Friday’s Hunt v1.16

15 Apr

Welcome back to Friday’s Hunt.  I want to thank everyone who joined in last week.  I had a lot of fun visiting everyone who linked up.  I’m excited for week sixteen!  It’s very simple.  Anyone can participate.  The link opens at 7pm Central time and will close Sunday at 7pm, so you have plenty of time to enter. Hopefully, you’ll be inspired to visit some of the other entries.

If you didn’t participate this week but would like to next week, the topics will be:  Starts with Q, Week’s Favorite, and at rest.  I will always keep a list of the items for the coming week in my sidebar at the top. Without further ado, here’s my interpretations for the week.

Starts with P:  Honestly, I’ve been sick off and on all week.  I didn’t find a letter P anywhere around my farm.  Today, I finally got out of bed without a headache (yea!) and frantically went in search of my items for today’s version of Friday’s Hunt.

I have popcorn that we grew and are bagging up.  I’m hosting an open farm tomorrow for people to come see my soap room and take advantage of clearance items and see what’s coming for the future!

popcorn_5193ews

I did manage to do some more candles this week. Here is a pink one–cherry blossom.  I think I’m about as ready for my open farm as I can be.

cherry blossom candles_5189ews

I also saw my pink magnolia has some flowers open.  I’m not sure how many we’ll have because of the freezes we’ve had in the last week.  Many of the petals have already turned brown because of the freeze.

magnolia_5196ews

Week’s Favorite:  This one is SOOC.  I just wish it hadn’t blown half out of the image.

magnolia_5180aws

In motion:  In Iowa, it’s not uncommon to have to use sports mode on the camera for outdoors macro shots.  It’s still windy.  Very windy.

magnolia_5176e2ws

Often, I have to hold onto my subject and try to crop myself out (thank goodness for the popularity of macro shots.

magnolia_5176ews

In case the wind blowing the flowers isn’t good enough for in motion, here’s a robin I caught in flight.

Robin_5148ews

Now it’s your turn!

I’m also sharing today’s post with Random 5 Friday, Willy Nilly Friday, Fun Friday Favorites, Today’s Flowers, and SOOC Sunday.

43 Responses to “Friday’s Hunt v1.16”

  1. Judith @ Lavender Cottage April 15, 2016 at 7:20 pm #

    Fresh grown popcorn must make a tasty treat, who knows how old the kernels we buy in a store are! I like the colour of the pink candles and the delicate pink magnolia flowers – same as mine which I hope will bloom after a late freeze.

    • Teresa April 16, 2016 at 10:10 pm #

      It is really good popcorn! I was afraid my magnolia wasn’t going to bloom after the freezes. Hope yours gives you some beautiful flowers.

  2. Linda aka Crafty Gardener April 15, 2016 at 7:48 pm #

    That is a lovely photos of the robin in flight. The pink magnolias are so pretty. Have a good weekend.

    • Teresa April 16, 2016 at 10:10 pm #

      Thanks, Linda. The magnolia is beautiful when it isn’t frozen.

  3. Cath April 15, 2016 at 8:16 pm #

    wow, I love the Magnolia bloom….so pretty! We have a lot of wind where I live too so the camera is also often in ‘action’ mode to account for plants blowing around. I missed the “motion” prompt on my post….

    • Teresa April 16, 2016 at 10:11 pm #

      They are beautiful trees! No worries about missing a prompt. It’s all for fun. Thanks for participating.

  4. Jeanne April 15, 2016 at 8:51 pm #

    Your magnolia shots are all beautiful! Especially the – no – I’ll take that back! ALL of them are beautiful! 🙂

    I’m glad you’re having your open farm day, but even if I left right this minute, I wouldn’t be able to get there in time. Phooey! 😦

    • Teresa April 16, 2016 at 10:11 pm #

      Thanks. It would be fun to have you stop by.

  5. Ralph Villers April 15, 2016 at 8:56 pm #

    I’ve been waiting all winter for Spring, and although the warmth is starting, it still will look much more seasonal when we get flowering plants in bloom! Congrats on the open farm, hope that plenty of candles and soap are sold…the bird in motion is great! Glad you are feeling better!

    • Teresa April 16, 2016 at 10:12 pm #

      I do hope you get some good weather and beautiful flowers soon. We did have fun on the farm today.

  6. pattisj April 15, 2016 at 10:38 pm #

    Wow, that’s a great shot of the robin in flight! I’ve been caught holding flowers to keep them still, too. I love popcorn. Hope you have a great day at your open farm! Glad to hear you’re feeling better.

    • Teresa April 16, 2016 at 10:13 pm #

      I got lucky with the robin. I was taking its picture on the tree branch when it took off. I am glad to be better. It’s hard to take care of the animals when you aren’t feeling well.

  7. Stewart Monckton April 16, 2016 at 2:20 am #

    Nice set of pictures – no surprises that the last one is my favourite.

    Cheers – Stewart M – Melbourne

    • Teresa April 16, 2016 at 10:13 pm #

      Nope. Doesn’t surprise me at all!

