First Day of Summer

20 Jun

My first day of summer was spent working in the garden.

Garden_9540ews

I took my tiller/cultivator in to my dad, and he helped me get it running smoothly.

tiller_9539ews

When I uncovered the tomatoes I had planted earlier, I actually found I had little tomatoes on them!

tomatoes_9541ews

In between cultivating and pulling weeds, I’d take breaks.  On one of those, I found a cooperative butterfly!

butterfly_9492ews

Where did I find such a lovely pasture with this butterfly?

butterfly_9498ews

Remember, my yard is currently pasture for Sam and Xerxes.  At least my fence is working to keep the boys out of the garden.

cherry tree_9535ews

They also couldn’t get to the cherry tree, so I picked a gallon of cherries today.

Cherry_9537ews

Now I need to clean them and make some jams to sell for the markets.

I hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt this week.  The items for the week are at the top of my side bar.

11 Responses to “First Day of Summer”

  1. S. J. Qualls June 20, 2016 at 10:35 pm #

    Your garden looks really good. Tomatoes … I’ll bet you can hardly wait for them to get big, fat and juicy! Cherries – going to make a little cherry wine as well? Looks like the tree is loaded. Nice capture of the butterfly. Happy jamming! 🙂

    • Teresa June 20, 2016 at 10:38 pm #

      If I find time to pick more cherries, I’ll do wine. It’s been crazy busy. I am looking forward to the tomatoes and zucchini!

  2. Donkey Driver June 20, 2016 at 10:38 pm #

    What a good day! I love love the butterfly photo. It’s great!

    • Teresa June 20, 2016 at 10:38 pm #

      It really was a good day! Hope yours was wonderful too.

  3. Margaret June 21, 2016 at 1:12 am #

    That is a gorgeous butterfly stroke it Sydney is wonderful to have them in your garden. The tomatoes are coming on well but it looks as if you’re going to have a good crop. That’s a great shot of the cherries and it certainly would make lovely jam. Cherries are very expensive to buy here so you are very fortunate to have them there to eat.

    • Teresa June 21, 2016 at 7:16 am #

      These are a sour cherry, so you don’t really want to eat them plain, but they are perfect for baking or jam!

  4. Eileen Wise June 21, 2016 at 7:24 am #

    Hello, happy summer to you! The cherry and tomatoes look great, we only have the tomatoes growing here this year. I love the pretty butterfly shots. Happy Tuesday, enjoy your day and week ahead!

    • Teresa June 21, 2016 at 7:36 am #

      Thanks, Eileen! The tomatoes are the backbone of my garden, but I do have some other things in there too. Have a great day!

  5. Jeanne June 21, 2016 at 7:54 pm #

    What a treat, to find those nice little tomatoes hiding in there! Do you plan to make salsa? I wish I could try your cherry jam! I’ll bet it’s beautiful!

    • Teresa June 21, 2016 at 8:30 pm #

      I plan to do salsa, sauce, juice, and cold-packed tomatoes. I love my tomatoes! Jam is on hold. Sigh.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

