The Boys

14 Apr

I love seeing the kids lounging in the sunshine, so here’s a totally gratuitous picture of the kids.

kids_5093ews

Since the wind knocked my gate down, guess who’s back on the front pasture where I had my new moms?

Fence_5097ews

I decided I would take the opportunity to move the boys back onto the front pasture.  They seem to be happy.

Bucks in Pasture_5096ews

Bucks_4924ews

I really want to add Sam and Xerxes to that pasture also.  It would give them a lot more room and green grass.

Young Bucks_4945ews

I’m just a little worried that the big boys would crunch the little boys.  Sadly, I’m thinking yard goats, but my yard is overgrazed right now.

I do hope you’ll come back and join me for Friday’s Hunt tomorrow.  The items for tomorrow’s hunt are listed at the top of my side bar.

Today, I’m sharing with Good Fences.

26 Responses to “The Boys”

  1. TexWisGirl April 14, 2016 at 6:22 pm #

    awww. hope they can maybe rotate a bit.

    • Teresa April 14, 2016 at 7:46 pm #

      I’ll probably put the two little ones in the yard. That will give them a lot more room and grass.

  2. Margaret April 14, 2016 at 6:35 pm #

    You seem to move them round quite a lot.

    • Teresa April 14, 2016 at 7:46 pm #

      It really does seem like it anymore. It’s largely because my herd has gotten larger and older and more of them have special needs.

  3. Alica April 14, 2016 at 7:03 pm #

    I was trying to count the boys…it’s hard to tell where one stops and another begins! 🙂

    • Teresa April 14, 2016 at 7:47 pm #

      Well, the kids are girls and boys. They are (clockwise from bottom left) Morgan, Butterscotch and Chipper, Sage, Snap and Sal, Andre, and Rufus. Does that help?

  4. Ida P. Krause April 14, 2016 at 8:08 pm #

    Oh those babies are so cute. I bet they are fun to watch but also a lot of work.

    • Teresa April 15, 2016 at 4:53 pm #

      They are fun. The babies can be a lot of work, but most of the time, their moms do all the hard stuff.

  5. Cath April 14, 2016 at 8:53 pm #

    You have some lovely looking kids and a majestic male there…..I think you must have a lot of fun finding them all names!

    • Teresa April 15, 2016 at 4:54 pm #

      Most times, the name just comes to me. Sometimes, I just have to sit down and find words for them. These were all pretty easy to name except Cookie’s girls. It’s getting hard to come up with new names that go with Cookie.

  6. pattisj April 14, 2016 at 10:26 pm #

    Basking in the sun feels so good, and they are soaking it up. The grass is definitely greener out there. 😉

    • Teresa April 15, 2016 at 4:55 pm #

      They really do love those nice sunny days!

  7. Anney Horlacher April 14, 2016 at 11:52 pm #

    Those babies are adorable. I really like Sam..he has the neatest face. For some reason he makes me think of one of the characters in Narnia! My babies are eating all kinds of stuff now. ( they are 5 weeks old) They eat hay, grain and even the leaves off of small trees. Is that ok?

    • Teresa April 15, 2016 at 4:55 pm #

      Me too! I always think Sam has an elf look to him. 🙂 Sounds like your babies are doing great!

  8. Eileen Wise April 15, 2016 at 6:14 am #

    Hello, I just love all the kids. The must all be like eating machines. They could come and clean up my yard. Happy Friday, enjoy your weekend!

    • Teresa April 15, 2016 at 4:56 pm #

      Sadly, they like eating flowers and shrubs and trees more than the grass. LOL Goats do not make good lawn mowers.

  9. Shane Floyd April 15, 2016 at 8:38 am #

    Adorable but rotational grazing is needed. I love goats but will never get them on our homestead due to the fact that instead of eating the grass down a bit, they actually rip it out causing a lot of loss. I am going to keep following along as I enjoy your adventures. Come on by sometime: https://floydfamilyhomestead.com/

    • Teresa April 15, 2016 at 4:58 pm #

      It sounds like you are describing sheep. That really is not goat behavior. They much prefer to browse, rather than graze. They prefer to eat the tops off the grass and do not rip it out. Actually, they prefer all the junky stuff instead of grass. My pasture has virtually no weeds or scrub bushes because that’s what the goats prefer.

  10. Coloring Outside the Lines April 15, 2016 at 11:06 am #

    Looks like you could use an extra pasture or two! 🙂 They look happy and healthy so whatever you are doing is working. Have a super Friday!

    • Teresa April 15, 2016 at 4:59 pm #

      As the herd gets older and I keep coming up with goats with special needs, I really do need more places. Once the little boys grow up, they’ll be fine with the big ones. I just don’t want them getting hurt. Thanks. Have a great weekend!

  11. Gunilla April 15, 2016 at 11:29 am #

    The babies are adorable all close together. So sweet.

    • Teresa April 15, 2016 at 5:00 pm #

      They all like to flop down and sleep together. They all pile up when it’s cold out.

  12. Sallie (FullTime-Life) April 15, 2016 at 11:46 am #

    Aren’t they the happiest bunch of guys ever! Lounging in the sunshine. (I really want to make a joke about old goats here in Florida doing the same thing, but that would be really trite and tasteless wouldn’t it ;>)!)

    • Teresa April 15, 2016 at 5:00 pm #

      They do love it! It would not be a bad comparison. 😉

  13. Jeanne April 16, 2016 at 7:32 pm #

    These are such great pictures! I just wish I could come and meet them all.

    • Teresa April 16, 2016 at 10:16 pm #

      Thanks, Jeanne. Well, if you’re ever traveling through Iowa…

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

