Shearing Day

11 Jun

Last night, when I was at the farmer’s market, I got an e-mail asking about shearing the llama today.  Well, considering we are miserable hot, I was thrilled!

Llenny

Llenny

I wasn’t sure how I was going to catch him, but I decided it would all work out.   And it did!  It was super easy peasy.  He was lying in a small spot where I could haul a panel and fasten it up and instant llama holding pen!  I almost thought it was too easy.  And when the goats went out to pasture, I realized why.  Llenny got a little stressed when the goats left him all by himself.  Luckily I was out there because he tried jumping everything he could think to jump.  He hit his head on the rafters a couple of times.  He tried going under and through anything.  Finally, when he tried jumping the panel and got both front feet through holes, I was a bit worried as I was standing directly beneath him and pushing him back.  I was worried he’d break a leg if my baling twine didn’t hold, and I didn’t really want to be beneath the panel and a llama.  I tried calling my son, and he said he’d come help.  Luckily, Llenny tried getting down and I helped get one foot out.  He did settle down after that, and my son stood there while I got more panels and twine and finished red-necking the pen up. Llenny did have one more effort at going over the fence (sorry for the bad cell phone picture), but it was pretty half-hearted.

llama shearing ew

It wasn’t too long until the Aspen Rayne Ranch shearing crew arrived.

llama shearing_8795ews

They were amazing!  They quickly put a halter on Llenny and led him out to be sheared.  I must say, while Sandy was holding him, he was positively snuggling with her!  He did me a little too (I might be jealous).

llama_8794ews

We put him in the stand.  He was pretty good for that.

llama shearing_8796ews

The shearing went well. Worming was no problem.

llama shearing_8799ews

llama shearing_8800ews

llama shearing_8802ews

The feet are another story.  It was pretty difficult.  He got all kicky jumpy.  He fought hard.  He knocked the stand down.  We called my boy for reinforcements.

llama shearing_8804ewsI swear to you, my boy is a llama whisperer.  He never said a word, but he stood there by Llenny and touched his side.  The llama never fought again.  Really.  On our way to turn Llenny back out with the goats, we did pause, and I offered him a bite of sweet feed. He liked it!  I think I just found his treat food.  Maybe he’ll really snuggle with me if I give him treats.

llama_8810ews

Well, after he forgives me for today. He still hasn’t gotten past the cranky llama ears.

llama_8830ews

I hope they will come back next year because they were amazing!

I hope you’ll consider joining me for Friday’s Hunt.  You still have another day to join this week’s hunt, and I have the items at the top of my sidebar.

Sharing with Saturday’s Critters and Camera Critters.

20 Responses to “Shearing Day”

  1. Marie June 11, 2016 at 6:23 pm #

    I was exhausted reading your escapade with Llenny. He looks very stylish and in shape with his new hair cut. You take a beating caring for your furry friends. Keep the action coming.

    • Teresa June 12, 2016 at 10:14 pm #

      I don’t know why the feet were such a hard thing for him. Hopefully, I can find time to work with him before we do it again next year. We’ll definitely schedule it for when my son can be there!

  2. janicead June 11, 2016 at 7:25 pm #

    So glad you have a built in llama whisperer. Llenny is quite handsome.

    • Teresa June 12, 2016 at 10:14 pm #

      My son and llamas just kills me. They really respond to him. Thank goodness!

  3. Margaret Birding For Pleasure June 11, 2016 at 7:32 pm #

    What a job but he looks handsome after the shearing.

    • Teresa June 12, 2016 at 10:14 pm #

      Thanks. Llenny is a handsome guy.

  4. Eileen Wise June 11, 2016 at 7:49 pm #

    Hello, LLenny is so cute! He looks nice after his shearing. I am not sure about the cuddling part. Great collection of photos. Thank you so much for linking up and sharing your post. Happy Saturday, enjoy your weekend!

    • Teresa June 12, 2016 at 10:15 pm #

      He was positively snuggling her. He had his long neck all draped around her and his face against her chest. I am jealous.

  5. Dave From Philadelphia June 11, 2016 at 7:55 pm #

    So, they only shear his torso?

    • Teresa June 12, 2016 at 10:15 pm #

      I chose to have the barrel cut for him this year. It’s enough to keep him cool.

  6. Alica June 11, 2016 at 8:05 pm #

    Interesting..I’m echoing Dave’s question above. He has to feel soooo good after that! I’m glad you have a llama whisperer!

    • Teresa June 12, 2016 at 10:16 pm #

      I chose to have the barrel cut for him this year. It’s enough to keep him cool. Next year we’ll do a full cut again, and the fleece on his next and back end will be longer for turning into roving. I am very grateful my son was available to come help us.

  7. TexWisGirl June 11, 2016 at 8:30 pm #

    i was puzzled on the girdle shear, too. glad all of you survived.

    • Teresa June 12, 2016 at 10:16 pm #

      I chose to have the barrel cut for him this year. It’s enough to keep him cool. Next year we’ll do a full cut again, and the fleece on his next and back end will be longer for turning into roving.

  8. Crystal June 11, 2016 at 10:50 pm #

    I too think it sounds like a lot of work and why just a barrel shave?

    • Teresa June 12, 2016 at 10:17 pm #

      I chose to have the barrel cut for him this year. It’s enough to keep him cool. Next year we’ll do a full cut again, and the fleece on his next and back end will be longer for turning into roving.

  9. Gunilla June 12, 2016 at 2:11 am #

    Lenny is so cute. I hope he forgives you quickly. At least he’ll be cooler now.

    • Teresa June 12, 2016 at 10:17 pm #

      He did take a bit of sweet feed from me as a treat this morning. He’s still a bit hesitant though. LOL Yes, he is much cooler!

  10. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© June 12, 2016 at 2:45 pm #

    He’s not just a llama, he’s an adventure!
    ~

    • Teresa June 12, 2016 at 10:17 pm #

      He’s more of a drama than an adventure. LOL

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

