9:03 am #

    i always enjoy seeing the geese, i had now idea there was a breed for weeding!!!

    my tomatoes are just starting to come in!!!!

    • Teresa July 5, 2016 at 10:59 am #

      It’s not actually any breed of goose, it’s just what they are used for. The geese in the pictures are actually Chinese geese and African geese.

  5. Alica July 5, 2016 at 11:00 am #

    Resident weed eaters…I like that theory!

    • Teresa July 5, 2016 at 4:34 pm #

      Seems like a good plan!

  6. Claire Moxon-Waltz July 5, 2016 at 6:18 pm #

    Wow, I had no idea that “weeder” geese were a thing! Sounds intriguing – I’ll be interested to hear how they perform over time!

    • Teresa July 5, 2016 at 7:07 pm #

      You saw the video of the ducks going to weed a vineyard. Same thing only in a garden.

  7. Jeanne July 6, 2016 at 1:40 am #

    I seem to remember weeder geese from when we lived in Washington. I think they were weeding the mint fields. I’ll ask my husband, to make sure…..

    • Teresa July 6, 2016 at 1:25 pm #

      I bet they were. I saw a video of ducks and geese going to weed in a vineyard.

      • Jeanne July 9, 2016 at 2:11 pm #

        Yup! I finally got to ask him, and it was the mint the geese were weeding. That was when we lived in Washington. They still grow a lot of mint there, – mostly peppermint, some spearmint.

      • Teresa July 10, 2016 at 9:48 am #

        Bet that smelled amazing!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

