What to do with the Boys

27 Jun

I don’t know what to do with my boys. For two years, I’ve been going to sell Boeris, and it just hasn’t worked.  There wasn’t room on the trailer, he was sick, and just when he finally started looking good again, he ended up with mites or something and lost all his fur.  He’s finally starting to look good again, but he can’t be sold for quite a while yet because of the medication I had to give him to get rid of the mites.  I keep thinking I should just castrate him and forget about selling him.  He is good company for Fionn.

Fionn (back) and Boeris

Fionn (back) and Boeris

However, I still have Sam and Xerxes in my yard.  I really admit, I’d like to go back to the days when I could walk on my deck or patio or sidewalk or yard without having to have barnyard shoes on.  With the horribly dry conditions, the browse in the yard is getting kind of poor quality.  They would really appreciate the nice front pasture where Fionn and Boeris are.

Xerxes and Sam

Xerxes and Sam

I can’t touch them though.  When I had them in the small area of the Love Shack, they would swarm me and let me pet them while they ate, but I’m not giving them grain.  They don’t need it, and they wouldn’t let me pet them anyhow once they moved into the yard, so I quit giving it to them.  You can see the look in his eye.

buck_0176ews

“If you come one step closer, I’ll run like my cousin the gazelle.”

Also, if I do catch them and put them with the big boys, I’m just a little worried.  I mean, Boeris and Fionn are both sweet guys, but they are still guys.  If they wanted to fight with the little boys, they could do a lot of damage, and I can’t catch the little boys to rescue them.  The two little boys combined don’t weigh anywhere near one of the big ones.

Buck_0163ews

Especially Fionn.  He’s gotten huge.  Luckily he is nice.  Anyhow, I don’t know what to do with my boys.

16 Responses to “What to do with the Boys”

  1. brokenbarn June 27, 2016 at 10:00 pm #

    The boys are always a problem. If it isn’t too cute little ones, it’s handsome huge ones!

    • Teresa June 27, 2016 at 10:08 pm #

      Yep! At least Boeris has hair again. LOL

  2. brokenteepee June 27, 2016 at 10:09 pm #

    Try apples as a bribe….less bad for them than grain and twice as enticing.

    • Teresa June 27, 2016 at 10:11 pm #

      Sam used to take treats from me all the time, but he won’t anymore. I’ve tried peanuts and oak leaves. Xerxes is even worse than his mom was.

  3. erika June 27, 2016 at 10:31 pm #

    Buy a couple huge bags of peanuts and offer a couple to the boys when approaching. TREATS is the key I hope 😉

    • Teresa June 27, 2016 at 10:33 pm #

      They won’t fall for peanuts even though they love them. Been there; tried that.

  4. Jeanne June 28, 2016 at 1:56 am #

    Oh my! You really do have problems with those boys! It’s so sad that Xerxes and Sam aren’t nice! I don’t understand that. Is it just because you don’t have the time to spend with them? Or is it just the nature of the beast?

    • Teresa June 28, 2016 at 7:50 am #

      I think it’s mostly their nature. Sam was shy but I could touch him when he had Millie, but now he feeds off Xerxes’s wildness. I would hope being with mellow Fionn and Boeris would help settle them down too.

  5. Margaret Birding For Pleasure June 28, 2016 at 3:45 am #

    Oh dear! Boy goats so seem to be givng you a problem but sorry I have no suggestions.

    • Teresa June 28, 2016 at 7:51 am #

      I just need to figure out how to catch the two little ones. I just don’t know how.

  6. Claire Moxon-Waltz June 28, 2016 at 5:32 am #

    I love that shot of Sam and Xerxes. There are so many contrasts – their colours, markings, horn size and style, ear types, etc, but they are also like two peas in a pod. I wonder if Xerxes will ever grow a beard.

    • Teresa June 28, 2016 at 7:52 am #

      I think he has just the very small start of a beard. He’ll probably get one when he comes into rut this fall. At least that’s my guess.

  7. Eileen Wise June 28, 2016 at 10:25 am #

    Hello, I love the last shot of Fionn. Good luck with your boys! Enjoy your day and have a happy week ahead!

    • Teresa June 28, 2016 at 3:59 pm #

      Thanks. I’ll get it figured out eventually. It’s not like they are really hurting anything in my yard. Have a great week!

  8. Gayle June 28, 2016 at 1:48 pm #

    Boys will be boys (there I said it 🙂 Have you discussed castration with Boeris? On the serious side you do seem to have a predicament.

    • Teresa June 28, 2016 at 4:00 pm #

      Well, as sick as Boeris was last year, he had no interest in girls. That works too. Castration is safer though. I think I might have a solution if I can get two or three people to help me. LOL

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

