Goats and Goslings

29 May

Last night Vixen didn’t want to go back out to pasture.  She was trying to rest in the Love Shack, but the geese on nests tried biting at her when she was trying to get comfortable.  So I put a panel across keeping her safe from the geese.  Bud also decided he didn’t want to go out to pasture.  He hurt his back leg and I think the meds the vet gave him were wearing off.  I gave him another dose of pain killer/anti-inflammatory medicine, but he was flopped out (on top of a goose nest) acting like he was dying.  The other goose on her nest thought he was a bit melodramatic.

African goose, Bud, and Vixen

African goose, Bud, and Vixen

Bud was feeling better again this morning, and he went out to pasture.  I do still have Vixen shut in.  I’m not sure when she’s due, but her udder is big enough she’s rubbing it raw (the little pink triangle).  I figure she can rest and eat hay in the Love Shack until she kids.

Vixen

Vixen

When I went to go get her some hay, I opened the door and saw this.

gosling_7653ews

When I came back to show my mom, there was another gosling!

goslings_7664ews

Aren’t they cute! I love how they are snuggled together!  With so many eggs left under her, who knows how many she’ll end up with.

goslings_7665ews

Hopefully, someone will be able to actually raise one or two.

Finally, here’s random picture of my goofy Fionn.

Bucks_7627ews

He had been trying to head butt a fence post when I said his name.

I do hope you’ll consider coming back to join me for Friday’s Hunt next week.  The items are at the top of my sidebar.

Today I’m sharing with The Good. The Random. The Fun., Monday Mellow Yellows, Macro Monday.

18 Responses to “Goats and Goslings”

  1. Margaret May 29, 2016 at 11:50 pm #

    The goslings are so fluffy and cure. I do hope that some survive this time.

    • Teresa May 30, 2016 at 7:17 am #

      Me too. They are such fragile little babies. We have way too many hawks around here too.

  2. Jeanne May 30, 2016 at 12:50 am #

    The goslings are adorable! I really do hope at least one will survive. I feel sorry for Vixen. And that Fionn…what a clown!!

    • Teresa May 30, 2016 at 7:18 am #

      Me too. Poor girl’s udder is huge. I’m hoping today is the day!

  3. Tony McGurk May 30, 2016 at 1:28 am #

    Great close up of the Duck’s head. The last one of the Goat sticking his tongue out made me laugh.

    • Lea May 30, 2016 at 3:20 am #

      Great photos, especially the last one!

      • Teresa May 30, 2016 at 7:19 am #

        Thanks, Lea. I had no idea he had his tongue stuck out when I took the photo. LOL

    • Teresa May 30, 2016 at 7:18 am #

      Thanks. I thought the goslings looked adorable curled up together. Fionn really is a goofy guy.

  4. Eileen Wise May 30, 2016 at 6:25 am #

    Hello, I love all the goats and the goslings are adorable. I hope they survive. Fionn is silly and cute! Happy Memorial Day, enjoy your new week ahead!

    • Teresa May 30, 2016 at 7:19 am #

      I do hope a couple make it. It’s been a while since they’ve raised any little ones. It’s a dangerous world for little birds.

  5. Tamar May 30, 2016 at 7:14 am #

    Look at the babies!!

    • Teresa May 30, 2016 at 7:20 am #

      They are so cute at this age.

  6. Jill Foleyill Foley May 30, 2016 at 9:00 am #

    the goslings are so cute!

    • Teresa May 30, 2016 at 9:34 am #

      They are! Hopefully, they can raise these.

  7. vem030956 May 30, 2016 at 9:04 am #

    Fionn is so funny…and your description of Bud being melodramatic was funny! Your goats and your farm life are so great to read about…maybe when you have time..(cough, cough) you might write a book about it. You already have the blog entries….
    Veralynne

    • Teresa May 30, 2016 at 9:35 am #

      Bud kills me. He really was melodramatic. He was even biting at me to let me know how horrible it was. I would love to have time to write more than a short blog post; alas those days seem to be gone.

  8. Alica May 30, 2016 at 12:52 pm #

    Lol Fionn, get that tongue back in your mouth! Silly guy!

    • Teresa May 31, 2016 at 11:13 am #

      He is such a goofy guy! Love my big boy.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

