Having My Babies

6 Jun

After a whole night of checking Sallie every hour because she was standing like she was in labor, her day passed without any kids also.  Saturday night was looking to be another every hour check.  Thankfully, between my midnight and one in the morning check, she had given birth.  Two girls.

Zoe (back) and Buffy (front)

Zoe (back) and Buffy (front)

Sadly, Sallie has mastitis, so I am bottle feeding her kids.  One is doing great, but the other is not doing well. I’m not sure if she drank colostrum with bacteria or what.  I’m hoping for the best and giving her antibiotics.

Then in the afternoon, when I was going back to check on Sallie and her girls, I heard a kid cry.  I was afraid Harley lost a kid in pasture, but no!  Maggie was in the Quonset hut with a brand new Strawberry kid.

Maggie and Strawberry

Maggie and Strawberry

After a while, she tried having the second, but it had a front leg bent back from the shoulder, so I had to straighten that out before Chocolate could arrive.

Strawberry and Maggie cleaning off Chocolate

Strawberry and Maggie cleaning off Chocolate

Then she finally moved the thir baby into place, bu there was only one leg and some other body part down there.  I finally figured out it was a back leg and tail.  I had to go in and find the other leg and get it straightened out before Vanilla arrived.

Maggie and Vanilla

Maggie and Vanilla

Just a short time after that, I was coming out to give Sallie’s girls a bottle andn saw Vixen had long strings of stuff hanging.  When I got closer, I could see two feet and a nose all right there.  I straightened out the front legs, and her  baby fell out.

Vixen's buck

Vixen’s buck

He was immediately followed by his sister.  You can check out a video of these two HERE.  You can also get much more up-to-the-minute kidding news there.

Saanen Doe_8462ews

Vixen’s Doe

This one is just what I asked for!  A pretty little Sam and Vixen doe with wattles who is also super sweet!  I forgot to put in the request for no entropion eye though.

Vixen's Doe

Vixen’s Doe

Today’s post is brought to  you by my goatie girls, Song-ography, and Paul Anka’s You’re Having My Baby.  I’m also sharing with The Good. The Random. The Fun.

If you want to join in Friday’s Hunt this week, I have the items listed at the top of my sidebar.

18 Responses to “Having My Babies”

  1. Tamar June 6, 2016 at 7:52 pm #

    So many new little ones! Hope they continue to do well!

  2. elizabethfstewart June 6, 2016 at 10:11 pm #

    You are quite a wonderful midwife! The babies are adorable!

    • Teresa June 7, 2016 at 8:06 pm #

      Thanks. I’ve been doing this for quite a while.

  3. Linda, Shenandoah Valley June 6, 2016 at 10:52 pm #

    Oh my! I can’t imagine delivering little goats! But they are adorable!

    • Teresa June 7, 2016 at 8:06 pm #

      Well, you do what you have to. They are very cute and sweet.

  4. Margaret June 6, 2016 at 11:30 pm #

    I love all the members of your new family. I hope they all get enough nourishment to make them very healthy kids. You are a wonderful midwife although
    I am sure that is not The right term for someone delivers kids. I was wondering how many more kids have to be delivered before you get a good nights sleep. You must be really tired but seeing on beautiful goats and kids that’s make it all worthwhile.

    • Teresa June 7, 2016 at 8:07 pm #

      I’m not really sure. I don’t have a due date for Joani, and Vixen is four days past what I had as her due date, so she might have not settled and will be due three weeks later. That means, I just keep getting up in the night. LOL

  5. Coloring Outside the Lines June 7, 2016 at 2:16 pm #

    Wow! You were one busy midwife! I’m glad all is well and they couldn’t be cuter!

    • Teresa June 7, 2016 at 8:08 pm #

      They are all adorable, aren’t they! It’s always a relief when they are safely here.

  6. Alica June 7, 2016 at 8:03 pm #

    Sweetness. Utter sweetness. Plus, a lot of work, I’m sure. How appropriate to name them Chocolate, Vanilla and Strawberry!

    • Teresa June 7, 2016 at 8:09 pm #

      It is a lot of work, as you well know. But they are so worth it! I had my BFF name those three.

  7. Pondside June 8, 2016 at 9:32 am #

    Well that was a busy time! The new kids are adorable, and as always, I am impressed by your ability to keep on finding appropriate names!

    • Teresa June 9, 2016 at 7:29 am #

      It certainly is a busy time of year on the farm! I get a lot of help with name suggestions. Feel free to suggest.

  8. Jim June 8, 2016 at 11:43 am #

    You have cute kids, Teresa. They are lucky to have you, especially Maggie and Chocolate.
    ..

    • Teresa June 9, 2016 at 7:30 am #

      Thanks. They are wonderful!

  9. Jeanne June 9, 2016 at 1:33 am #

    Were you busy, or were you BUSY!? They’re all really beautiful! I can hardly wait to see more pictures of them!

    • Teresa June 9, 2016 at 7:32 am #

      Some days are like that when you’re kidding!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

