Hot

22 Jun

June is supposed to be beautiful and green and wonderful.  This year, June has been hot and miserable.  We’ve had eleven days at 87*F (30.5*C) or hotter.  Five of them were above 90*F (32.2*C).  With our humidity, the heat indexes have been dangerous. Add to that we’ve had a total of two-tenths an inch of rain all month, and it’s really not a pretty or happy place to be right now.  Not to mention, it makes me cranky.

rain barn_9683ews

The rains seem to always skirt the farm.  Last night, we got a tenth of an inch while people an hour or so north of me got four or five inches.

rain_9685ews

The buffer strip that was just mowed for hay looks like it’s late August out there, and the ground is rock hard.

waterway_9658ews

Because of the horrible dry conditions since we planted pumpkins, I haven’t had very many come up.

pumpkin plants_9655ews

Yesterday, before the rains, I re-planted the acre of pumpkins.  This time, I did it by hand because the planter was not very consistent and broke some seeds.  Thankfully, my mom helped me with a couple of rows, but it was a long miserable day, and I have the blisters to prove it.

pumpkin plants_9656ews

We better get the necessary rain for them to germinate because there will be no more opportunities for re-planting.  Please, Mother Nature, send us the needed rain for our crops.

I do hope you’ll consider coming back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this week are at the top of my sidebar.

11 Responses to “Hot”

  1. celticmama36 June 22, 2016 at 7:33 pm #

    I pray that you get the rain that you need very soon. We’ve had so much extra here on the Texas Gulf coast. If I could send it to you, I certainly would!

    Have a blessed day. 🙂

    • Teresa June 22, 2016 at 7:35 pm #

      I know. It seems like everyone is either baking or drowning. So wish we could even things out a bit.

      • celticmama36 June 22, 2016 at 8:36 pm #

        I wish so, too. We’re doing both baking and drowning. I don’t know if it has been higher today or not because I never checked, but a day or so ago our heat index was 106 degrees. And the mosquitoes are unreal. :/

      • Teresa June 22, 2016 at 8:37 pm #

        Yikes.

      • celticmama36 June 22, 2016 at 11:37 pm #

        My sentiments exactly. At least we have water, though. I feel really bad for those of you that are so dry.

  2. S. J. Qualls June 22, 2016 at 9:18 pm #

    The heat and mug are miserable here as well. Our heat index has been 100 or better every day for a couple of weeks now. We haven’t had many of the usual pop-up showers and our ground is like a rock too. I’m hoping you get some decent rain for your pumpkins and other veggies and fruits.

    • Teresa June 22, 2016 at 9:19 pm #

      Thanks, Sharon. Hope you get some relief too.

  3. Margaret June 23, 2016 at 1:39 am #

    Those two little pumpkin plants look a bit miserable on their own in that big feet and I hope you get the rain soon

    • Teresa June 23, 2016 at 7:03 am #

      They really do. Thanks, Margaret.

  4. Jeanne June 23, 2016 at 11:28 pm #

    It’s really miserable when it’s that dry! I hope and pray that your pumpkins will get the moisture they need. I’m sorry you had to replant by hand – what an exhausting job! 😥

    • Teresa June 24, 2016 at 7:00 am #

      At least it’s done. I just hope they grow now. Thanks for your good wishes.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

