Flying North

1 Mar

There have been lots of geese flying north this past week.  I had a pair go directly over me when I was out in pasture.

Canada Geese_2384ews

They always look like torpedoes when they are in flight.  At least I think so.  Just a few minutes after the pair flew over, an entire flock came flying by.

Geese formation_2391ews

They looked like Canada geese.  They sounded like Canada geese.  Then I looked more closely at the images.

Geese Formation_2393ews

I’ve never seen that white belly and under wings.  Have you?  Are they Canada geese or some other variety?

I hope you’ll come back and join me for Friday’s Hunt this week.  The items are listed at the top of my side bar.

Sharing with Wild Bird Wednesday.

28 Responses to “Flying North”

  1. Claire Moxon-Waltz March 1, 2016 at 6:47 pm #

    My hunch is that you were lucky enough to see snow geese in flight. Take a look at the pictures on this blog – I think that’s your bird! http://www.birdsasart-blog.com/2012/12/03/looking-up/

    • Teresa March 1, 2016 at 6:55 pm #

      Thanks! That does look like them. It was really confusing because I’ve never seen them before. There have been tons of geese flying over the last few days.

  2. treadway March 1, 2016 at 6:57 pm #

    Yep, I was going to say snow geese….wonderful capture.

    • Teresa March 1, 2016 at 7:03 pm #

      I was really confused since it looks like two kinds flying together.

  3. Gayle March 1, 2016 at 7:17 pm #

    Love these photos; especially the flocks.

  4. Margaret March 2, 2016 at 3:41 am #

    Yes Canada and Snow Geese is what I think.

  5. Eileen March 2, 2016 at 5:44 am #

    Hello, great captures of the geese in flight. The Snow Geese are beautiful. Have a happy day!

  6. vem030956 March 2, 2016 at 6:38 am #

    Well I will jump in here…they do look like Canada Geese, but at https://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Cackling_Goose/id it shows a Cackling Goose that looks just like the Canada Goose. Regardless, outstanding pics!

    • Teresa March 2, 2016 at 3:24 pm #

      Well, that’s interesting!

  7. Alica March 2, 2016 at 7:16 am #

    I was going to say Snow Geese as well…I’m waiting to see what Texwisgirl says! 🙂 They’re quite noisy, aren’t they? It is beginning to sound like spring!

    • Teresa March 2, 2016 at 3:24 pm #

      She’s usually my go-to for all bird identifications. 😉

  8. WolfSong March 2, 2016 at 8:47 am #

    Looks like Snows.
    We haven’t had too many of them come past us the past year. Too bad. I’m hoping to see an abundance of them come north over us this spring.
    Lots and lots of Canadas though…but, we don’t get an extra hunting season on Canadas like we do Snows, so, I’m hoping for Snow(s)!

    • Teresa March 2, 2016 at 3:25 pm #

      I had never seen them (well, that I noticed) before.

  9. Pondside March 2, 2016 at 9:33 am #

    Great shots!
    Up here on the Island, the Canada Geese never leave. We have them all year long and they are protected, so they get be quite a nuisance!

    • Teresa March 2, 2016 at 3:25 pm #

      They can be a pain around here too in the summer. We have seen them hanging around in the winter in some places as well in recent years.

  10. Chris Rohrer March 2, 2016 at 12:48 pm #

    Very nice! You have a flock of Snow Geese flying over your house in the various molts! Some might even be Ross’s Geese! Nice!

    • Teresa March 2, 2016 at 3:26 pm #

      Now that makes more sense than different varieties of geese traveling together. Now I have to see if I can find them in various molts.

  11. Jeanne March 3, 2016 at 1:08 am #

    I think too, that those are snow geese in your picture. They’re pretty fabulous! And any time you get to see a flock of any kind of geese that large, it’s pretty cool!

    • Teresa March 3, 2016 at 7:53 am #

      I agree! You can’t see but half of them because I couldn’t zoom out any farther. It was pretty amazing to see them.

  12. Marie-AZ March 3, 2016 at 9:40 am #

    Beautiful!

  13. Susan Sawyer March 3, 2016 at 10:34 am #

    Unless I’m much mistaken, the dark ones are what we used to call Blue Geese — blue morph Snow Geese. See photos and description here. https://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Snow_Goose/id
    Thanks for these photos, and your whole blog and your farm. I’m a rather homesick–or maybe more nostalgic– Iowa native, not been home in 45 years. It gives me pleasure to see your place.

    • Teresa March 3, 2016 at 3:43 pm #

      Thank you! It’s so interesting.

  14. pattisj March 8, 2016 at 10:55 pm #

    I vote Snow Geese, too. They have the black wingtips like that. We had a lovely warm day, too. A friend in NC shared a video of a flock of Snow Geese stopping over in her area–and making quite a racket!

    • Teresa March 9, 2016 at 8:52 pm #

      I am really enjoying our warmer weather. Glad to hear you are getting some nice weather too.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

