It’s the Hard-Knock Life

5 Apr

I usually try to show you how great my life on the farm is, and it is wonderful, but farm life isn’t always easy.  Sometimes, it really stinks (and not just the manure).  Penny can’t raise both of her kids.  She’s only got enough milk for one.

goat and kids_4681ews

Brindle is doing amazing!

Brindle

Brindle

Bode is starving to death.  That seems harsh when I have a freezer full of milk and bottles.  I’ve heard many times, “They’ll take the bottle if they get hungry enough.”  That’s not true.  The only way Bode “takes” a bottle is if I squirt the milk down his throat.  It takes me about 30 minutes to get 1/2 cup in him.  At that rate, he starves to death a little more slowly.  I called my vet this morning and tried to convince him that he should take Bode and keep him until he’s weaned.  He didn’t like that idea.

Goat Kid_4696ews

He did, however, say my mom could bring Bode and a quart of milk to the vet office, and he’d take care of him today.  On my way home, when I pick him up, he’d teach  me how to tube him.  Yep.  From now until he’s weaned (unless I end up killing him by getting the tube in his lungs), he’ll eat with me putting a tube into his stomach and pouring the milk in.

Bode

Bode

So far the plan has gone without a hitch.  We’ll see how it goes when I actually try tubing him before bed toinght.

This post is brought to you by Song-ography where the song this week is “It’s the Hard-Knock Life” from the musical Annie.  I refuse to let anyone complain of an empty stomach when I have a freezer full of milk.

I would love for you to come back and join me for Friday’s Hunt this week.  The items are at the top of my side bar.

40 Responses to “It’s the Hard-Knock Life”

  1. daystarhomestead April 5, 2016 at 6:38 pm #

    Oh my how sad!!! Hope everything goes well tonight.

    • Teresa April 5, 2016 at 6:43 pm #

      It would be so easy if he would just suck the bottle.

  2. Margaret April 5, 2016 at 7:30 pm #

    Tall the best with the inserting the tube. Perhaps he will Buck up and still taking the bottle.

    • Teresa April 5, 2016 at 8:50 pm #

      That would be nice.

  3. brokenbarn April 5, 2016 at 7:57 pm #

    I am sorry for Bode and you. Have never tubed a goat, but calves are hard enough. Good luck!

    • Teresa April 5, 2016 at 8:51 pm #

      Since he is a bit older, Scott had to work at it. I think I’ve wimped out. For once ounce and 25 minutes difference, I’ll stick with the safer method of squirting it in. He is much better tonight and was even keeping up with his sister. Hopefully, the extra he’s gotten has helped.

      • brokenbarn April 5, 2016 at 10:16 pm #

        Hang in there! Their little throats are well, so little! I would have wimped out too!!

      • Teresa April 6, 2016 at 6:41 am #

        He did much better with a bottle this morning. It would still be easier if he just slurped it down, but hey! What else would I do with my mornings and evenings?

      • brokenbarn April 10, 2016 at 7:29 am #

        Nothing! You are always just sitting around! LOL!!

  4. Tuesday April 5, 2016 at 8:19 pm #

    Thanks for sharing the not so great side. I need more of that as we keep growing. I am not complaining about anything, but I know our day of complications and trouble will happen someday.

    • Teresa April 5, 2016 at 8:51 pm #

      You know, every time I think I’m pretty good, they have to show me how little I really know about goats. They like to make sure I’m always learning.

  5. Lynda Campbell April 5, 2016 at 8:19 pm #

    Oh, I know you will do a great job with this lil boy. Bless his heart, he will get some help now.

    • Teresa April 5, 2016 at 8:52 pm #

      Little stinker would be much better off if he’d just suck the bottle. I will do what I can for him.

  6. Alica April 5, 2016 at 9:06 pm #

    Oh man, that stinks! I was just going to say, you’ll be a pro at tubing in no time, I’m sure. Then I read the comments…hope it goes well with your original method, and that he soon learns to suck on that bottle!! Threw me for a loop when I first logged into your blog…a new look! I’m glad you kept your header…that’s such a great picture! Are any of those kids still on your farm?

    • Teresa April 5, 2016 at 9:25 pm #

      None of those kids are still here. I do have three kids to the one on the far left though.

      Tubing just scares me. Since the vet was only giving him one ounce more by tubing him, I figure it’s not worth the risk. My time isn’t worth the risk.

