This and That With the Kids

27 Mar

Haley is struggling to keep up feeding her triplets.  I get to give them bottles to help finish filling them up.

Willie (left), Kip (top), and Willie and Clyde (bottom)

Willie (left), Kip (top), and Willie and Clyde (bottom)

I guess that’s only fair since she is one of the girls that put all that milk in my freezer.

Dolly’s boy, Rufus, is a trouble maker.  From the moment he was born, he’s been a pain.  I went out about an hour after working hard to pull him into the world to find him standing in his maa’s water bucket.  Newborn kids should not swim.  I fished him out and dried him off again.

Rufus

Rufus

The next day, I came home from town to find him lying in a five-gallon bucket (on it’s side) with half of him outside in the rain.  Dolly must think he’s a duck.

buckling_4032ews

It’s a good thing he’s so cute, because today, he managed to find himself in the wrong side of the barnyard and couldn’t figure out how to get back to his mom, so I had to go rescue him.  Yep.  He’s a trouble maker.

Since Dolly only has one kid, she’s making more milk than he can drink.  I’m fine with that.  I actually got to use my new milk room (even though it’s not quite done) and milk one side of her udder.  I got just about a quart from that one side.  I’m loving my little Dolly!

milk collage ws

fresh from the goat and after filtering

I have to say, these adorable girls make me wish I was planning on keeping lots of girls this year.

Cookie's girl and Clover's doe, Lexie

Cookie’s girl and Clover’s doe, Lexie

Stormy's girl, Sal

Stormy’s girl, Sal

They are too cute!  Sam better start thinking girls for next year.

I hope you’ll consider coming back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  The items for next week are at the top of my side bar.

Today, I’m sharing with The Good. The Random. The Fun., Macro Monday, and Mosaic Monday.

32 Responses to “This and That With the Kids”

  1. Mama Zen March 27, 2016 at 7:27 pm #

    So cute!

    • Teresa March 27, 2016 at 8:39 pm #

      They are all too stinkin’ cute!

  2. brokenteepee March 27, 2016 at 7:44 pm #

    Oh that Rufus is too, too cute. Usually goats hate water….funny kid

    • Teresa March 27, 2016 at 8:40 pm #

      I think it was more like he got pushed in by mom being aggressive in drying him off and then he couldn’t get out. Glad I hadn’t filled it yet, or he would have drown. I have it up on blocks now.

  3. Abrianna March 27, 2016 at 8:05 pm #

    Oh the girls are so cute. Rufus-troublemaker who may not be one buck you keep.

    • Teresa March 27, 2016 at 8:41 pm #

      I don’t plan on keeping any of this group of kids. I am being really selective, and I want to keep my higher percentage dairy kids that Sam will be giving me in June or next year.

  4. Margaret Birding For Pleasure March 28, 2016 at 2:23 am #

    They are all so cute. I just don’t know how you can let them all go!

    • Teresa March 28, 2016 at 8:44 am #

      Well, I wouldn’t be able to breed them and have these babies if they didn’t leave the farm. That’s the only reason we have them.

  5. Gattina March 28, 2016 at 2:27 am #

    The cute little trouble makers reminds me in some way of my cat Arthur when he was a kitten ! Strange isn’t it ?

    • Teresa March 28, 2016 at 8:45 am #

      Not at all! I love your Arthur.

  6. Eileen Wise March 28, 2016 at 6:19 am #

    AWWW, they are all just adorable kids. Wonderful photos. Happy Monday, enjoy your new week!

    • Teresa March 28, 2016 at 8:45 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. You too!

  7. Wendy @ September Violets March 28, 2016 at 9:24 am #

    Gosh, I couldn’t be angry with that sweet little Rufus! These guys & gals are all so adorable. Love goats 🙂

    • Teresa March 28, 2016 at 9:34 am #

      I am not angry, but he keeps his mom and me on our toes/hooves!

  8. Tamar March 28, 2016 at 9:33 am #

    They are SO cute!

    • Teresa March 28, 2016 at 9:35 am #

      Nothing cuter than baby goats!

  9. Karen Seek March 28, 2016 at 10:34 am #

    Made me smile– too much cuteness!!!

    • Teresa March 28, 2016 at 11:53 am #

      I love this time of year when they are all out playing!

  10. Brooke March 28, 2016 at 11:46 am #

    Oh my word, what darling creatures!

    • Teresa March 28, 2016 at 11:53 am #

      Thanks! They really are.

  11. treadway March 28, 2016 at 12:01 pm #

    It would be so hard to give up those cuties…

    • Teresa March 28, 2016 at 12:16 pm #

      It is one of the worst parts of farming, but it’s why we have them.

  12. Pondside March 28, 2016 at 12:50 pm #

    You can’t stay annoyed at that little guy for long – he is just so cute!

    • Teresa March 28, 2016 at 4:30 pm #

      No. I had to smile while I was rescuing him.

  13. Sallie (FullTime-Life) March 28, 2016 at 1:25 pm #

    Oh my gosh they are so pretty! Even the trouble-maker, although he might head-butt me for calling him a girly name! They are wonderful; how can you stand to get rid of them ever?

    • Teresa March 28, 2016 at 4:31 pm #

      He’s too little to care about head butting. Give him a few days. LOL It’s all a part of farming. Of course, that’s one of the tough parts.

  14. Judith @ Lavender Cottage March 28, 2016 at 6:15 pm #

    Well I suppose boys will be boys whether they have 2 legs or 4. What a little scamp your Rufus is!

    • Teresa March 28, 2016 at 6:37 pm #

      He is! Hopefully he outgrows his orneriness.

  15. riitta k March 29, 2016 at 12:27 am #

    Oh how cute they are!!! I wish them happy lives.

    • Teresa March 29, 2016 at 6:45 am #

      I will do the best I can for them.

  16. pattisj April 10, 2016 at 11:54 pm #

    Rufus has pretty facial markings. They’re all adorable!

    • Teresa April 11, 2016 at 2:42 pm #

      He is adorable. Wish he were a girl.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

