Looking for Love PSA

7 Mar

I usually try to be nice, but I have to say, there are a few things that really annoy me.  One is the cats that keep coming to my farm that don’t belong here.

There are three that are pretty much living here (despite having a home) because they want to sleep in my warm barn, drink from my heated tanks, and (since I no longer have dog food outside) eat the gander from my compost pile.

cat_2598ews

If that’s not enough, this one is looking for love in all the wrong places.  She keeps following Snickers around the barnyard.  She meows at my door.

cat collage

Bob’s look of disdain is an improvement.  The night before he chased her down and came back with a mouth full of fur and a new scratch on his nose.

cats_2753ews

For heaven’s sake, if you don’t want to provide adequate care for your animals, don’t get them.

cats_2758ews

Even if you do have animals that you provide for, get them fixed for Bob’s sake.  I’m tired of the constant cat fights and abscesses because my cats can’t leave the house without someone attacking or trying to love on them.

Commercial break:  I do hope you’ll come back and join me for Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this Friday are listed at the top of my side bar.

Thank you.  This PSA was brought to you by Song-ography (Looking for Love by Bob Morrison, Patti Ryan, and Wanda Mallette).  It’s also brought to you by Mosaic Monday.

44 Responses to “Looking for Love PSA”

  1. tomthebackroadstraveller March 7, 2016 at 7:27 pm #

    all you need is love

    • Teresa March 7, 2016 at 7:34 pm #

      Well, she’s not getting any love here!

  2. Donkey Driver March 7, 2016 at 9:01 pm #

    Dump them at a farm…..don’t take responsibility.😠

    • Teresa March 7, 2016 at 9:05 pm #

      They weren’t dumped. In theory they live across the road. They just prefer my farm.

      • Donkey Driver March 7, 2016 at 9:44 pm #

        I see. We have a lot of dumped pets here. Poor things

  3. Judith @ Lavender Cottage March 7, 2016 at 9:08 pm #

    There will always be inconsiderate pet owners and I can understand your frustration. My pet peeve is people walking their dogs in our neighbourhood and not picking up after them, totally disgusting.

    • Teresa March 7, 2016 at 9:09 pm #

      Don’t blame you there! At least I don’t have to worry about that too much since my yard is fenced; although, I did go through a phase where the dogs were jumping my fence or trying to dig their way into my yard.

  4. Pondside March 7, 2016 at 9:26 pm #

    We sing the very same song!!

  5. treadway March 7, 2016 at 10:10 pm #

    I do understand the feeling…

    • Teresa March 7, 2016 at 10:13 pm #

      I feel bad for the cats, but I feel even worse for my boys. 😦

  6. brokenteepee March 7, 2016 at 10:13 pm #

    That was Stubby if you remember. He roamed and moaned. Then we took him and got him fixed. We haven’t seen him since. I am sure his owners don’t toss him out any more because he isn’t wailing. I hate irresponsible pet owners.

    • Teresa March 7, 2016 at 10:15 pm #

      Yep. I don’t want to start a war because my cats might cross the street to hunt occasionally, but they know where home (and the cat food bowl) is located. My boys don’t roam because they’ve been fixed.

  7. Crystal March 8, 2016 at 12:06 am #

    We live far enough away we don’t get any neighbor cats, but we have ours fixed and they don’t travel more than a mile away hunting, I like it that way.

    • Teresa March 8, 2016 at 6:47 am #

      That’s kind of how I have my cats. All are fixed. They know their food source and still go out to hunt in the pasture.

  8. Margaret March 8, 2016 at 12:31 am #

    How about actually and very nicely keep returning the cat to its owner. They may get the message if you then tell them this would not keep happening if they were ‘fixed’!

    • Teresa March 8, 2016 at 6:48 am #

      I have told them that fixing would keep their cats at home. They also have the belief that they can do whatever they want because it’s the country.

  9. Cath March 8, 2016 at 12:35 am #

    For someone who is ‘over’ the visiting cats…..you took some great photo’s of the lovebug! Could she be on heat? our cat disappeared for 2 weeks when she went on heat and a few weeks after her return, we had a houseful of kittens.

    • Teresa March 8, 2016 at 6:48 am #

      She was very obviously in heat. That’s why she was looking for love and rolling around and following Snickers. Poor girl.

