Shoes

25 Apr

My nephew has been working hard to get my field ready to plant.  Since we’re adding the area from the pumpkin patch and where we removed the old trailer, it takes a little more work this spring.  He field cultivated.  Well, until the hydraulic hose broke.

Cultivator_5746ew

He filled in gaping holes where trees had been blown down and moved the huge tree, so it wasn’t in the middle of the field.  He got rid of scrubby mulberry shrubs.  He turned it into a part of the field rather than a pasture that wasn’t able to be planted.

field collage

Where he field cultivated, it turned up a lot of stuff.  He picked up a bunch.  I picked up a bunch. There was wood from the trees, concrete chunks from where we removed the old trailer house, bits of metal wire, and lots of simply trash.

spoon collage

Well, at least I found a spoon to replace the one I lost.  And a fork!

silverware_5757ews

There’s still a bunch of junk left out there.  It will keep working out of the ground for years, and we’ll keep picking it up every time we are there.  What really amazes me is the number of shoes I’ve found on this farm.

shoe_5743ews shoe collage

It almost reminds me of a certain episode of Criminal Minds where the serial killers fed the bodies of their victims to the pigs.

shoes_5758ews

Today’s post is brought to you by Song-ography, old shoes, and Kenny Chesney’s No Shoes, No Shirt, No Problem.  I’m also sharing my shoes with Tuesday’s Treasures and Mosaic Monday.

I do hope you’ll come back and join me for Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this week are at the top of my side bar.

49 Responses to “Shoes”

  1. brokenbarn April 25, 2016 at 7:02 pm #

    It does look like that episode! My grandma grew up in the house that used to be at the pumpkin patch. I am going to have to bring her out this fall to see all your work.

    • Teresa April 25, 2016 at 7:48 pm #

      That would be great! I hope she can appreciate all the cleaning we’ve done. It really was neglected in there for quite a few years.

      • brokenbarn April 25, 2016 at 10:46 pm #

        She mentioned the neglect a couple years ago. I think she will love what you have done.

  2. S. J. Qualls April 25, 2016 at 7:06 pm #

    Whoa, the shoes! I trust there were no bones in them? Did you take a metal detector out there to check for treasures?

    • Teresa April 25, 2016 at 7:48 pm #

      No bones. That’s a good thing! I think a metal detector would explode with all the metal out there.

  3. Jeanne April 25, 2016 at 11:01 pm #

    Oh my! If those shoes could talk! Just think of the stories they could tell! 😃 Some of that silverware must be pretty old! Fun to see all that.

    • Teresa April 26, 2016 at 6:47 am #

      It would certainly be an interesting story.

  4. Tamar April 25, 2016 at 11:25 pm #

    How cool to find all that!

    • Teresa April 26, 2016 at 6:47 am #

      It’s more cool to get it cleaned up. 🙂

  5. Sylvia D. April 26, 2016 at 12:10 am #

    Teresa, Very interesting what is just under the top soil. Keeps life interesting. That is a lot of shoes. Sylvia D.

    • Teresa April 26, 2016 at 6:48 am #

      Interesting is one word for it. I’m glad it’s picked up; although, I’m sure there’s much more there.

  6. Erika April 26, 2016 at 12:16 am #

    In 2015 a husband and wife were arrested in Kansas for killing his 7 year old son and feeding him to the pigs. You can google it 😦 It is a lot of spoons and shoes though.

    • Teresa April 26, 2016 at 6:48 am #

      Yikes! That’s scary.

  7. Margaret April 26, 2016 at 1:21 am #

    Clean up the shoes and you could have a shoe shop! Well, probably only for one legged people.

    • Teresa April 26, 2016 at 6:48 am #

      Not sure we have that many pirates around here since we’re landlocked.

  8. Gattina April 26, 2016 at 3:03 am #

    No gold bricks ? But you can open a shop for antiques shoes !

    • Teresa April 26, 2016 at 6:48 am #

      Now that would have been a nice find! LOL

  9. Eileen Wise April 26, 2016 at 5:19 am #

    Hello, too bad you did not find money out there instead of the old shoes. The silverware is a strange find too. Happy Tuesday, enjoy your day!

