Why I Love Them

6 Apr

If you don’t come here often, you probably don’t know about my Muffin.  She’s turning ten this summer and is a rather feisty girl.  She likes fighting through fences more than she should.  A lot of them like to do that, but what makes her different from the rest of my goats is that she nearly killed herself by getting tangled in wire while fighting through the fence last fall.

Muffin Jane Osboer

Muffin Jane Osboer

I got to her and saved her, but she does have a significant brain injury.  She’s never returned to her normal self.  I sometimes wonder how much she remembers about life before the accident.  She doesn’t interact with her doe, Wanda, and they were very close before this.

Old Doe Goat_4567ews

If you know anything about brain injuries, the person/goat struggles with memory and they process very slowly.  They need consistency and are easily over-stimulated.  That made it hard on her when she was with another forty goats who wanted to browse all over the pasture.

Old doe goat_4571ews

I put her with Pistol (who had a back injury right after being clandestinely bred through the fence) for the winter.  She was there when Pistol had her kids, and Tommy and PJ think they have two moms.  You’re just as likely to see them with Muffin as you are Pistol.   I joked with Pistol (yes, I talk to my goats) that she actually has three kids.

Doe Pistol_4326ews

I didn’t realize how close they had become.  I thought Pistol tolerated Muffin.  Then Muffin was fighting through a fence again.  I led her away from the fence, scolding her the whole way about bad things that happen when she does that.  I saw Pistol’s boys, and told Muffin that she should go hang out with Tommy and PJ.  As I said this, I was walking past Pistol.  She softly talked, and Muffin quit fighting me and went to stand with Pistol.  It almost made me cry to see that Pistol really did help Muffin out.

Goat Family_4589ews

I wasn’t sure what would happen now that all the goats are back in one large group.

Goat Family_4586ews

They still hang out together, and every night they go back to the buck pen that they shared for the last few months.  It does my heart good to see Muffin doing okay in the larger group.  I hope she can continue with them.  It really warms my heart to see how Pistol takes care of Muffin.

I hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this week are at the top of my sidebar.

Today, I’m sharing with Warm Heart Wednesday.

26 Responses to “Why I Love Them”

  1. Jeanne April 6, 2016 at 7:22 pm #

    What sweet, touching part of the Muffin/Pistol story! It gave me goosebumps as I read it. It’s like Pistol has adopted Muffin as her own. Wow!

    • Teresa April 6, 2016 at 7:44 pm #

      I would never have guessed that Pistol was really actually looking out for her, but she had no reason to talk to her. It was an immediate calming influence on Muffin. It about made me cry.

  2. Jim April 6, 2016 at 7:30 pm #

    Teresa, I am seeing your goats get older and old and still they are your babies. I didn’t know that goats understand when a goat friend needs help they will volunteer to help.
    That would be heart warming to watch.
    ..

    • Teresa April 6, 2016 at 7:45 pm #

      I’ve always said goats are more like humans than any other animal I’ve met. Usually, I don’t mean that as a compliment, but in this case, it truly was touching. They are my family.

  3. Erika April 6, 2016 at 11:54 pm #

    Adorable, I love it!!

  4. pattisj April 7, 2016 at 12:10 am #

    I’m glad Muffin is doing better. This is a heart-warming story.

    • Teresa April 7, 2016 at 11:18 am #

      She still doesn’t like feeding time in the group, but she’s doing well for the most part.

  5. Margaret April 7, 2016 at 2:21 am #

    What a beautiful story. When I reading it and hearing you talked with the goats and heard about there level off understanding, I though the stories might make A good children’s story

    • Teresa April 7, 2016 at 11:18 am #

      It’s scary how much they understand when you talk to them. As a kid, Pistol would come running out of the barn, maaing, and I’d tell your, “Your maa is…” and off she’d go. It was really scary how smart she is.

  6. Eileen Wise April 7, 2016 at 6:16 am #

    Hello, what a sweet story. Pistol and Muffin are good friends and will watch out for each other. I love them too, great photos. Happy Thursday, enjoy your day and the weekend ahead!

    • Teresa April 7, 2016 at 11:19 am #

      Goats do really have amazing relationships.

  7. Gayle April 7, 2016 at 6:29 am #

    I know my heart has been warmed. Thanks for sharing. And I chuckled at – told her she has three ‘kids’. 😉

    • Teresa April 7, 2016 at 11:19 am #

      Well, she kind of does.

  8. estherjoy10 April 7, 2016 at 11:55 am #

    Hey! It’s been awhile since I visited your blog! You amaze me with your goat stories! Being a nurse, I found the brain injury subject on this post most interesting!

    • Teresa April 7, 2016 at 12:01 pm #

      Glad you stopped by. They really are more similar (being mammals) than we usually care to admit.

  9. Betty April 7, 2016 at 4:01 pm #

    I didn’t realize goat would fight through the fence. I thought they were pretty docile. Did she get caught in the fence and get hurt? I’m glad she’s got a good friend and is doing better.

    • Teresa April 7, 2016 at 8:03 pm #

      I can come up with a lot of words to describe goats (funny, goofy, spirited, strong-willed, stubborn, naughty, pain-in-the-butt), but I’m pretty sure docile would not be one of them. LOL

  10. Alica April 7, 2016 at 7:01 pm #

    That is the sweetest thing!!

    • Teresa April 7, 2016 at 8:06 pm #

      I think so. Goats really do amaze me.

  11. Maria Wijk April 8, 2016 at 4:37 am #

    Beautiful critter.

    • Teresa April 8, 2016 at 9:47 am #

      I do think they are beautiful!

  12. Juana April 9, 2016 at 11:28 am #

    Goats are incredible and your story of how muffin and pistol have helped each other warmed my heart this morning. I watched a documentary of how a goat befriended a blind horse. They each had something to give to each other in the friendship.

    visiting from warm heart wednesday

    • Teresa April 9, 2016 at 10:08 pm #

      Animals are truly amazing. I have to say, goats are my favorites.

  13. Abrianna April 10, 2016 at 8:40 pm #

    So sweet. Some animals know how to help others whether animal or human.

    • Teresa April 10, 2016 at 9:41 pm #

      Pistol is as smart as they come, and she is a good girl. I do adore her.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

