Happenings in the Soap Room

8 May

The Good.  I have still been busy working on inventory for the soap room.  Of course, people keep buying things, so I never get ahead.  That’s a good thing!  I am still making candles.

Nag Champa

Nag Champa

I have some new fragrances too.

Fresh Mango

Fresh Mango

French Vanilla

French Vanilla

My next new fragrance…

violet

violet

The Random.  Attached to the soap room, is the milk room.  I finally got this thing put in the wall.

milk room_6297ews

I put a leash and collar on there.

milk room_6295ews

Then I sneakily invite a goat in to snack on some corn, but it’s a trap!  I am working hard on getting caught up trimming hooves.  It’s much easier to do it in the soap room because I don’t have three wethers and Minnie rubbing their faces on my butt while I’m working on a goat, and Reva isn’t there trying to beat someone up while I have them tied and helpless.

milk room_6294ews

The Fun.  It’s easy to get the goats to check out the milk room because I think Clover has been telling them that she gets to go in and eat corn while I milk her.  Whenever she hears me, she’s ready to come in and be milked, whether it’s time or not.

Clover ew

Clover

I am getting more milk from her than I can keep up with.  I still have full freezers from last year since I don’t have any real bottle kids.

milk_6114ews

I’ve frozen a lot in cubes for making soap.  I really need to buy another freezer.

milk_6115ews

I tried making yogurt, but my culture was old and didn’t work, so I have new culture ordered and scheduled to arrive Wednesday.  I might be living off yogurt then.  I also have ordered more bottles to put my lotion in, and they are supposed to arrive Monday.  In the meantime, I found a new use for my extra goat milk.

kahlua_6307ews

It would be a shame to let it go to waste.

If you want to join me for Friday’s Hunt, I have the items listed at the top of my sidebar.

Sharing with The Good. The Random. The Fun., Macro Monday, Monday Mellow Yellows, and Shadow Shot Sunday.

17 Responses to “Happenings in the Soap Room”

  1. Jeanne May 8, 2016 at 11:58 pm #

    Your goats are such fun! I always chuckle at how smart they are. Of course our woofies are a couple of sites too! They always amaze me at how observant they are.

    Your candles are very pretty. The French vanilla one is such a pretty luminescent color!

    I like your idea for using the extra milk! Just be careful – you don’t want to drink too many of those!

    • Jeanne May 9, 2016 at 12:04 am #

      Oops! My Kindle made a booboo! That was supposed to read “our woofies are a couple of SMARTIES” !!!

    • Teresa May 10, 2016 at 10:20 pm #

      They are smart enough they can get into trouble! Without too much problem. No chance of too many drinks. One is all I can do before I want to just sleep. 🙂

  2. Linda, Shenandoah Valley May 9, 2016 at 12:07 am #

    I know people feed goat milk to puppies. Can you sell it for that or does it still have to be pasteurized?

    • Teresa May 10, 2016 at 10:21 pm #

      I could sell it for animal use, but I would rather freeze it and make yogurt. I do give a lot to my neighbor, but her freezer broke down.

  3. Margaret May 9, 2016 at 12:46 am #

    You certainly have been working hard over the weekend. Soap and candles are looking good.

    • Teresa May 10, 2016 at 10:21 pm #

      Thanks, Margaret. I love working in the soap room.

  4. Eileen Wise May 9, 2016 at 5:35 am #

    Hello, you are a hard worker. I am glad your candles and soaps are selling, that is a great thing. Clover is so cute! Kahlua and cream is yummy. Happy Monday, enjoy your new week!

    • Teresa May 10, 2016 at 10:21 pm #

      I love working in the soap room. It’s a lot of fun!

  5. Tamar May 9, 2016 at 7:12 am #

    I bet those smell heavenly!!

  6. Lea May 9, 2016 at 8:33 am #

    Beautiful Clover is smiling!
    Have a great week!
    Lea

    • Teresa May 10, 2016 at 10:22 pm #

      Clover was actually maaing to me to let her in!

  7. Andrea May 9, 2016 at 10:23 am #

    Looks like a great way to use some of it up! Enjoy and have a wonderful week!

    • Teresa May 10, 2016 at 10:23 pm #

      I thought so! My culture for yogurt making will be here soon! That will be even better.

  8. pattisj May 15, 2016 at 10:22 pm #

    The paragraph about tricking them to come in had me laughing. I love Clover’s smile – always ready! I think you’ve got a pretty good solution for that extra milk.

    • Teresa May 16, 2016 at 6:48 am #

      And I’m making yogurt now too!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

