Friday’s Hunt v2.1

1 Jul

Welcome back to Friday’s Hunt.  I want to thank everyone who joined in last week.  I had a lot of fun visiting everyone who linked up.  I can’t believe we’ve made it through our first round of the alphabet.  I’m excited to begin our second round! It’s very simple.  Anyone can participate.  The link opens at 7pm Central time and will close Sunday at 7pm, so you have plenty of time to enter. Hopefully, you’ll be inspired to visit some of the other entries.

If you didn’t participate this week but would like to next week, the topics will be:  Starts with B, Week’s Favorite, and patriotic.  It might be fun to see how many flags for different states/countries we can get (but you don’t have to because I’m all about letting people interpret things however they want).  I will always keep a list of the items for the coming week in my sidebar at the top. I am crazy busy on the farm right now, but I will make sure to visit all participants.  Without further ado, here’s my interpretations for the week.

Starts with A:  My avian babies are doing well.  We still have two of the four younger goslings.  I’m not sure what happened to the other two.  They were always a bit slower and not as lively as the two that are left.

goslings_0699ews

The two big ones are doing well; although, they’ve reached an awkward stage.  It’s made more obvious by the lack of feathers yet.  June was so hot (until the last few days) that they hadn’t even started growing feathers yet.

goslings_0692ews

My other avian baby is the peachick from last summer.  This one has suddenly starting looking a lot more like daddy than mom.  My peachick is now a peacock, which means I need to find a new home for him.

juvenile peacock_0743ews

Week’s Favorite:  I got to spend time working in the soap room this week!  It was a lot of fun.  I restocked my supply of lip balm.  I got to use the nifty little holder that my dad made for me.

lip balm_0727ews

I also tried something new this week.  I finally made the leap and made liquid soap!

soap_0856ews

It did take a little longer than I thought it would, so I had to get up at one in the morning to turn my crock pot off, but I think it turned out quite well! It certainly bubbles.

soap_0859ews

Soon, I should have it ready to take to the farmer’s market and have it for my open farm on Saturday mornings.  It will also become the base for shampoo!

soap_0860ews

Macro:  I have a hard time with true macro, but here are some close ups of the flowers I’ve seen in my pasture.

birdsfoot trefoil_0543ews

black eyed susan_0642ews

flower_0344ews

Now it’s your turn!

30 Responses to “Friday’s Hunt v2.1”

  1. Jeanne July 1, 2016 at 7:41 pm #

    Your avian babies are adorable! I hope you have good luck in finding a new home for the little peacock. He looks pretty tiny yet. The flowers are lovely. And your liquid soap looks great. I don’t like to use bar soap anymore. I’m totally sold on liquid hand soap. Especially the kind which comes out in a foam. I’ve figured out how to do that with two new dispensers. – Have a great weekend!

    • Teresa July 2, 2016 at 2:03 pm #

      Oh. I’ll have to figure out the foam soap next. LOL

  2. stacey0829 July 1, 2016 at 8:07 pm #

    What cute goslings. So cute. I would love to know how to make my own soap. We use a lot of it. Great photos. Hope you have a great weekend.

    • Teresa July 2, 2016 at 2:03 pm #

      I have to say, I’ve made and sold a whole lot of soap in the last few years.

  3. tomthebackroadstraveller July 1, 2016 at 8:08 pm #

    lots to keep you busy

    • Teresa July 2, 2016 at 2:03 pm #

      I never have a problem with being bored. LOL

  4. TexWisGirl July 1, 2016 at 8:48 pm #

    love the fuzzy featherless goslings. 🙂 good luck finding a good home for the young peacock.

    • Teresa July 2, 2016 at 2:03 pm #

      Thanks. It shouldn’t be too hard.

  5. Ralph Villers July 1, 2016 at 8:54 pm #

    The avian children are adorable and the seem to be driving. The soap is cool, I wonder what a craft shampoo would be like in an era of mass-produced products that work but cost cutting makes for a so-so product – anything made carefully in small batches and with passion will work better – good luck with your product line extensions!

    • Teresa July 2, 2016 at 2:04 pm #

      Thanks! I haven’t tried the shampoo yet, but I’m betting it’s good as much as I like my homemade soaps.

  6. Su-sieee! Mac July 1, 2016 at 8:55 pm #

    Your babies are so darling. I’m one of those people who think they want the animals — chimps, geese, dogs, rhinos, etc. — when I see them as babies. But, I know that Molly the Cat and the Husband are quite enough for me to handle. I’m happy to be back participating with your meme, Teresa. It’s a sign I’m ready to post regularly again. 🙂

    • Teresa July 2, 2016 at 2:05 pm #

      Glad to have you back to blogging! I’ve been on a kind of break this summer. Of course, it’s because the farm has me too busy to visit many people right now.

