When It Doesn’t Rain

28 Jun

Can you guess what I did today?

Nozzle_0327ews

I took my garden hoses and hooked them to my barnyard hose and went from the hydrant (below the magnolia tree where the arrow is pointing) across both sides of the barnyard, the tall grass, and the buffer strip to the edge of the pumpkin patch.

Barnyard_0328ews

Then I filled nine buckets with lids with my well water so I could water the entire acre of pumpkins.

buckets_0330ews

I went to the far side of the patch and started watering.  One bucket for each row.  Then I had to refill and finish from this side.

pumpkin patch_0335ews

The plants that came up from the first and second plantings are getting big.  Quite a few have already come up from when I hand planted last week.  I’m optimistic that a few more will come up.

pumpkin_0337ews

It looks like we’ll have pumpkins!  That is as long as I keep hauling water to them.  Better yet, our dry spell could end.

I hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this week are at the top of my sidebar.  We’re starting with a new round of the alphabet, so it’s a perfect time to join in!

12 Responses to “When It Doesn’t Rain”

  1. Marie June 28, 2016 at 6:22 pm #

    Curious to know how the little goslings are doing. They are so cute.

    • Teresa June 28, 2016 at 7:25 pm #

      We still have four that are doing well. I’ll have to get some pictures posted this week.

  2. CountryMum June 28, 2016 at 6:27 pm #

    Let’s hope it rains real soon in your area. Hauling water is no fun at all.

    • Teresa June 28, 2016 at 7:26 pm #

      It isn’t fun. At least I am equipped to carry water to the pumpkin plants. Other crops aren’t so lucky. My pasture looks horrible in places.

  3. Dave From Philadelphia June 28, 2016 at 8:08 pm #

    I checked your weather forecast and looked at some models. Cross your fingers – you may get rain Wednesday night and/or Thursday. Thunderstorms which are notoriously fickle … but here is hoping.

    • Teresa June 28, 2016 at 9:14 pm #

      It is definitely a hit and miss thunderstorm day. Not much in the seven day. I keep a close eye on the forecast. 😉

  4. Jeanne June 29, 2016 at 12:39 am #

    More power to ya! You are amazing! I’ll be paying for rain for your pumpkins and pastures – well, for your whole farm! Hang in there!

    • Teresa June 29, 2016 at 7:37 am #

      Thanks. It really is a concern that the corn will be effected by the dry weather.

  5. Margaret June 29, 2016 at 12:51 am #

    Although these are desperate measures you are having to take, at least you do have water fairly near at hand and the pumpkins are doing quite well now. I hope hope the rain comes soon furor your farm.

    • Teresa June 29, 2016 at 7:37 am #

      I am very glad I have a well (don’t have to pay for the water) that lets me water the plants. The pumpkins should be okay with my help. It’s other crops that really concern me.

  6. Eileen Wise June 29, 2016 at 8:33 am #

    Sorry, I hope you have some much needed rain soon. Happy Wednesday, enjoy your day!

    • Teresa June 29, 2016 at 7:15 pm #

      Thanks, Eileen. At least I have a well and several hoses. They just can’t do all of the crops too.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

