A Spoonful of Peanut Butter

11 Apr

You might remember that Helen is getting A Spoonful of Sugar Peanut Butter every evening with medicine to help with her arthritis.  It’s helped her beyond my wildest belief.  In fact, she’s even been going out to the Back Forty with the rest of the herd.

Helen "The Brat" Osboer

Helen “The Brat” Osboer

Every evening when I come out, she comes up to me, anxious to have her treat.  Last night things went horribly wrong.  She was on the other side of the fence, so I just put the spoon through the fence, and she opened up like she usually does.  In typical bratty Helen fashion though, she lifted her head and ended up pulling the spoon from my hand.

goat collage

She stood there chewing on the spoon while I started to climb the fence.  I wasn’t really too concerned.  I assumed she’d just drop the spoon on the ground.  But then it disappeared. I yelled at her not to eat my spoon, and the handle popped back out of her mouth, but I was a bit concerned by this time.

Old doe goat_5019ews

As I climbed over the fence, she took off running.  Yep.  The medicine has helped her so much that she could run faster than me.  I kept yelling “Don’t eat my spoon!”  As we ran through the barn, I could hear her working the spoon over in her mouth.  We kept going into the other side of the barnyard around in circles.

spoon_5091ews

Then it was quiet, and the spoon was gone.  Brat.  My vet was a bit perplexed.  It was a new one for him, so he consulted with Iowa State, and they were in agreement.  His thought is that it will sink to the bottom of her rumen and just sit there.  Forever.  I hope that’s all it does.

Today’s post is brought to you by a bratty Helen, Song-ography and “A Spoonful of Peanut Butter Sugar” from Mary Poppins.

I do hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this week are at the top of my sidebar.

43 Responses to “A Spoonful of Peanut Butter”

  1. Margaret Birding For Pleasure April 11, 2016 at 5:04 pm #

    Oh my goodness! Don’t feed her any more spoons otherwise shse will be carrying a canteen of cutlery

    • Teresa April 11, 2016 at 5:09 pm #

      No kidding. I wish I had those new disposable and edible spoons they are making in India.

  2. Cloudia April 11, 2016 at 5:18 pm #

    oh my! what rewards we find for caring so much about our animal pals!

    • Teresa April 11, 2016 at 5:32 pm #

      This one seems more like a punishment. LOL

  3. glassicartistry April 11, 2016 at 5:27 pm #

    Wow! I’ve often heard goats could eat anything, but considering the length of that spoon, I bet it was a hard swallow! Sure hope it doesn’t cause her any problems. Maybe you could give her the PB and meds on a Ritz. Everything goes good on a Ritz!

    • Teresa April 11, 2016 at 5:33 pm #

      That is a good idea! I might have to try a cracker. We’ve been doing this for months without incident though. Bratty girl.

    • Teresa April 11, 2016 at 7:24 pm #

      They would be perfect if they didn’t cost more than the meds. LOL Someone suggest Ritz crackers. I think I will try it on a cracker and just hope I get my fingers out of the way.

  4. islandrambles April 11, 2016 at 7:46 pm #

    Oh that is a fun story! I do hope she will be ok.

    • Teresa April 11, 2016 at 9:34 pm #

      She seems to be fine so far.

  5. DeniseinVA April 11, 2016 at 8:08 pm #

    Well I never, I do hope she has no ill effects. I had heard goats eat everything. I believe it now 🙂

    • Teresa April 11, 2016 at 9:36 pm #

      Usually, they don’t eat things like that, but I’m guessing she had enough peanut butter in her mouth she just kept thinking it was the spoon.

  6. Abrianna April 11, 2016 at 8:34 pm #

    Is it bad that I laughed first? And then thought too bad there was not a video of this event as it would have been great on america’s funniest videos!

    • Teresa April 11, 2016 at 9:38 pm #

      Absolutely not. My mom laughed so hard I couldn’t even talk to her. The vet laughed. Nope. Helen deserves to be laughed at in this one (and me too for running after her like a lunatic).

  7. Anney Horlacher April 11, 2016 at 11:50 pm #

    Oh my gosh! The adventures we have with our critters. How is Bode? My thoughts are with you. Love reading your posts and seeing the pics!!

