Sunshine and Water

12 May

We’ve had rain and sunshine which has made for some good growing conditions.  Today’s sunshine made the goats happy too.

sunny barnyard_6389ews

I could see that the corn is coming up.  The tall grass to the left is rye.  We’ll spray that and use it as weed control where we plant our pumpkins for the pumpkin patch.  We also have popcorn and Indian corn planted.

crop fields_6415ews

Up north, it’s been empty since I put the big boys back on the front pasture.

red gate_6403ews

Luckily, the grass is growing quite well because I’ll put them back up here when we have June babies.  That way my new moms won’t be out in the Back Forty.

paddock_6404ews

Of course, that mean’s I’ll be moving goats again before too long.

If you want to join me for Friday’s Hunt tomorrow, I have the items for this week listed at the top of my side bar.

Today I’m sharing with Good Fences and Skywatch Friday.

24 Responses to “Sunshine and Water”

  1. yogiabb May 12, 2016 at 9:07 pm #

    I love following you and your goats.

    • Teresa May 13, 2016 at 8:38 am #

      Thanks. I enjoy sharing my life on the farm.

  2. Jeanne May 12, 2016 at 11:25 pm #

    Sunshine and rain are a great combination. We’re to a point now, where we need more rain. Your stuff is growing well. I hope all of your crops do well.

    • Teresa May 13, 2016 at 8:39 am #

      It really is a delicate balance between the two. Hope you get some rain.

  3. Margaret May 13, 2016 at 1:24 am #

    Rlppoms le you have a lot of work ahead of you.

    • Teresa May 13, 2016 at 8:40 am #

      There’s always work on the farm. I never worry about being bored.

  4. Eileen Wise May 13, 2016 at 6:05 am #

    Hello, looks like everything is growing well. You will be busy, but then you are always busy! Happy Friday, enjoy your weekend!

    • Teresa May 13, 2016 at 8:40 am #

      It is off to a good start! Now I need to work on the garden.

  5. TexWisGirl May 13, 2016 at 7:47 am #

    growing season is back again – the months go so quickly…

    • Teresa May 13, 2016 at 8:41 am #

      It truly is a circle. Thanks for hosting each week.

  6. Pondside May 13, 2016 at 9:41 am #

    Sunshine and water – both essential. I have been watering by hand for weeks now as we’ve had no rain at all. The forecast, from time to time, is a tantalising ‘60% chance of rain’ but it never materialises.

    • Teresa May 13, 2016 at 11:37 am #

      I’m so sorry to hear that. Hope you get some relief soon.

  7. Ida P. Krause May 13, 2016 at 12:36 pm #

    Looks like you are having a nice spring. It’s always fun to see what your goats are up to. I enjoyed your fences. That last shot was especially pretty.

    • Teresa May 13, 2016 at 2:56 pm #

      It’s been okay so far. I just hope the right combination of rain and sun keeps it up. Thanks so much for stopping by.

  8. Alica May 13, 2016 at 2:43 pm #

    Hooray for sunshine and rain…and for corn coming up! It’s been so wet here our corn is going in late. Hopefully next week if the sun ever shines again! 🙂

    • Teresa May 13, 2016 at 2:55 pm #

      I do hope you get it in the ground soon. It’s such a roll of the dice with weather and farming.

  9. Carol L McKenna May 13, 2016 at 2:57 pm #

    Neat fence shots ~ rain must mean mud too ~

    Happy Weekend to you ~ ^_^

    • Teresa May 13, 2016 at 2:59 pm #

      Luckily my farm drains well with all the hills, but we do have some muddy spots.

  10. Sallie (FullTime-Life) May 13, 2016 at 5:33 pm #

    Beautiful Spring — but oh my gosh, a farmer’s work is never done! It’s amazing to me to read about all you do (and the way you do it all with joy! )

    • Teresa May 13, 2016 at 7:41 pm #

      It truly is a way of life and not just a job!

  11. Lea May 13, 2016 at 7:42 pm #

    The first photo is absolutely gorgeous!
    Have a great week-end!
    Lea

    • Teresa May 13, 2016 at 7:42 pm #

      Thanks, Lea! You too!

  12. janicead May 16, 2016 at 1:42 pm #

    Having been around farming most of my life till about 5 years ago, your photos bring back so many memories. thanks for sharing your farm with the blog world.

    • Teresa May 16, 2016 at 2:20 pm #

      It really is my pleasure. I love farming.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

