Goats, Heat, and Bottle Kids

15 Jun

I’m enjoying watching the kids begin to explore and play in the barnyard.  They are already growing.  Mose is quite the clown.  As long as they are healthy and have good shade, the kids handle the heat fairly well.

Mose

Mose

I do have some that I’m helping feed.  My moms are not liking this heat.  It’s hard to want to go out to pasture to feed yourself, much less eat for four.  That means the triplets (four of the six) are getting some bottles.  So are Vixen’s twins.  She is not doing well with the heat.

Wilson and Cutie Pie

Wilson and Cutie Pie

When the goats came up from pasture the other day, Minnie was really showing the effects of the heat.  I brought her to the side with the moms, and she drank a lot and rested and is doing better.

Minnie Pearl

Minnie Pearl

I am happy to say that Sallie is recovering nicely from the mastitis.  She is pretty much feeding Zoe.

Sallie

Sallie

Although Zoe is a feisty wild woman.  She still likes the bottle too.

Zoe

Zoe

I’m sorry to say that Buffy continued having complication after complication: the initial illness, the eye, heat, and then horrible painful swelling in her joints.  My guess is that it was CAE that was not going to improve.  Because she was in so much pain (despite medication), I made the decision to have her euthanized.

Buffy

Buffy

It’s never an easy decision, but I couldn’t see making her continue living in pain for several months just so I could sell her into the food chain.

I do hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this week are at  the top of my sidebar.

12 Responses to “Goats, Heat, and Bottle Kids”

  1. brokenbarn June 15, 2016 at 8:06 pm #

    Sorry about Buffy. That is just never easy.

    • Teresa June 19, 2016 at 8:47 pm #

      Never is. Still, I know it was the best thing for her.

  2. Jeanne June 15, 2016 at 8:36 pm #

    Oh, I’m so sorry about sweet little Buffy! She was so adorable. But I do understand…you have to do what you think is best. I hope Minnie will be able to make it through the heat. She seems so frail. Good luck with everything!

    • Teresa June 19, 2016 at 8:47 pm #

      Buffy wasn’t even fully relieved of pain by the meds. No way I could make her do that. Minnie is doing much better. I do watch my old girls closely though.

  3. Margaret June 16, 2016 at 1:10 am #

    Yes I understand hard decisions have to be made When farmers get. I am certain you have made the right decision.

  4. Eileen Wise June 16, 2016 at 6:14 am #

    Hello, I just love all the goats and kids. They are all so cute. I hope Buffy recovers, sorry she is having so many problems. Zoe is one of my favorite, adorable. Wishing you a happy day and weekend ahead!

    • Teresa June 19, 2016 at 8:48 pm #

      Zoe is adorable and a wild woman!

  5. itsallaboutpurple June 16, 2016 at 3:59 pm #

    awwww sweet buffy, best she be at peace and not living in pain. such a cutie she was but i am sure you made the right decision!!!

    • Teresa June 19, 2016 at 8:49 pm #

      She really was in horrible pain. It truly was the best decision for her.

  6. Anne June 16, 2016 at 4:46 pm #

    You are a wonderful goat mama……you know when to let go and send them on. Peace to you and you farm family.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