  10. Jeanne March 8, 2016 at 1:08 am #

    We no longer have cats, but the neighbors do! It’s a pain when they come into our yard to use our flower beds AND OUR VEGGIE GARDEN AS THEIR POTTY PLACE! There’s not much we can do about it, either, except feel the frustration! I sympathize with you!

    • Teresa March 8, 2016 at 6:49 am #

      It is very frustrating. I hate that my cats don’t hardly want to go outside because we’ve been invaded.

    • haplesssmallholder March 13, 2016 at 8:12 am #

      This drives me nuts too! We don’t allow our dogs to poop in other people’s gardens and play areas so why is it ok for the neighbourhood cars to come and do it in ours?! Liberally! 😕

  11. Tamar March 8, 2016 at 4:06 am #

    She’s so fluffy!

    • Teresa March 8, 2016 at 6:49 am #

      She is a pretty girl. Very pretty.

  12. Eileen March 8, 2016 at 6:00 am #

    It is a shame people do not take care of their pets. We see a few strays around here, people feed them and they keep coming back. I agree they should all be fixed too. Happy Tuesday, enjoy your day!

    • Teresa March 8, 2016 at 6:50 am #

      I was looking at the rescue league’s website (for dogs) and it’s sad how many cats they have for adoption.

  13. Sallie Rainville March 8, 2016 at 6:14 am #

    Oh Teresa, I hate that people do that to you … that poor kitty is so pretty.., how could people be so heartless? We don’t have pets because we travel too much and it wouldn’t be fair to them. I miss having them sometimes but life is full of compromises and you choose the most responsible path. . Except for people like the ones who dump on you.., they evidently missed that life lesson!

    • Teresa March 8, 2016 at 6:51 am #

      She is a beautiful girl. I would just fix her and let her stay if I could, but I can’t do that legally. I could shoot her legally. Isn’t that stupid?

  14. Mitzi March 8, 2016 at 8:26 am #

    Awe…but she’s so pretty! I hear you though. We constantly have cats that belong to neighbors that navigate to our yard. Our girls though are both fixed and never outside, so we don’t have to worry about the cat fights. We do have neighbors who claim to have rescued cats, but then they just toss them outside.

    • Teresa March 8, 2016 at 6:38 pm #

      I wouldn’t even care if they didn’t fight with my cats, but that’s a lot to ask for when you have a tom cat.

  15. Cloudia March 8, 2016 at 9:22 am #

    I understand. Much as I love cats, they can be a nuisance. You got some fine shots though!

    • Teresa March 8, 2016 at 6:38 pm #

      I adore my cats, but I also want my cats to be able to go outside on my property and not have to fight.

  16. Alica March 8, 2016 at 9:50 am #

    Cats, while I love them, can be such a problem! Ours have always been tame, until lately…we had one litter that is wild, and we can’t catch them to get them fixed, or to find them homes! Looking ahead to Friday…can’t wait to actually have some flower pictures to post! yay!!

    • Teresa March 8, 2016 at 6:39 pm #

      Yikes! That’s hard. My sister worked really hard to catch and fix all the cats when she moved in with her boyfriend. I think she finally got it done!

      • Alica March 8, 2016 at 6:54 pm #

        We actually tried using the Have a Heart traps to catch them, but Momma got smart to what we were doing, and laid across the entrance to the trap so the babies couldn’t go inside!

      • Teresa March 8, 2016 at 7:01 pm #

        Oh no! That is horrible. Hopefully, they mellow with age and you can catch them.

  17. pattisj March 8, 2016 at 11:05 pm #

    She’s a beautiful cat. There are three that show up here from time to time to annoy the birds–and the lady who feeds the birds!

    • Teresa March 9, 2016 at 8:52 pm #

      I get that! They have one cat that comes over and tries catching the birds at the feeder.

  18. Lisa March 9, 2016 at 1:07 pm #

    Poor thing. She looks like she needs a good brushing and someone to take care of her. Perhaps you know a friend who needs a kitty……………? Adorable photos.

    • Teresa March 9, 2016 at 8:55 pm #

      Well, she already has someone that claims her as theirs. She was horribly matted around her neck though.

  19. Su-sieee! Mac March 11, 2016 at 2:08 pm #

    I often chase neighbors’ cats out of our yards because they go after our Molly the Cat. Molly has no concept on how to fight back. When we first got her, we were teaching her how to do alpha-cat meows at cats who come onto her territory.

  20. kmcblackburn March 14, 2016 at 10:17 am #

    Looking for love in all the wrong places…thanks for sharing at Song-ography.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