  8. Margaret April 16, 2016 at 3:18 am #

    Great takes for your word prompts. I love that dreamy magnolia and of course the Robin. Excellent flight shop. That roof could do when we have the letter R – rusty roof! Thanks for hosting. Open the open farm day goes really well.

    • Teresa April 16, 2016 at 10:14 pm #

      Thanks, Margaret. I am so used to the rusty roof I don’t even think of it. I’ll have to keep that in mind. 🙂

  9. Eileen Wise April 16, 2016 at 7:01 am #

    Hello, the blossoms are beautiful. I love the robin in flight, great capture. Good luck on your Open Farm day! Thanks for hosting, have a happy weekend!

    • Teresa April 16, 2016 at 10:14 pm #

      Thanks, Eileen. We did have fun today.

  10. Nonnie April 16, 2016 at 12:36 pm #

    What gorgeous photos you took of the magnolia blooms in spite of the wind.

    • Teresa April 16, 2016 at 10:15 pm #

      I have lots of practice with those action shots. The goats keep me in practice for them.

  11. Jim April 16, 2016 at 3:32 pm #

    Of course, ‘popcorn’ starts with the letter ‘P”. So does the ‘Pan’ you’re cooking it in.
    Our miniture magnolia tree has just started to bloom with a flower similar to your bloom. . That should last U tile fall’s cold.
    :-h

    • Teresa April 16, 2016 at 10:15 pm #

      My magnolia is only beautiful for a short time. I do love the way it looks and smells.

  12. Patty Leonard Woodland April 16, 2016 at 7:36 pm #

    We’ve been having big winds too.Nothing is really in bloom yet. Hopefully soon

    • Teresa April 16, 2016 at 10:17 pm #

      I do hope you get better weather. It’s so hard to do anything with those gale force winds.

  13. Jeanne April 16, 2016 at 8:30 pm #

    wow – home grown popcorn! Our growing season here isn’t long enough for corn. Hope the open house went well.

    • Teresa April 16, 2016 at 10:17 pm #

      Lots of corn around here. We’ll grow field corn, popcorn, and Indian corn this year. Oh yeah, sweet corn too.

  14. Mascha April 17, 2016 at 1:11 am #

    Good morning Teresa and thanks for the invitation. Hope, your open farm yesterday was successful and funny and not to much work…
    Your magnolia is beautiful, my begins soon… and my favotite photo is the flying robin.
    Have a resting sunday

    • Teresa April 17, 2016 at 8:30 am #

      Thanks, Mascha. We had a really good time with the open farm. It was quite relaxing.

  15. Joely Smith April 17, 2016 at 1:40 am #

    Thank you for the link up and wonderful inspiration! I just joined up and submitted my first article! I found out about this from Patty over at Broken Teepee.
    Oh Magnolia trees are THE BEST! We used to have them all around us as well as a catalpa tree in my front yard before we moved. I miss those trees. Now we live further into the country and have a lot of lovely wildlife, trees, and nature but no magnolias or catalpas.
    I think I will plant some 🙂

    • Teresa April 17, 2016 at 8:31 am #

      I’m so glad you decided to join the fun! The magnolia is beautiful. Hope you have a great week.

  16. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© April 17, 2016 at 9:34 am #

    Love that shot of the birdie in flight!
    ~

    • Teresa April 17, 2016 at 9:54 am #

      Thanks. It was a lucky catch.

  17. itsallaboutpurple April 17, 2016 at 2:29 pm #

    Gorgeous images of your tulip magnolia. The one tree I would love to have and don’t!!

    • Teresa April 17, 2016 at 4:38 pm #

      I was thrilled when I figured out I had one that first spring. They are beautiful.

  18. Donna@Gardens Eye View April 18, 2016 at 8:51 am #

    Beautiful pink blossoms for spring!

    • Teresa April 19, 2016 at 6:37 am #

      They are wonderful!

  19. DeniseinVA April 20, 2016 at 12:24 pm #

    Oh my, I love all these photos. Thank you so much for sharing them with Today’s Flowers 🙂

    • Teresa April 20, 2016 at 2:12 pm #

      My pleasure, Denise. Thanks for hosting!

  20. tanya breese April 22, 2016 at 7:24 am #

    oh my goodness, love those pink magnolia blossoms, your photos are beautiful! the cherry blossom candle is pretty and i bet it smells great! hope you are feeling better now and thank you so much for linking up….sorry it took so long for me to visit! have a great weekend 🙂

    • Teresa April 22, 2016 at 8:57 pm #

      I totally get the being behind thing. I’m almost always the last to comment. I was happy to see that the magnolia did have some flowers open despite our freezes.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Water, Water Every Where!! | Midnight Calico Farm - April 17, 2016

    […] Sharing with Friday’s Hunt hosted by Teresa at Eden Hills. […]

  2. Friday's Hunt Week 17 - Fashion Beyond Forty - April 17, 2017

    […] you are welcome to join in anytime! If you would like to read more of these just head over to Teresa’s post on her blog to view the entire link […]

  3. Friday’s Hunt Week 16 - My First Friday's Hunt Post - Fashion Beyond Forty - April 18, 2017

    […] you are welcome to join in anytime! If you would like to read more of these just head over to Teresa’s post on her blog to view the entire link […]

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

