A Soap Crisis

13 Mar

I have started making soaps to restock for the spring farmer’s market season.  I did another three batches this weekend, and I have another nine batches to make.

soap collage

Unfortunately, I only have enough milk cubes in my freezer for another four batches.

milk cubes_3506ews

That means Pistol is going to have to nanny up and be my milking doe.

Pistol (with Tommy and PJ nursing)

Pistol (with Tommy and PJ nursing)

I’m not sure how this will work since I’ve never milked her. My milk room isn’t ready for training a goat, and my training stanchion is in the muddy chicken pen where I have three naughty roosters that want to kill me every time I go in.

Rooster_3566ews

I’m hoping she’s having a heart-to-heart with her mother and daughter where they are telling her how awesome it is to be a milking doe.

Dolly and Pistol (front) Clover (back)

Dolly and Pistol (front)
Clover (back)

I never had to train Dolly or Clover.  They just stood naturally.  Hopefully Pistol doesn’t take after her grandmaa Lily, whom I never once could milk.  I’ll probably try this during the time I have spring break kids coming.  I’ll let you know how it goes!

If you’d like to join me for this week’s Friday’s Hunt, the items are listed at the top of my side bar.

Today I’m sharing with The Good. The Random. The Fun., Mosaic Monday, Monday Mellow Yellows, Macro Monday, and Ruby Tuesday.

36 Responses to “A Soap Crisis”

  1. S. J. Qualls March 13, 2016 at 5:25 pm #

    Oh, dear, I can imagine your panic. Ever thought of canned in a real pinch?

    • Teresa March 13, 2016 at 6:28 pm #

      It shouldn’t be too hard to get what I need from Pistol (especially if Clover and Blaze need help getting their udders milked out for kids). Otherwise, I do have more in the freezer in case I have a bottle kid, but it is in a solid gallon chunk. LOL Not the easiest form.

  2. brokenteepee March 13, 2016 at 5:29 pm #

    I only ever had trouble with one doe in all of my experiences – Mallory. She would run up the stanchion. Happily put her head through to get to the grain and then she would sit down. Since she wasn’t one of my dwarf goats I couldn’t get her to stand for anything. She would just sit there, looking at me, chewing her cud. She won….Everyone else just let me milk. There were some dancers along the way but it got done.

    • Teresa March 13, 2016 at 6:28 pm #

      I love the ones that just stand. I’m hoping Pistol will be like her mom and daughter that way. I’ve only had two that I haven’t been able to get to milk. Most do well.

  3. Margaret Birding For Pleasure March 13, 2016 at 5:34 pm #

    I hope Pistrol will miljk willingly for you.

    • Teresa March 13, 2016 at 6:28 pm #

      Me too. You never know with her though!

  4. Alica March 13, 2016 at 5:35 pm #

    I have an idea! You come here (in all of your spare time 🙂 ) and teach me to make soap, and I’ll send a bunch of frozen raw cows’ milk home with you! Not quite the same as goats’ milk, but it works! My first batch turned out ok…no fragrance or anything else added, but the scrapings that I trimmed off my bars feel wonderful on my hands!

    • Teresa March 13, 2016 at 6:29 pm #

      Glad to hear your soap turned out well. It’s been crazy busy this past year. I would love to visit someday.

  5. Jeanne March 13, 2016 at 7:19 pm #

    I know everyone will be hoping that Pistol will be a willing milker. I’m in that bunch!
    I had to chuckle at the thought of Brokenteepee’s doe sitting down in the stanchion! No sign of Blaze getting ready to start her labor, I guess.

    • Teresa March 13, 2016 at 7:27 pm #

      Lily did that too. Silly goats. There will be an announcement on Blaze’s kids tomorrow (see my tail count or Facebook). She had them right after I posted this.

  6. Pat @ Mille Fiori Favoriti March 14, 2016 at 12:07 am #

    Your soap looks so creamy and good, Teresa! I hope Pistol produces lots of milk for you to use,

    • Teresa March 14, 2016 at 7:03 pm #

      I have to say, I do go through a lot of soap, especially during the farmer’s market season.

  7. Chandra@GreenComotion March 14, 2016 at 12:12 am #

    Such cute critters and I like the pictures of your soap – lovely!
    Have a Happy Week!
    Peace 🙂

  8. Tony McGurk March 14, 2016 at 3:14 am #

    I remember seeing Goat Soap in a Pharmacy once. I joked to my wife & said that it must be soap that you use to wash goats with.

    • Teresa March 14, 2016 at 7:04 pm #

      Goat milk soap is good stuff!

  9. Eileen March 14, 2016 at 4:58 am #

    Hello, I hope all goes well with Pistol. Good luck! Happy Monday, enjoy your new week!

    • Teresa March 14, 2016 at 7:04 pm #

      You never know with that girl. She did earn her name, after all.

  10. Judith @ Lavender Cottage March 14, 2016 at 6:58 am #

    I’d say you have your work cut out for you Teresa and I hope Pistol is a willing gal to let you milk her.

    • Teresa March 14, 2016 at 7:05 pm #

      You never know. She’s quite the Pistol some days, but she does love her food. That helps.

  11. Forest Dream Weaver March 14, 2016 at 7:50 am #

    Wow…your soap looks interesting!
    Love the rooster too!

    • Teresa March 14, 2016 at 7:05 pm #

      Thanks. I don’t think I could ever go back to store bought.

  12. Mary Howell Cromer March 14, 2016 at 7:53 am #

    Oh my, that is some dilemma and I hope that you win out!

    • Teresa March 14, 2016 at 7:05 pm #

      It will all work out one way or another. I just hope it’s the easy solution.

  13. Tamar March 14, 2016 at 9:09 am #

    Good luck getting it all done!

    • Teresa March 14, 2016 at 7:06 pm #

      I will certainly need some luck.

  14. itsallaboutpurple March 14, 2016 at 9:42 am #

    lots of work, but i assume it is a labor of love!! beautiful soaps, pretty colors!!!

    • Teresa March 14, 2016 at 7:06 pm #

      It really is! If I could stay home on the farm and work here full time, I would.

  15. bj March 14, 2016 at 10:29 am #

    Goats are so dang cute and I’m scared to death of them….LOL

    • Teresa March 14, 2016 at 7:07 pm #

      Usually there’s no need to be scared unless you’re carrying food they want and don’t plan on sharing. LOL

  16. Gattina March 14, 2016 at 10:47 am #

    I never milked a goat in my life, but I once tried a cow when I was a little girl. I got her tail in my face like a whip and ever since I have not tried to milk anybody !

    • Teresa March 14, 2016 at 7:07 pm #

      Goats don’t have a long tail, so there’s no danger that way. I did have Minnie Pearl that liked pulling my pony tail when I was milking her. LOL

  17. Freda Mans March 14, 2016 at 11:38 am #

    Good luck with the milking. Hope she lets it happen.

    • Teresa March 14, 2016 at 7:08 pm #

      Me too. That would make it much easier.

  18. treadway March 14, 2016 at 9:17 pm #

    I hope it all works out easily…

    • Teresa March 14, 2016 at 9:28 pm #

      Thanks. It will all work out one way or another.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

