Rainy Nights

26 May

We’ve been stuck in a rainy pattern lately.  It comes at night and we are hot and humid during the day.  Then more storms.

Clouds_7511aws

Tonight and tomorrow look to be the big soakers for me.  Luckily, I’ve avoided anything severe.

llama clouds_7447aws

The only bad thing is that the rain comes overnight, so I haven’t been able to catch Sam in the building and trim his hooves.  That was my plan.

Sam Goodberry

Sam Goodberry

It has really made that grass grow!  Soon it will be time to make hay.

grass collage

It’s starting to get hard to find the kids out in pasture.

kids_7460ews

The rye is also getting big.

rye_7444e2ws

The rows beside the rye are corn.  It’s coming up nicely.  You can tell we no-till farm because all that dead vegetation in between the rows are leftovers from last year’s harvest.  Leaving the plants in the ground and not tilling it helps to hold the soil in place.

rye_7426ews

Soon we’ll cut the rye and plant our pumpkins there.  I can’t believe we’re already planning for year two of the pumpkin patch.

I do hope you’ll come back Friday evening to join me in Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this week are posted at the top of my sidebar.

I’m sharing with Skywatch Friday, Willy Nilly  Friday, and Random 5 Friday.

25 Responses to “Rainy Nights”

  1. Rajesh May 26, 2016 at 8:01 pm #

    Very nice series of shots. Here also it has started raining.

    • Teresa May 26, 2016 at 8:38 pm #

      Thanks, Rajesh.

      • Pat May 26, 2016 at 10:48 pm #

        Your corn is already pretty high! We were fortunate as some parts of the Colorado front range had hail today. All the storms missed us…for now!

      • Teresa May 27, 2016 at 9:01 am #

        I do hope you stay safe. We’ve actually had pretty good weather for planting. I just have to get the pumpkins in, and then we’re ready to switch to baling hay!

  2. Jeanne May 26, 2016 at 10:57 pm #

    Wow! You really have had a lot of rain! Everything looks so green and beautiful. The pic of the “hiding” in the pasture is really something!

    • Teresa May 27, 2016 at 9:01 am #

      I honestly have not had as much as a lot of place nearby. Luckily, we’re getting rain and not too much.

  3. Margaret May 27, 2016 at 1:19 am #

    I like the three close-up shots of the grass.

    • Teresa May 27, 2016 at 9:02 am #

      I do love seeing the different varieties!

  4. Eileen Wise May 27, 2016 at 5:18 am #

    Hello, great series. I love the kids out in the field. Cute shot. Happy Friday, enjoy your weekend!

    • Teresa May 27, 2016 at 9:02 am #

      Thanks. They do have a lot of fun bouncing around.

  5. jubileestreet2015 May 27, 2016 at 7:18 am #

    Does Sam G. enjoy hoof trimming? Sure enjoy your photos.

    • Teresa May 27, 2016 at 9:03 am #

      Goats generally don’t like it. It’s quite necessary though.

  6. Snap May 27, 2016 at 7:22 am #

    Fun to see all that goes on at Eden Hills. I’m ready for fall and pumpkins and it isn’t summer yet! Have a great week.

    • Teresa May 27, 2016 at 9:03 am #

      I’m excited for summer! Of course, I love fall the most (except maybe for spring). Have a great week!

  7. Alica May 27, 2016 at 8:18 am #

    Jealously looking at your corn!! I’m sure the rain and humidity is making everything grow fast. Still waiting for the custom planter here…just about a month later than usual. Yikes!

    • Teresa May 27, 2016 at 9:04 am #

      Wow. That’s tough. Weather can be such a challenge to getting things done. Hope you can plant soon.

      • Alica May 27, 2016 at 7:50 pm #

        Just started 30 minutes ago. Praying for NO rain until he’s done!

  8. tanya breese May 27, 2016 at 8:23 am #

    everything is growing niceley! love sam and the kids in the fields! we have been having a lot of rain too, even hail at times! thank you so much for playing and have a wonderful memorial weekend!

    • Teresa May 27, 2016 at 9:04 am #

      Iowa’s state motto used to be “A place to grow.” It certainly does describe the state well. Thanks for hosting! Hope you have a great, long weekend.

  9. Evelyn in Oregon May 27, 2016 at 12:00 pm #

    You have such a beautiful farm…and those goats are really something! The weather everywhere is strange, isn’t it? We’re a month ahead for the first time I can ever remember!

    • Teresa May 27, 2016 at 12:32 pm #

      The weather really has gotten crazy. I absolutely love my little farm. Thanks for stopping by and have a great, long weekend!

  10. Ida P. Krause May 27, 2016 at 1:59 pm #

    Well if you have to have rain I prefer it at night so the day can be spent outside. Nice shot of your goat, Sam. – Looks like things are coming along nicely there. I enjoyed seeing the different crops you have growing right now.

    • Teresa May 27, 2016 at 2:03 pm #

      Night rain is much better than spoiling the day. 🙂

  11. Jim May 27, 2016 at 4:54 pm #

    Just a half hour ago I was playing the song, “I love a rainy night” from a YouTube recording. I really like that song, it is almost an ‘earworm’ to me.
    BTW, it finally started raining here a few hours ago and may rain all night. North of here (Katy, Texas, west of Houston) it is already flooding as it rained all night last night and still more today.
    ..

  12. Marie-AZ May 28, 2016 at 12:59 pm #

    Such lovely shots of the farm…I wish you a wonderful and productive summer!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