    • Teresa April 12, 2016 at 10:07 pm #

      Some days there are more adventures than I like. Bode is hanging in there.

  8. Jeanne April 12, 2016 at 12:17 am #

    Oh. My. Goodness. If that don’t beat all! (That last is a phrase my mother would say!) I do hope she will be all right!

    Is Bode still improving?

    • Teresa April 12, 2016 at 10:07 pm #

      It certainly surprised me! He’s hanging in there.

  9. pattisj April 12, 2016 at 12:25 am #

    She may regret that next time she has to go through a metal detector! Hopefully, she will be OK. I’ll bet that was a sight, you chasing her around like that. I’m glad she’s feeling so much better!

    • Teresa April 12, 2016 at 10:07 pm #

      She has no regrets. She’d do it again if she could. She is a brat!

  10. Pat April 12, 2016 at 12:40 am #

    Helen looks like she is laughing in the first photo, Teresa! She sure is a brat for eating your spoon–and giving you another vet bill! I hope she will be none the worse for it.

    • Teresa April 12, 2016 at 10:09 pm #

      My vets are awesome! They don’t charge for the phone call, and his recommendation was to do nothing. He just got to laugh at the unusual events at my farm.

  11. Eileen Wise April 12, 2016 at 6:31 am #

    Oh my, first I was going to say I am so happy Helen is doing so well. The medicine is helping a lot. Yes, she was a brat for eating your spoon, I hope it does not hurt her later. Happy Tuesday, enjoy your day!

    • Teresa April 12, 2016 at 10:09 pm #

      I’m glad she’s doing well too, but she still needs an attitude adjustment. LOL

  12. brokenbarn April 12, 2016 at 7:25 am #

    That was a bratty move Helen. Hope she realizes after this spoon, that spoons are not treats!

    • Teresa April 12, 2016 at 10:09 pm #

      I hope so too. It was one of my new spoons too!

  13. Jackie April 12, 2016 at 7:36 am #

    That is so funny.
    P.S. I hate peanut butter!

    • Teresa April 12, 2016 at 10:10 pm #

      Helen is rather addicted to her peanut butter (or anything that might have peanut butter on it).

  14. Rajesh April 12, 2016 at 8:40 am #

    I really like that first shot.

    • Teresa April 12, 2016 at 10:10 pm #

      Thanks. I thought she looked pretty out in pasture.

  15. Tamar April 12, 2016 at 9:07 am #

    My dogs used to love pills in PB. Hope it helps!

    • Teresa April 12, 2016 at 10:10 pm #

      It’s obviously helped the arthritis.

  16. tomthebackroadstraveller April 12, 2016 at 9:52 am #

    cute

    • Teresa April 12, 2016 at 10:11 pm #

      Thanks. I didn’t think so while it was happening, but I do adore her. I can’t stay mad at her.

  17. Crystal April 12, 2016 at 11:32 am #

    Oh my, I had to laugh at that one too! Crazy ol girl. you need a better grip on them spoons lol

  18. itsallaboutpurple April 12, 2016 at 11:55 am #

    awwwww, so wonderful…that she’s taking it and that it’s helping. we used to use liverwurst to get our dog to take pills!!!!

    • Teresa April 12, 2016 at 10:11 pm #

      I am glad it helps. Just wish she hadn’t eaten the spoon too.

  19. Lisa April 12, 2016 at 1:32 pm #

    That would have been a very scary experience…maybe for both of you? I do hope it doesn’t cause her any future problems. She may be a brat, but she sure is a cute brat! #songography

    • Teresa April 12, 2016 at 10:12 pm #

      Helen was not scared. She’d do it again. It has not bothered her at all.

  20. Midas P Goat Esq. April 12, 2016 at 8:33 pm #

    I have two goats on arthritis medicine. One eats the pills when I tuck them into a couple of fig newtons. The other one eats them if I sneak them into whole peanuts. What we don’t do for the little darlings!

    • Teresa April 12, 2016 at 10:12 pm #

      I know. They are worth it though.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

