Done Kidding

2 Jul

We finished kidding for 2016 today.  When the goats came up from pasture, I went to check them and found Litha in the barn in labor.  I didn’t find Reva anywhere.  After trying to decide who needed my attention more, I called my mom to come hang out with Litha and I went to find Reva.  Luckily, I could spot her down in the pasture from the barnyard, so I knew right where to go.  When I got close, I saw her and her twin boys.

Reva van de Yell

Reva van de Yell

I had my son come out and help me get her back to the barnyard.  We put the kids in a pet taxi in the back of the Ranger, and we had Reva stand in front with us.  It was a bit crowded, but we got to the barnyard.

Doe and kids_1007ews

She and the boys are doing well.

Twin kids_0989ews

Litha wasn’t much longer before she had her twins.

Litha May Street

Litha May Street

newborn kid_1040ews

newborn kid_1044ews

They’re doing well too.

There’s still time to join in Friday’s Hunt this week.  If you want to, the items for this week’s hunt are at the top of my side bar.

19 Responses to “Done Kidding”

  1. brokenteepee July 2, 2016 at 6:35 pm #

    The babies are so cute. I’m glad I can live through yours

    • Teresa July 2, 2016 at 9:20 pm #

      I’m glad to help out. If you want, we’re supplementing quite a few with bottles. You’d be more than welcome to stop in and help with feeding.

  2. Margaret July 2, 2016 at 8:35 pm #

    The kids are so adorable. I’m glad all that hard work nights are over night for you.

    • Teresa July 2, 2016 at 9:21 pm #

      As much as I enjoy kidding season, it’s a relief to have it done.

  3. Anonymous July 2, 2016 at 9:18 pm #

    Yeah done — how many this year????

    • Teresa July 2, 2016 at 9:19 pm #

      I just updated my tail count in my sidebar. We had 42 kids total.

  4. Anney Horlacher July 3, 2016 at 12:28 am #

    Congratulations on all your beautiful babies this year! And thanks for all the advice you so generously gave to me.

  5. Eileen Wise July 3, 2016 at 5:53 am #

    Hello, they are all adorable kids. Congrats on the new babies. Happy Sunday, enjoy your day and the new week ahead!

    • Teresa July 3, 2016 at 7:35 am #

      Thank you, Eileen. Have a great week!

  6. celticmama36 July 3, 2016 at 5:55 am #

    Aww more babies! How sweet. 🙂 I know you said the one set of twins were boys. What about Litha May’s twins? I hope all those babies continue to do well. What a busy farm! Have a blessed day. 🙂

    • Teresa July 3, 2016 at 7:35 am #

      Oh, I forgot to say. Litha’s white kid is a buck, and the brown one is a girl.

      • celticmama36 July 3, 2016 at 7:37 am #

        How sweet. 🙂 Do you have names chosen for them already?
        Have a blessed day!

      • Teresa July 3, 2016 at 7:58 am #

        No names yet.

  7. Jeanne July 3, 2016 at 11:38 pm #

    The new kids are beautiful! I’ll bet you’re relieved to have the kidding all over with!

    • Teresa July 4, 2016 at 9:51 pm #

      As much as I love kidding, I love when it’s done even more. It’s certainly a relief.

  8. Dileep Abraham July 4, 2016 at 7:25 am #

    cuties 🙂

  9. pattisj July 4, 2016 at 8:20 pm #

    They are all beautiful! Glad Reva was easy to find and get back to the barnyard.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

