Bird Walking with Bob

14 May

It was cold and windy today, but after working so much this week, I decided to go for a walk with the goats and see if I could find some birds too.  Before I ever left the yard, I found a couple of birds.

goldfinches_6437ews

I’m not sure what they are enjoying, but they really seem to be enjoying something in the front yard.

goldfinch_6430ews

Is this a juvenile?  [Edit:  white crowned sparrow]

bird_6546ews

I also saw the robin whose nest is in the maple tree.

robin_6422ews

I finally  made it to pasture, and guess who showed up!  Bob Cat!

cat_6575ews

He’s so helpful, but I did see a wren (as it flew from Bob talking to me).

Wren_6557ews

Then there was the cat bird.

catbird_6561ews

catbird_6562ews

Finally, I saw this one.  Is it a wren too?  [Edit: palm warbler]

bird_6571ews

I am so bad at identifying birds.  Really.

If you want to join me for Friday’s Hunt, there’s still time, and the items are at the top of my sidebar.

I’m sharing today with Bird d’Pot, Camera Critters, and Saturday’s Critters.

28 Responses to “Bird Walking with Bob”

  1. Jeanne May 14, 2016 at 9:31 pm #

    I’m not so great at identifying birds either, but I really do enjoy watching them. And your pictures are very nice. Thanks for sharing!

    • Teresa May 14, 2016 at 9:35 pm #

      Before I started blogging, I had no idea how many different birds I had living here. I really do enjoy listening to them and seeing them when I’m walking out there.

  2. TexWisGirl May 14, 2016 at 9:56 pm #

    the goldfinches are pretty. you’ve got a white-crowned sparrow before the robin. someone will know the last one, i’m sure. looks familiar but can’t recall it, right now.

    • Teresa May 14, 2016 at 10:21 pm #

      Thank you! I always count on you to know my birds, and you never disappoint. Thanks!

  3. S. J. Qualls May 14, 2016 at 10:21 pm #

    Looks like you had a super day for that walk!

    • Teresa May 14, 2016 at 10:21 pm #

      Cold and windy, but lots of sunshine and Bob. 🙂

  4. Anne May 14, 2016 at 10:31 pm #

    Yep! The last one is a wren. They are such busy little birds and very territorial. They will knock eggs out of nests if any birds invade their area.

  5. Margaret May 15, 2016 at 12:06 am #

    You should try learning about the birds that turn up on your patch but only 1 or 2 at a time. For instance, now you know the last one is a Wren, try looking that one up and reading about it. Now I know in your country there is more than 1 Wren species so that might be tricky. Or try the Goldfinch and you will discover what a juvenile lookalike then if you see one again you will recognise it. Lovely evening light for walk and photographs.

    • Teresa May 15, 2016 at 10:21 am #

      I have learned about many birds I didn’t know existed since I started blogging. I keep learning very slowly.

  6. Chandra@GreenComotion May 15, 2016 at 12:17 am #

    Nice looks big Bob Kitty to Bird Walking 🙂
    Have a Happy Weekend!
    Peace 🙂

    • Teresa May 15, 2016 at 10:22 am #

      Bob is a lot of fun to take on walks. He makes me laugh.

  7. Little Wandering Wren May 15, 2016 at 1:19 am #

    Here I am tail-end charlie Wren, just here to admire your little birds!
    Wren x

  8. breathtaking May 15, 2016 at 2:08 am #

    Hello!:) Not all birds are easily recognizable, I still have trouble, but love to watch and photograph them just the same. The goldfinches are a lovely bird to see in your yard, and the last bird image is a pretty one. Nice capture of Bob having a stretch!:)
    Have a great Sunday!:)

    • Teresa May 15, 2016 at 10:23 am #

      I, too, am in the watch and photograph rather than identify. I am amazed at how many different birds I see on my walks.

  9. Claire Moxon-Waltz May 15, 2016 at 4:55 am #

    In my opinion, the last one is a warbler species…not a wren. I am about 99% sure it’s a female palm warbler. The yellow ‘eyebrow’ mark is quite distinctive and if you Google for images of a female palm warbler, you’ll see why I believe that’s what you have. The male is quite different though. Maybe you’ll see one around. None of the Iowa wren species have yellow and their tails are quite distinctive in appearance. Iowa has a lot of lovely warbler species – I miss them up here!

    • Teresa May 15, 2016 at 10:23 am #

      I do believe you are correct! I thought it was a bit bigger than the wrens (which you can’t really tell in a picture). You’ll have to come visit me and do some bird watching.

  10. Eileen Wise May 15, 2016 at 5:49 am #

    Hello, You saw a great variety of birds on your walk with Bob. I love the finches. The last one looks like the Palm Warbler to me, but I could be wrong. Thank you so much for linking up and sharing your post. Happy Sunday, enjoy your day and new week ahead!

    • Teresa May 15, 2016 at 10:24 am #

      Thanks, Eileen! I do believe that’s what it is after checking it out on the Cornell website.

  11. A Quiet Corner May 15, 2016 at 5:03 pm #

    The Goldfinches are so pretty while the Wrens are drab in color. However, those Wrens are chatty and vocal, aren’t they? That last one…not a Wren that I’m familiar with…:)JP

    • Teresa May 15, 2016 at 5:44 pm #

      It is a palm warbler. I had a couple of people identify it, but I hadn’t gotten my post updated yet. That wren was certainly scolding Bob.

  12. janicead May 15, 2016 at 6:20 pm #

    Like a nice looking gentleman on the beach, one does not have to know their name to enjoy their body!!!

    • Teresa May 15, 2016 at 6:25 pm #

      Oh, I love this! So very true!

  13. Anne May 15, 2016 at 10:03 pm #

    Claire is so good on the bird front! Good catch with the yellow color. Wish we had more warblers around my place so feel a little like Claire in that they are such a beautiful bird to see and hear!

    • Teresa May 15, 2016 at 10:05 pm #

      She is! I am always grateful for those who help me learn about the birds I have around here. They are pretty birds!

  14. pattisj May 15, 2016 at 10:27 pm #

    You still got to see a few birds – even with Bob’s help!

    • Teresa May 16, 2016 at 6:48 am #

      Bob loves walking in the pasture with me.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

