Planting Pumpkins

2 Jun

Yesterday we planted pumpkins.  That sounds like the whole story, but it’s never that easy.

planting_8040ews

I got back from my walk in the pasture and found a message from my nephew asking if it was dry enough to plant.  (This part of the story is my excuse for sharing this fence and meadowlark shot.)

meadowlark_7960ews

Well, you can’t tell we had an inch of rain the day before, so it was quite dry.

Farm_7934ews

The nephew came out after getting the planter from the same guy we borrowed from last year.  He had to do some work on it, but he eventually arrived.  Every time we tried testing it, the seeds were breaking.

seeds_8038ews

We kept trying, and it did seem to get better, but we weren’t sure. We planted and then tried to find them in the ground.  We couldn’t .  We kept planting and playing and trying.  When we put the leftover seeds in the packets, we decided it really hadn’t planted anything.

planting_8065ews

Last night, he asked his dad, and they looked at it together this morning.  They eventually took it apart and found an acorn down in the workings.  That would explain a lot.

planting_8071ews

We planted again this morning, and we think it actually planted!  We think.

planting_8062ews

If not, we do have a plan B.  Sort of. The pumpkins that didn’t get sold last year are giving us a huge patch again.  We thought the spray we used on the field before planting corn would have prevented them from growing.  But it didn’t.

pumpkin junk_8141ews

Now we get to wait and hope the ones we planted do grow and try to figure out how to get rid of the ones up north.  And, yes, I did pick up the junk while I was there.  Except the six foot metal bar.  I had to call for help to get that picked up.

I do hope you’ll consider coming back to join me for Friday’s Hunt tomorrow.  I have this week’s items listed at the top of my sidebar.

I’m sharing with Good Fences, Skywatch Friday and later in the week, the Barn Collective.

26 Responses to “Planting Pumpkins”

  1. Margaret Birding For Pleasure June 2, 2016 at 3:45 pm #

    Well I suppose we will just haveto wait patiently to see how this sage turned out!

    • Teresa June 2, 2016 at 8:04 pm #

      I am anxiously waiting!

  2. Mama Zen June 2, 2016 at 4:00 pm #

    I just love these pictures!

    • Teresa June 2, 2016 at 8:05 pm #

      Thanks! It was beautiful weather, and I love farm life.

  3. TexWisGirl June 2, 2016 at 4:44 pm #

    one little acorn… hope it did plant effectively!

    • Teresa June 2, 2016 at 8:05 pm #

      Yep. Hopefully, it did. We are looking at something different for next year. We keep learning.

  4. Peter B June 2, 2016 at 5:14 pm #

    I like the shots of that tractor under the beautiful sky!

    • Teresa June 2, 2016 at 8:05 pm #

      Me too! It makes me happy to see the pumpkins being planted.

  5. Linda, Shenandoah Valley June 2, 2016 at 7:46 pm #

    Looks like you had a beautiful day for planting pumpkins.

    • Teresa June 2, 2016 at 8:05 pm #

      It really was two beautiful days!

  6. Rajesh June 2, 2016 at 8:36 pm #

    Great shots. Farming is an wonderful experience.

    • Teresa June 2, 2016 at 8:45 pm #

      Thanks, Rajesh. I do love it!

  7. Ida P. Krause June 2, 2016 at 8:44 pm #

    I like your fence/bird shot. – Do hope those pumpkin seeds sprout up for you. Sounds like a pretty busy time on the farm.

    • Teresa June 2, 2016 at 8:45 pm #

      It’s crazy busy here. I hope this second planting worked. Guess will find out in about ten days.

  8. DrillerAA June 2, 2016 at 9:02 pm #

    Nice set of rural images. The story tells us that the work is never done on the farm and it’s a great place to grow up, live and learn. Thanks for sharing.

    • Teresa June 2, 2016 at 9:16 pm #

      That’s for sure. The work never ends, but I do love it. We keep learning as we do the pumpkins each year.

  9. Eileen Wise June 3, 2016 at 6:23 am #

    Love the clouds and sky, great captures. Good luck with the pumpkins! Happy Friday, enjoy your weekend!

    • Teresa June 3, 2016 at 9:47 pm #

      Thanks, Eileen. We could use a bit of luck this time around, I think. LOL

  10. Alica June 3, 2016 at 7:01 am #

    Darn acorns! Thankfully pumpkins grow fast, so you should know soon! I hope they do well for you!

    • Teresa June 3, 2016 at 9:47 pm #

      We’re supposed to get some rain tonight (I hope), so they should germinate soon.

  11. Jeanne June 4, 2016 at 12:29 am #

    Oh the frustrations of farming! I do hope your pumpkins come up!

    • Teresa June 4, 2016 at 2:10 pm #

      I’m pretty sure they were actually planted the second time. LOL I guess we’ll find out.

  12. Lea June 5, 2016 at 8:23 pm #

    Farming is always more complicated than you expect it to be! Hope you get a bumper crop!

    • Teresa June 7, 2016 at 8:04 pm #

      That’s for sure! Hopefully we’ll get a good rain and they’ll get a good start.

  13. tomthebackroadstraveller June 8, 2016 at 5:04 pm #

    Farming sure isn’t for sissies. I’ve been in the nursery business for 48 years and every day something new is thrown your way. Thanks for joining the Barn Collective, I’ll see you Friday.

    • Teresa June 9, 2016 at 7:31 am #

      It isn’t. I agree. Every time you think you have things figured out, Mother Natures yells, “Plot twist!”

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

