Community Mixer

21 Jun

When I went out to milk goats this morning, the first thing I noticed was Vixen and her kids on the wrong side of the barnyard.  Then I saw Maggie.  As I looked around, I saw several moms on the wrong side.  That means my goats were all mixed together again instead of having my moms on the front pasture.

Joani with Gomez and Tish

Joani with Gomez and Tish

It certainly makes my March babies look big.

Dolly with Rufus

Dolly with Rufus

I wondered what happened that caused them to get mixed together, but then I saw my gate had been opened.  Then I saw Sugar.

Sugar

Sugar

Seriously?  She had to have been fighting with someone and opened the gate in the process.

goat injury_9592ews

Of course, my first thought was my aging herd queen, Minnie Pearl.  She should not be fighting at all, and I’d already had to separate her and Penny last night.  You know.  Summer solstice and full moon shenanigans were quite prevalent last night.  Anyhow, Minnie had no evidence of fighting.

Minnie Pearl

Minnie Pearl

In fact, the only other goat I could find with just a dab of blood on her horn was Helen.  Really?  Sugar looks like that and my CAE arthritis medicine very night because she can hardly walk goat wins the fight?  Wow.

Helen

Helen

My only concern with everyone being mixed together was how the new kids would handle going out to the Back Forty.  They really haven’t learned to follow their moms in pasture because my front pasture is so thick I can’t hardly walk out there.  Only one mom took her kids out.  Guess who…

Wanda with Charlie and Ava

Wanda with Charlie and Ava

Wanda, my only first time mom, with the youngest and smallest kids took them out to pasture.  Luckily, she brought them both back!  Good job, Wanda!  Vinnie was more practical and left Virgil up here while she went out to eat.

Vinnie and Virgil

Vinnie and Virgil

By this evening, everyone seemed to have figured out they had the whole barnyard.  Look at those two lining up to be milked.

Cinnamon followed by Clover

Cinnamon followed by Clover

They were closely followed by Haley.  I guess, for better or worse, we’re back to one big goat group.

6 Responses to “Community Mixer”

  1. Jeanne June 22, 2016 at 12:53 am #

    Ohhh, my goodness! That must have left you feeling a little shaken! I’m glad things seem to be okay, but that Owie face looks pretty bad! Those new babies are still so tiny.

    • Teresa June 22, 2016 at 1:38 pm #

      Eh. They do this a lot. Sadly, I’m rather used to it. I had been thinking about mixing them together anyhow. I’m sure Sugar will be fine. You’d think she’d learn not to beat her head against things, but she doesn’t seem to.

  2. Margaret Birding For Pleasure June 22, 2016 at 2:36 am #

    This certainly has become the ‘saga’ of the goat herd.

    • Teresa June 22, 2016 at 1:38 pm #

      Everything with goats seems to turn into a saga. LOL

  3. Claire Moxon-Waltz June 22, 2016 at 10:30 am #

    What a contrast in kid sizes – they grow so fast! The March kid is HUGE! Silly Sugar – I hope she heals up quickly. I wonder if she has a headache today?!

    • Teresa June 22, 2016 at 10:54 am #

      I hope she does. She might quit beating on things for a day or two.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