  7. Jim July 1, 2016 at 11:14 pm #

    I really don’t understand “avian babies”, are all baby fowls called that? It is interesting about your lip balm. Is it made from Goat Milk? I should have had my Iowa sister bring me a sample. I am addicted to lip balm, I don’t know what I would do if I were in prison camp without it.
    Lois came from Center Point to see her daughter and granddaughter and great granddaughter. We spent two afternoons with her. She hurried back in time to be there for the birth of a great grandson.
    ..

    • Teresa July 2, 2016 at 2:06 pm #

      Yep. Avian would refer to any bird. The lip balm does not have milk in it. I just switched recipes, and this one is a knock off of Burt’s Bees lip balm. Good stuff! Glad your sister made it home in time for the new little one’s arrival! I do ship anywhere in the United States. 😉

  8. Margaret July 2, 2016 at 1:37 am #

    The goslings are adorable I’m sure that will get the feathers soon. No I don’t understand why are you need to get rid of the young Peacock. I have a friend who has to live peacocks who lives quite happily together and have done so for a number of years

    • Teresa July 2, 2016 at 2:08 pm #

      Most times, the males will not get along because they fight over the girls. To make it worse, mine are in a pen. Granted it is a large pen, but that would still make it hard for them to separate themselves. My two boys get along for some reason, but I’m not sure how a third would fit in. Also, I only have two girls. That is not a good ratio of male to female.

  9. Gattina July 2, 2016 at 1:51 am #

    What a surprise, an as a girl born baby turns out into a beautiful peacock ! You were lucky a sunny June (or maybe less in your case) we were dancing (or rather not) in the rain the whole month long !

    • Teresa July 2, 2016 at 2:10 pm #

      Well, you can’t really tell the sex for sure until they are a year old. I was just really hoping for a girl. I has about 1/2 inch (1.25 cm) of rain all of June. That’s really bad for farming. I do hope you get a break in the excessive rain.

  10. Tony McGurk July 2, 2016 at 3:37 am #

    Love the baby Geese & the Peacock is beautiful. The homemade soap is a great idea, at least you know what’s in it compared to using commercially produced soap with who knows what chemicals are in it. The 2nd yellow flower is a really great shot.
    I finally got around to taking part in your Friday Hunt, even if a bit late, it’s Saturday evening here at the moment.
    I’m using WordPress.com now & my post is here https://oldcodgerphotography.com/2016/07/02/1927-stutz-aa8-limousine/

    • Tony McGurk July 2, 2016 at 3:40 am #

      Oh I left my link in the comment & now just noticed the Button for the link up. Silly me…
      And my post has sent a trackback too

      • Teresa July 2, 2016 at 2:11 pm #

        Just more great ways for people to find you. 😉

    • Teresa July 2, 2016 at 2:11 pm #

      Glad to have you join Friday’s Hunt! It’s been a lot of fun. I’ve made and sold a lot of soap in the last few years. I’ve really expanded my product line this year.

  11. brokenteepee July 2, 2016 at 6:38 pm #

    All of the baby birds are adorable. I take it two peacocks will not live together in peace?

    • Teresa July 2, 2016 at 9:21 pm #

      Typically, the dominant male will chase the younger ones off. That’s how I got Blue Gryphon. I don’t know why he doesn’t seem to grow a tail and my mail tolerates him. Not sure he would accept a third.

  12. Alica July 3, 2016 at 3:24 pm #

    I must say, I’m a bit jealous of all the things you’re able to make for your farm market! Good for you, though! 🙂 Your young peacock is quite handsome!

    • Teresa July 4, 2016 at 9:50 pm #

      It’s taken me a long time to get to this point. I love creating all these things.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday’s Hunt v2.1  | Books, Dreams, Life - July 1, 2016

    […] in with Eden Hill for Friday’s […]

  2. 1927 Stutz AA8 Limousine | Old Codger Photography - July 2, 2016

    […] This post is linked to Eden Hills’ Friday’s Hunt […]

  3. And So We Begin Again… | Midnight Calico Farm - July 2, 2016

    […] week marks the 2nd round of the alphabet for Friday’s Hunt hosted by Teresa at Eden Hills. I am going to work very hard at making sure I get the whole alphabet done this time. No slacking, […]

  4. 1927 Stutz AA8 Limousine | Transportography - July 11, 2016

    […] This post is linked to Eden Hills’ Friday’s Hunt […]

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

