Crop Report

14 Jun

Since we have a lull in the kidding, I have finally gotten to work on my garden! I still have my two young bucks in the yard, so it still hasn’t been mowed, but I did get mowed around the garden.

Sam Goodberry

Sam Goodberry

It’s late, but it’s almost all planted.  Of course, the part with the tomato cages in the back, is actually garden.  I need to reclaim the little bit I had already planted.  The tomatoes and peppers and zucchini all look good.  I just need to get rid of weeds.

Garden_8948ews

I also have cherries!

Cherries_8947ews

I picked the first of them today.

cherries_8944ews

The other day I went for a walk in the pumpkin patch.  You can see the corn to the right is growing nicely, and the hay really needs made from the buffer strip.  Guess what!

pumpkin field_8968ews

We have pumpkins!

pumpkin aw

We are so dry!  I think a good rain would really finish popping the pumpkins through.  Look what it’s doing!  Can you see the raindrops?

rain sunset_9018ews

It’s not a lot of rain, but every drop helps.

I hope you’ll consider coming back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this week are at the top of my sidebar.

14 Responses to “Crop Report”

  1. Margaret June 14, 2016 at 9:35 pm #

    Those red cherries look delicious. It is such a good photograph and I also love the last photograph and the sun has just set. I do hope you will get some more rain so the pumpkin patch can bring for more growth.

    • Teresa June 15, 2016 at 7:57 am #

      We got just a bit of rain last night. Hopefully, we’ll have more come our way. It’s crazy because large parts of the state had flash flooding with so much rain yesterday.

  2. annasgardening June 14, 2016 at 9:57 pm #

    I love your cherries. They look so healthy. I truly hope you get sufficient rainfall to help with your pumpkin patch.

    • Teresa June 15, 2016 at 7:57 am #

      Thanks! The cherries make great jams and pies. I’m happy to have so many on the tree this year.

  3. Claire Moxon-Waltz June 15, 2016 at 5:18 am #

    Those cherries look soooo yummy! The cherry trees in this area have barely finished flowering. Same with apple trees – you can still see the blossoms. I wish I could send you some of our rain – it’s been non-stop for over a week now!

    • Teresa June 15, 2016 at 7:57 am #

      They are a tart cherry for jams and pies. Can’t wait to use them!

  4. Eileen Wise June 15, 2016 at 11:44 am #

    Hello, the cherries look delicious. I love the last sky shot. I hope all your crops do well. Happy Wednesday, enjoy your day!

    • Teresa June 15, 2016 at 5:49 pm #

      Thanks. I am still hoping for more rain so we can have good crops. It’s been crazy hot and dry for this time of year.

  5. Jeanne June 15, 2016 at 1:33 pm #

    Your cherries do look good! My father-in-law had an orchard of those many years ago. He used to hire a crew to come in a shake the trees to get the ripe cherries. They were caught by the machine and then hauled away in tubs of water since they’re so fragile. I wonder if they still do that. It was a lot faster than picking by hand! Those make such lovely pies and desserts!

    • Teresa June 15, 2016 at 5:50 pm #

      They are a lot of work to pick. It’s not bad with my one tree, but I would hate to do an entire orchard!

  6. TexWisGirl June 15, 2016 at 3:16 pm #

    the cherries look awesome!

  7. Alica June 15, 2016 at 9:35 pm #

    Hooray for cherries…and pumpkins…and rain drops…hope there are more soon! Is that field on the other side of the buffer strip (looks like straw) the rye field where you planted your pumpkins?

    • Teresa June 19, 2016 at 8:48 pm #

      I really need more rain drops. We’re horrible dry here. That is the pumpkin patch! It really needs rain badly too.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

