Birds

18 May

The palm warblers are still here!  I know they are only in Iowa during their migration, but I’m enjoying them.

warbler_6633ews

warbler_6640ews

I’m also enjoying watching the robin with her nest just inside the barnyard gate.

robin_6745ews

I’m not sure she’s quite as happy when I’m around, but she’s not too scolding.

robin nest_6754ews

robin nest_6756e

I am sorry to say that the gosling is gone.  They were taking good care of it, but it just disappeared.  I assume a hawk got it.  It’s hard to be a little bird, which is why they hatch so many.  I had a pair of Canada geese in the pasture.

canada goose_6765ews

canada goose_6780ews

The orioles are back.

oriole_6647ews

oriole_6797ews

I’m not sure what this one is.  Any guesses? [Edit:  I’m going with Eastern Phoebe after help from my blogging friends]

bird_6694ews

The barn swallows are all over now.

barn swallow_6702ews

barn swallows_6703ews

There was also a little wren.

wren_6688ews

If you want to come back and join in Friday’s Hunt, I have the items for this week at the top of my sidebar.

Sharing with Wild Bird Wednesday and Good Fences.

26 Responses to “Birds”

  1. Jeanne May 18, 2016 at 5:41 pm #

    I enjoyed your bird pictures! I’m like you – I have no clue as to what your unknown one is. I hope someone elf else will know. I’m sorry about the little gosling. I’ve always enjoyed swallows, the way they swoop around is fascinating.

    • Teresa May 18, 2016 at 5:56 pm #

      It is so hard for the little goslings to make it to adulthood. They are such fragile babies. The swallows are always fun to watch!

  2. pattisj May 18, 2016 at 7:50 pm #

    Possibly an Eastern Wood-Peewee? Or other Flycatcher, possibly. Looks like the robin’s nest is full. I watched one buzz my hubby’s head when he stepped out of the shed one day. Sorry to hear about the gosling. It is hard being a young bird, so many predators.

    • Teresa May 18, 2016 at 8:43 pm #

      That really does look like the Eastern Wood-Peewee. Thanks! I’m surprised how mellow these robins have been since I go through that gate multiple times each day.

      • pattisj May 19, 2016 at 12:52 am #

        I guess they know you aren’t going to bother them.

  3. Donkey Driver May 18, 2016 at 10:00 pm #

    Eastern Kingbird?

    • Teresa May 18, 2016 at 10:02 pm #

      That’s what I thought at first, but it has more of a yellow on it’s breast. Not sure.

      • Donkey Driver May 20, 2016 at 8:54 pm #

        Maybe it’s western kingbird then. They have more yellow.

  4. Margaret Birding For Pleasure May 19, 2016 at 1:50 am #

    That bird that needs a ID is a Flycatccher. as I cannot see what wong bars it has makes it difficult to be sure but probably is as Pattis says a Eastern Wood Peewee (2 distinct WB’s) If you see it again you should look for that. if WB’s nt distinct then it could be Eastern Phoebe. The Eastern Kingbird has a distinctive whote tip to the end of its tail. hope that helps when you hopefully see it again.

    • Teresa May 19, 2016 at 8:47 am #

      Thanks, Margaret! I do believe it is the Eastern Phoebe after looking them both up and comparing.

  5. Eileen Wise May 19, 2016 at 5:42 am #

    Hello, wonderful variety of birds. I love the Oriole, cute shots of the Robin on the nest. Like Margaret above, i was thinking your unknown was a Phoebe. Happy Thursday, enjoy your day and the weekend ahead!

    • Teresa May 19, 2016 at 8:48 am #

      Thanks, Margaret! I’ve really enjoyed watching the robin family. I’ll have to see if I can get some more photos as the little ones grow. I do believe you are correct about it being an Eastern Phoebe.

  6. Pondside May 19, 2016 at 8:01 am #

    I’m not a birder, so am no help with identification – but I enjoyed your photos. There is nothing quite like the return of the birds in springtime.

    • Teresa May 19, 2016 at 8:48 am #

      It is wonderful to walk in pasture and hear all the song birds!

  7. Gayle May 19, 2016 at 9:10 am #

    Love them one and all. My first thought was fly catcher. Only because the RG pointed one out just recently. Otherwise I’m still a novice.

    • Teresa May 19, 2016 at 10:20 am #

      The phoebe is a type of flycatcher (not that I knew that before help from blogging buddies). I just go, “Oh. Bird. Pretty.”

  8. artmusedog May 19, 2016 at 9:27 am #

    Creative shots of our feathered friends and neat fence ~

    Happy Weekend to you ~ ^_^

    • Teresa May 19, 2016 at 10:21 am #

      Thanks, Carol. You too! I do like barbed-wired fences.

  9. Sherry in Texas May 19, 2016 at 5:33 pm #

    Oh what sweet baby birds. All these shots are great. I linked at Good Fences too.
    Come over and visit!

  10. TexWisGirl May 19, 2016 at 6:29 pm #

    yay! someone id’d palm warbler!

    • Teresa May 19, 2016 at 7:03 pm #

      I had several people help me. I really do appreciate all the great bloggers who can help with those identifications.

  11. Ida P. Krause May 19, 2016 at 11:32 pm #

    What a wonderful variety of birds. The Barn Swallows have cool tails. – Sad about the Gosling.

    • Teresa May 23, 2016 at 8:06 am #

      It’s a harsh world if you’re a little bird. 😦

  12. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© May 20, 2016 at 9:51 am #

    Fine collection of feathery friends, Teresa!
    ~

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