    • Teresa April 26, 2016 at 6:49 am #

      Sadly, no money. I guess I’ll have to keep my eyes open for that when I’m cleaning up.

  10. Jackie April 26, 2016 at 8:02 am #

    Those shoes spook me!

    • Teresa April 26, 2016 at 9:28 am #

      I know! It’s weird.

  11. jonespr2014 April 26, 2016 at 8:55 am #

    Wow that was a great piece of work he did. Very interesting to see the items recovered from the field. Wishing you a great growing season.

    • Teresa April 28, 2016 at 7:48 pm #

      He is awesome! It’s nice to see the farm getting cleaned up.

  12. tomthebackroadstraveller April 26, 2016 at 10:16 am #

    Quite the archeological dig you have going on there Teresa. I guess that treasures are in the eye of the beholder. Thanks for joining the party, please come on back.

    • Teresa April 28, 2016 at 7:48 pm #

      Well, the silverware might be of interest to some. 🙂 The real treasure is getting the land in usable condition.

  13. Andrea April 26, 2016 at 11:02 am #

    People must have really liked going around barefoot! I pick up tons of glass every spring and also nails, a lot of rusty nails. There’s no barefooting around here!

    • Teresa April 28, 2016 at 7:49 pm #

      I’d guess. I’m sure we’ll be finding things forever here, but it’s better.

  14. Crystal April 26, 2016 at 11:19 am #

    Hmm feeding people to pigs, sounds like the guy in BC, Robert Pickton. Creepy. but the silverware is cool and looks so much nicer cleaned up than just neglect but its a lot of work.

    • Teresa April 28, 2016 at 7:49 pm #

      That is creepy, but I’m still baffled by all the shoes.

  15. TexWisGirl April 26, 2016 at 3:54 pm #

    wow. a whole family disappeared. 🙂

    • Teresa April 28, 2016 at 7:50 pm #

      Haha. Looks like it!

  16. Judith @ Lavender Cottage April 26, 2016 at 6:50 pm #

    Happy for you that things are getting cleaned up to your satisfaction but so many shoes? Creepy. However, I know farms can be self sufficient with compost piles and those for garbage over the years and you must have found someone’s shoe pile. LOL

    • Teresa April 28, 2016 at 7:50 pm #

      Not sure shoes are usually composted. LOL

  17. Linda, Shenandoah Valley April 26, 2016 at 10:30 pm #

    Perhaps someone planted shoes and silverware? I wonder what they thought would come up!

    • Teresa April 28, 2016 at 7:51 pm #

      That’s where baby shoes come from! And salad forks?

  18. annemerton April 26, 2016 at 10:57 pm #

    Wow, that is a lot of shoes. Sometimes some very interesting things can be found in paddocks that haven’t been used for a while.

    • Teresa April 28, 2016 at 7:51 pm #

      Wish I would find something useful and cool rather than things that just need cleaned up and removed.

  19. elizabethfstewart April 26, 2016 at 11:20 pm #

    Oh my!!!! I do love the old silverware and such though!

  20. Marie-AZ April 27, 2016 at 10:00 am #

    That’s a LOT of shoes! I bet past residents just chucked their old shoes out in a pile! But, you must be like my hubby and me…we watch an awful lot of ID too! 🙂

    • Teresa April 28, 2016 at 7:54 pm #

      I have no idea why there were so many shoes. I even found them farther out in the pasture when we first bought it. Very baffling.

  21. kmcblackburn April 27, 2016 at 10:42 am #

    Hmmmm…gives a whole new meaning to “buried treasures” doesn’t it! Thanks for sharing at Song-ography.

  22. Molly April 27, 2016 at 5:51 pm #

    Wow, the shoes are interesting and also slightly spooky

    Mollyxxx

  23. pattisj April 28, 2016 at 10:42 pm #

    Haha, the shoes are a bit creepy now that you mentioned Criminal Minds! A new spoon! Even better. 😉

    • Teresa April 29, 2016 at 7:58 am #

      It certainly was interesting. I still don’t understand how there can be that many shoes there.

  24. Anne (Cornucopia) April 29, 2016 at 4:24 am #

    It is amazing what you find out in the field.

    • Teresa April 29, 2016 at 7:59 am #

      Amazing and sad. At least we’re getting it cleaned up.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

