Baby Birds in the Barn

31 May

I was walking through the barn when I heard babies.  I love the little barn swallows!

Barn Swallow_7166ews

I started looking to see which nest they might be in.  But I didn’t see them.  I listened and tried following the sound.

barn swallow nests_7829ews

Soon I was face to face with Myson.

wether_7796ews

He really wondered what I was looking at when I was ducked beneath his chin to take pictures.  Do you see?

Myson_7800ews

The nest is just in the corner.

barn swallows_7819ews

I’ve never seen barn swallows lay their eggs down low like this.  I’m guessing it’s because we are so dry.  They can’t find mud to make their nests in the rafters.

barn swallows_7799ews

barnswallow_7798ews

barn swallows_7797ews

If my goslings have a slim chance of making it to adulthood, I’m afraid these little ones will have an even tougher time.  I never saw an adult dive-bombing Myson or me when we were near.  This afternoon when I went through to check Joani, I could still hear them behind Myson again, but no parent was around.  Poor things.

I hope you’ll join me for Friday’s Hunt this week.  I have the items listed at the top of my sidebar.

Sharing with Wild Bird Wednesday.

25 Responses to “Baby Birds in the Barn”

  1. Gayle May 31, 2016 at 5:03 pm #

    sigh . . . Hoping for a miracle.

  2. johedges13 May 31, 2016 at 9:28 pm #

    Hi Teresa, I popped over here from WBW and sure hope and pray those baby swallows’ parents soon arrive,

    • Teresa June 1, 2016 at 7:45 am #

      I haven’t seen them. It’s not good, but sometimes that’s the way nature works.

  3. Jeanne June 1, 2016 at 2:15 am #

    Oh! They’re so sweet! I hope and pray that they do survive! Please keep checking on them and let us know!

    • Teresa June 1, 2016 at 7:46 am #

      It’s not good. Poor little things. Even when I went through the barn in the middle of the night to check my pregnant goats, there was no adult with them. 😦

  4. Eileen Wise June 1, 2016 at 6:28 am #

    Hello, I hope both the goslings and the baby swallows survive. They are so darn cute! Have a happy day and week ahead!

    • Teresa June 1, 2016 at 7:47 am #

      Well, the goslings are doing well, and now there’s a third one too!

  5. itsallaboutpurple June 1, 2016 at 8:12 am #

    oooooh how sweet, what a fun find!!!

    • Teresa June 1, 2016 at 8:28 am #

      I was really surprised. Of course, it would have been much better to find them in a nest along the rafters.

  6. buckeroomama1 June 1, 2016 at 8:35 am #

    Oh, I do hope they’ll make it!

    • Teresa June 1, 2016 at 8:40 am #

      Pretty sure that isn’t going to happen. We have had rain now, so I hope they’ll do some nest repair and try again in the rafters.

  7. Alica June 1, 2016 at 8:39 am #

    I love watching barn swallows too, and have never seen them down low like that either! They look like they’re healthy, so hopefully the Mom was just out scavenging. It must be exhausting to be a bird mom!

    • Teresa June 1, 2016 at 8:41 am #

      She hasn’t come back. 😦 Sometimes nature is sad.

  8. Cloudia June 1, 2016 at 10:08 am #

    The animals know they are safe in your world

    • Brenda @ It's A Beautiful Life June 1, 2016 at 10:19 am #

      Such a poignant post — wonderful photos and I feel that tug of the heart for those little ones. And not having enough moisture to create a mud nest — we’ve been so dry until a few days ago — so I feel that too.

      We have tree swallows around here and they are my favourite to watch in the spring. Around here they always have to fight house sparrows — something they win and often they do not and move on.

      And isn’t Myson a handsome fellow!

      Wishing you joy for your journey today…
      Brenda

      • Teresa June 1, 2016 at 10:21 am #

        Thanks, Brenda. Myson was just curious about them. It is such a hard world for little birds.

    • Teresa June 1, 2016 at 10:20 am #

      I’m afraid they can’t survive without someone feeding them and keeping them warm. I didn’t realize they had been abandoned when I took the pictures.

  9. Sallie (FullTime-Life) June 1, 2016 at 3:13 pm #

    Oh poor hungry babies. Sometimes observing nature is not easy. But I am glad you shared these … It makes me think about the importance of water …. Everything else … All the other dangers … we’re secondary to needing a good source of it for the nest makers.

    • Teresa June 1, 2016 at 5:10 pm #

      On the farm, I get to see the best and worst of nature. You still have to respect and love it all.

  10. Beth June 1, 2016 at 5:30 pm #

    wow, wee you have changed up the blog since i did last visit. so awesome!! hope you are good. ( :

  11. ADAM JONES June 3, 2016 at 5:51 am #

    Those babies are so cute.

    • Teresa June 3, 2016 at 9:46 pm #

      Thanks. It’s a shame they didn’t have anyone to take care of them.

  12. Neil June 3, 2016 at 7:32 pm #

    Hope they make it.

    • Teresa June 3, 2016 at 9:47 pm #

      Sadly, they are all gone.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

