A Warm-Hearted Update or Two

13 Apr

I want to thank everyone for their concern, comments and laughter about Helen.  I am happy to say she is doing fine.  You’d never know she ate my spoon.

Helen

Helen

She’d do it again if she were given the chance (it did taste like peanut butter), so we have adjusted how I serve her meds.  She gets it as an hors d’oeuvre, properly served on a cracker.

peanut butter_5153ews

I also wanted to share that Bode is hanging in there.  He’s small. He’s not great.  I keep trying.  He actually wants to suck now, but he won’t take very much at a time, and it’s hard for me to find numerous times throughout the day since I’m at work all day.

Bode

Bode

I’ll keep trying though.

I do hope you’ll come back and join me for Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this week are at the top of my side bar.

Today, I’m sharing with Jenny Matlock’s Warm Heart Wednesday.

29 Responses to “A Warm-Hearted Update or Two”

  1. Patty Leonard Woodland April 13, 2016 at 6:26 pm #

    They are tough little things. I’m sure Bode will roll along ’til he can get all he needs from eating on his own then watch out! I’m glad Helen is OK

    • Teresa April 13, 2016 at 8:43 pm #

      They really are. I think he will be okay now that he actually sucks and swallows. I wasn’t so sure when we started and he would just let it drool out. As of yet, no ill effects from the spoon.

  2. Alica April 13, 2016 at 6:33 pm #

    I think I have some catching up to do…I missed what happened to Helen. But I can imagine, having had goats, that she did what they do best. Ate everything in sight!! I’m glad Bode’s doing ok. It must be so frustrating! You need an Amish neighbor kid who wants to earn a few extra dollars feeding him during the day!

    • Teresa April 13, 2016 at 8:43 pm #

      She really ate my spoon. It was a new one too. I think I just need to be able to stay home and farm full time. 🙂

  3. Cloudia April 13, 2016 at 7:59 pm #

    Glad it all came out Okay – er, or didn’t, or whatever!

    • Teresa April 13, 2016 at 8:44 pm #

      Yep. She’ll be carrying that spoon in her rumen for the rest of her life.

  4. hedgewitch April 13, 2016 at 9:21 pm #

    Good grief! I missed the spoon news. I have heard that goats are omnivorous, but that is nuts! i hope all will be well going forward, and good luck with the little one.

    • Teresa April 13, 2016 at 9:35 pm #

      The vet doesn’t think the spoon will be a problem. I hope it isn’t; although, I kind of am short a spoon now. Thanks. I think Bode will be okay. As he starts eating more out in pasture, he should improve.

  5. Anney Horlacher April 13, 2016 at 11:13 pm #

    That Bode is a cute little guy, glad to hear he and Helen are doing well. It’s funny, I’ve had my goats almost a year now (and now the two little ones) and I am so attached to them. I can’t wait to see them each morning. Goats are certainly special creatures..aren’t they? Thank you for sharing yours!

    • Teresa April 14, 2016 at 7:40 pm #

      They truly are special!

  6. Margaret April 14, 2016 at 1:24 am #

    Boden looks A fine little goat. So I hope he makes it. No I know your wish is to Give up teaching but is this an achievable goal? I do hope it is as I knew you’d love farming so much.

    • Teresa April 14, 2016 at 7:41 pm #

      I think Bode will make it. He’s just a little behind the others. It is an achievable goal. It’s just that I need to work on paying the farm off quickly. It’s a bit much to ask for it to pay for itself and me.

  7. Jeanne April 14, 2016 at 1:44 am #

    It’s hard for me to imagine Helen having to live with that spoon in her rumen for the rest of her life, but if she’s okay, I guess we won’t fuss about it.. I’m sure Bode will do better when he starts chowing down on the green stuff! He sure is a cutie, and I’m glad he’s doing better with the bottle feedings!

    • Teresa April 14, 2016 at 7:42 pm #

      I know. It doesn’t seem to bother her. Bode will certainly catch up to the others when he gets to eating pasture.

  8. Jim April 14, 2016 at 2:27 am #

    Goodness, eating a spoon. Almost like ‘eating the hand that feeds you.’ I do hope he will adapt to it. Our Adi beagle dog ate eleven tamales with the husks on. She passed them in a couple of days. Of course she wasn’t a ruminant either.
    If Bode gets a good appetite he will eat better at meal time, right?
    Our famous beer-drinking Texas goat, Henry II–the mayor of Lajitas, was attacted and killed by a local scumbag. Does anygoat on your farm want to get into politics and run for Mayor down there? It is adjacent to Big Bend National Park.
    ..

    • Jim April 14, 2016 at 2:30 am #

      A good address link on ‘Jim’ now.

    • Teresa April 14, 2016 at 7:44 pm #

      Bode has a good appetite. He just doesn’t want it from the bottle. Goats can be a bit stubborn. The spoon doesn’t seem to bother Helen in the least. I’m sorry to hear someone killed your mayor. That’s mostly why I like goats better than people.

  9. Eileen Wise April 14, 2016 at 5:46 am #

    Good news on Helen and Bode. I hope they both continue to be well. Happy Thursday, enjoy your day!

    • Teresa April 14, 2016 at 7:44 pm #

      They really are both doing well.

  10. Coloring Outside the Lines April 14, 2016 at 8:52 am #

    I’m glad everything ok- wow, swallowing a spoon. I swallowed a quarter once when I was about 2, but a spoon..WOW! Glad Bode is doing well, also. Have a great Thursday!

    • Teresa April 14, 2016 at 7:44 pm #

      It was quite a shock when she ate the spoon. I really didn’t expect that, but I’m guessing it tasted like her peanut butter.

  11. Susan Anderson April 14, 2016 at 9:49 am #

    Somehow I missed the peanut butter story. That’s hilarious, or at least it is now that we know she’s okay!

    Hope Bode latches on and feed well now. Such a cute little guy.

    • Teresa April 14, 2016 at 7:45 pm #

      Trust me. Other than being frantic, it was funny at the time even.

  12. Maria Wijk April 14, 2016 at 2:18 pm #

    Hungry little critter. Good she is getting better.

    • Teresa April 14, 2016 at 7:45 pm #

      Thanks, Maria. Helen is doing well.

  13. missyjean April 14, 2016 at 5:39 pm #

    Wishing Bode well, and I can relate to being at work during the day so not being able to check on little ones as much as I would like to. Keep up the good posts, as it is really informative and fun to follow along!

    • Teresa April 14, 2016 at 7:45 pm #

      Thanks! Glad you enjoy visiting.

  14. Betty April 15, 2016 at 10:38 am #

    Your goat ate a spoon? Unbelievable. Glad everything is OK now. I do hope little Bode will be OK.

    • Teresa April 15, 2016 at 4:58 pm #

      It was rather a surprise that she actually ate it. I’m sure it still tasted like the peanut butter she had in her mouth.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

