Don’t Sit Under the Apple Tree

28 Mar

My poor apple tree is going to be missed.  It really reminds me of Shel Silverstein’s “The Giving Tree”.  I’ve gotten apples from it four applesauce, wine, jelly, pies and just eating.  It’s still giving.  Duke and Duchess enjoy it.

Duke and Duchess

Duke and Duchess

Now André has joined them playing on it while Gidget watches.

kids apple tree_4016ews

kids apple tree_4018ew

Today’s post is linked to Song-ography where the song of choice this week is Don’t Sit Under the Apple Tree by the Andrews Sisters.

I hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this week are at the top of my side bar.

23 Responses to “Don’t Sit Under the Apple Tree”

  1. Cloudia March 28, 2016 at 5:24 pm #

    fun to vosot!

  2. Jeanne March 28, 2016 at 11:01 pm #

    The kids are adorable! Sadly, I’m afraid your apple tree is the strangest looking toast I’ve ever seen!

    • Teresa March 29, 2016 at 6:44 am #

      Poor tree. It will be missed.

  3. Cath March 28, 2016 at 11:42 pm #

    oh dear! will you plant another one?

    • Teresa March 29, 2016 at 6:45 am #

      Eventually, I’d like to plant several fruit trees in my Back Forty, but I need a good fence first.

  4. Margaret March 29, 2016 at 12:44 am #

    Did it just get old and keel over?

    • Teresa March 29, 2016 at 6:46 am #

      It was planted under tall oak trees (not by me), so it kept leaning towards the sun until it was just laying down. Then the goats stripped the bark this spring.

      • pattisj April 11, 2016 at 12:14 am #

        I wondered what happened to it.

  5. Tony McGurk March 29, 2016 at 3:18 am #

    Gosh… Definitely looks like it’s seen better days.

    • Teresa March 29, 2016 at 6:46 am #

      It certainly has. Poor thing.

  6. Tamar March 29, 2016 at 4:17 am #

    Oh no, so sad it’s tumbled over.

    • Teresa March 29, 2016 at 6:47 am #

      It’s been several years now that I kept thinking it would be it’s last. Pretty sure the goats stripping the bark off was the last nail in its coffin.

  7. Eileen Wise March 29, 2016 at 7:06 am #

    Poor tree, the kids seem to be enjoying what is left. Cute shots. Happy Tuesday, enjoy your day!

    • Teresa March 29, 2016 at 5:45 pm #

      The goats have really enjoyed eating it!

  8. Alica March 29, 2016 at 9:26 am #

    I’m sure you’ll miss that apple tree. We have a tree just like that in the chicken pen right now, just waiting for someone to come with a chain saw. If I could start it, I’d be tempted to go cut it up myself. For now though, the chickens are enjoying climbing on it just like your goats!

    • Teresa March 29, 2016 at 5:45 pm #

      I’m not sure when I’ll get rid of this one, but I tell myself it keeps the goats from moving on to the cherry, plum, or peach trees.

  9. Andrea March 29, 2016 at 9:48 am #

    That is really too bad. I hope you have a better week than your poor tree!

    • Teresa March 29, 2016 at 5:46 pm #

      The tree has been declining for several years. I’m surprised it’s lasted as long as it has.

  10. elizabethfstewart March 29, 2016 at 10:26 pm #

    I love that old song!

    • Teresa March 30, 2016 at 6:49 am #

      It is a good one!

  11. kmcblackburn March 31, 2016 at 11:55 am #

    I can totally see why you see it as your Giving Tree! I’m sure it will be missed. At least your fur babies are still enjoying it! Thanks for sharing at Song-ography!

    • Teresa March 31, 2016 at 1:32 pm #

      They will enjoy it until it’s gone. Hopefully, I can find someone who will use the wood for something. I hear it’s popular for smoking meats.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