  7. hedgewitch April 5, 2016 at 9:57 pm #

    Good luck with the poor little guy, Teresa. They are such a true responsibility–I am with you on the tubing–it would scare me, too. I hope it works out for him.

    • Teresa April 6, 2016 at 6:41 am #

      He is actually better this morning. It was easier to squirt it in him too.

  8. brokenteepee April 5, 2016 at 11:38 pm #

    Poor little dude. I hope he figures it all out and sucks the bottle

    • Teresa April 6, 2016 at 6:42 am #

      He almost, but not quite sucked once or twice while I was squirting this morning.

  9. Anney Horlacher April 5, 2016 at 11:48 pm #

    Just want you to know, I will be praying for both you and Bode! I can only imagine how scary this situation is for you.

    • Teresa April 6, 2016 at 6:43 am #

      It’s a lot easier now that I wimped out. He’s stronger and nursing mom a bit more now. It was easier to squirt down him this morning. Life is coming back to the little guy.

  10. Pat April 6, 2016 at 1:40 am #

    Poor Bode! I hope you were able to tube him, although I’m sure you don’t need that extra work. Is there no way to increase his Momma’s milk production? You are right, that farm work is hard. I remember how hard my grandmother worked on her little place.

    • Teresa April 6, 2016 at 6:44 am #

      I didn’t even try! I decided my time was best spent squirting it down his throat. Not really a good way. It’s mostly her age/CAE. If the kids get a little bigger and she spends more time on pasture, it might help a little, but that will help develop their rumens if they eat grass. Then they’ll need less milk sooner.

  11. Jeanne April 6, 2016 at 2:43 am #

    Teresa, I’m definitely with you on this one! I wouldn’t do the tube! Period! My first thought as I read what you wrote, was to start to pray both for little Bode and for you! I can’t imagine how his little throat would feel, having a tube put down it two or more times a day! It would get sore. The kind thing is to do your method, and I will continue to pray for success.

    • Teresa April 6, 2016 at 6:44 am #

      He does seem better this morning. Thanks so much, Jeanne.

  12. Eileen Wise April 6, 2016 at 5:53 am #

    Oh my, that is sad. I hope Bode does ok, the tube does not sound like fun. Happy Wednesday, enjoy your day!

    • Teresa April 6, 2016 at 6:45 am #

      We both decided squirting it from the bottle is much more pleasant.

  13. Sallie Rainville April 6, 2016 at 7:19 am #

    Oh poor little baby! He’s so sweet. I sure hope the tube works.

    • Teresa April 6, 2016 at 11:02 am #

      It really helped to get him filled up, so he seems to be doing okay with me squirting the 4 oz. in him. He’s doing better with nursing him mom too. I’ll keep a close eye on Brindle now that she isn’t getting all the milk for herself.

  14. kmcblackburn April 6, 2016 at 8:53 am #

    I can’t even imagine the hours you must put in on the farm. Hats off to you. It’s gotta be hard work. Hope the feeding issues get resolved quickly. Thanks for sharing at Song-ography.

    • Teresa April 6, 2016 at 11:03 am #

      It is a full time job after I finish teaching. It’s the life I love.

  15. Pondside April 6, 2016 at 9:41 am #

    I appreciate that you sometimes show that farming isn’t all big-eyed beauties and sunny days. Sometimes it’s just downright hard.

    • Teresa April 6, 2016 at 11:03 am #

      It really is work. They are worth it.

  16. Mama Zen April 6, 2016 at 12:47 pm #

    Poor little Bode!

    • Teresa April 6, 2016 at 1:24 pm #

      He’s already doing better.

  17. Jeanne April 6, 2016 at 7:33 pm #

    I’m so glad to know Bode is doing better! 😃

    • Teresa April 6, 2016 at 7:45 pm #

      Better for now. I just don’t know how it will turn out for him.

  18. missyjean April 7, 2016 at 5:29 pm #

    Poor guy. We have four new babies (twins from two separate does) and we are bottle feeding them at night. The first pair struggled, but the newer set took to it right away. Amazing how many unique situations are out there.

    Thanks for posting this…I have learned so much from the blogs of others. It is a lifesaver for a newbie, really! 😀

    • Teresa April 7, 2016 at 8:05 pm #

      There’s no predicting who will take a bottle and who won’t. It kills me that Haley’s two boys that don’t even need a bottle will fight to get one. I really wish Bode would figure out how much easier it is. Good luck with all your little ones!

      • missyjean April 8, 2016 at 10:39 am #

        Thank you! So far, so good. 🙂

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

