DIY Redneck Peacock Shelter

7 Jun

The same time I was sleep deprived and delivering kids like crazy, I was also dealing with a crisis in the poultry barn.  After two years of living here and sharing the same building/outside pen for a year-and-a-half Blue Gryphon’s presence was finally deemed unacceptable by my older male peacock.  So the fights and constant stalking began.  Poor Blue Gryphon was hiding under the little chick pen (that he’s sitting on top of below).

peacock_8345ews

I had no idea how to deal with this, but decided I could divide the outside pen in half if I could get shelter on the far side.  So I literally used an old pallet, some electric fence posts, part of an old tarp, staples, duct tape and bailing twine.

peacock pen_8364ews

It worked, and Blue Gryphon was very quick to take shelter under it.

peacock_8381ews

Of course, the chickens could go right through.  Luckily the jerk roosters stayed out while I was building it. I’m guessing they were afraid I’d use the staple gun on them.

rooster_8342ews

Sadly, Blue Gryphon finally wanted to go up to roost for the night (I didn’t have time to get a roost put up with all the kids being born), so he figured out how to squeeze through. I had already seen the peahens go through, but I had hoped the boys would be just enough bigger they couldn’t make it through.

peahens_8369ews

The next day, I got my old rooster over there, so it was another day of separation.

Peacock_8376ews

Sadly, he finally got through and when I went out next, they were both sitting on a saw horse like the good buddies they had been up to this point.  Hopefully, the couple of days in time out helped everyone get along again.  Now if I could just find someone that wanted to turn three roosters into chicken and noodles.

If you want to join me for Friday’s Hunt, I have this week’s items listed at the top of my sidebar.

Sharing with Wild Bird Wednesday and Ruby Tuesday.

16 Responses to “DIY Redneck Peacock Shelter”

  1. Tony Beckere June 7, 2016 at 3:46 pm #

    Clever thinking, Teresa! I’m glad that you could find a way to separate those two peacocks long enough for them to be friendly again! It’s amazing that so many diverse fowl tolerate each others company without pecking their eyes out!

    • Teresa June 7, 2016 at 8:08 pm #

      I am surprised they are getting along again. I figured I’d have to keep them apart through the whole breeding season.

  2. Gayle June 7, 2016 at 3:51 pm #

    Oh my gosh what a laugh I got at your expense (jerk roosters and chicken and noodles), sorry. I must say you were resourceful on behalf of the peacock.

    • Teresa June 7, 2016 at 8:09 pm #

      They are jerks. I have a hole in my elbow where one attacked me the other day, and while I was chasing him, a second one attacked. Jerks.

  3. angie June 7, 2016 at 9:15 pm #

    beautiful pictures love the peacocks blue and the roosters red
    come see what we shared at http://shopannies.blogspot.com

    • Teresa June 8, 2016 at 7:20 am #

      Thanks. The roosters are handsome, but I have three like that, and they are all mean. 😦

  4. Lea June 8, 2016 at 12:54 am #

    Peacocks are such amazing looking birds!

  5. Jim June 8, 2016 at 11:38 am #

    I liked this post, Teresa. Blue Grtphon is lucky to have you. I didn’t know they could be eaten.
    Don’t w.orry about me and the jail. They treat me nice, right now I’m on a buss with wifi up in Iceland.
    ..

    • Teresa June 9, 2016 at 7:29 am #

      Peacock can be eaten, but I’m looking for someone who wants the naught chicken roosters. All three attack me.

  6. Mrs M R Adamson Adamson June 8, 2016 at 12:22 pm #

    you could have done without all that going on when you wer so busy.

    • Teresa June 9, 2016 at 7:30 am #

      Well, you know. A peacock’s got to do what a peacock’s got to do.

  7. Jeanne June 9, 2016 at 1:42 am #

    Oh my! As if you needed all that commotion! I hope they continue to stay friendly. They’re all beautiful.

    • Teresa June 9, 2016 at 7:32 am #

      Me too. It was odd since they’ve been together through the breeding season last year. Of course, it’s more odd that they do usually get along.

  8. Anne (Cornucopia) June 9, 2016 at 4:35 am #

    Peacocks have got to be in the top 10 of beautiful birds.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

