We Are Family!

29 Feb

I often talk about the close family relationships the goats have.  When we were walking out in pasture the other day, I looked over and saw Kizzy with all of her descendants.

Front to back: Bonnie, Blaze, Kizzy, Mary and Gidget

Front to back: Bonnie, Blaze, Kizzy, Mary and Gidget

When we got half way across the Back Forty, I was ahead of the goats.  Look who came over the hill together.

Blaze, Gidget, and Kizzy

Blaze, Gidget, and Kizzy

Three generations: Maa Blaze, Grandkid Gidget and Grandmaa Kizzy.

I hope you’ll come back and join me for Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this week are at the top of my side bar.

I’m sharing today’s post with Kathy at Song-ography for the song We are Family by Sister Sledge.  Oops.  I forgot it was our week for a suggested song.  Does this work for Hello by Adele?

21 Responses to “We Are Family!”

  1. elizabethfstewart February 29, 2016 at 11:43 pm #

    I love goat cheese! Do you raise them for milking?

    • Teresa March 1, 2016 at 6:28 am #

      I do milk them to make soap. I also sell the kids for meat.

  2. tomthebackroadstraveller March 1, 2016 at 12:12 am #

    how do how come up with all these names?

    • Teresa March 1, 2016 at 6:29 am #

      I don’t know. Sometimes I get on a theme. Other times it’s just whatever seems to fit.

  3. Täysin arkista March 1, 2016 at 12:29 am #

    Your photos always make me smile.

    • Teresa March 1, 2016 at 6:29 am #

      So glad to hear that!

  4. Margaret March 1, 2016 at 3:11 am #

    Family is always important. Love the shots.

    • Teresa March 1, 2016 at 6:29 am #

      It really is important in the goats.

  5. Tamar March 1, 2016 at 4:16 am #

    So sweet!

    • Teresa March 1, 2016 at 6:29 am #

      They really are. 🙂

  6. jeanniemaries March 1, 2016 at 8:37 am #

    So cute to see them! The three coming over the hill remind me of the opening scene in the old TV series Bonanza! All brothers of course and these are not, but that was my first thought when I saw the picture!

    • Teresa March 1, 2016 at 6:55 pm #

      That’s funny. They just needed Bonnie or Mary to join them to have four of them coming over the hill.

  7. treadway March 1, 2016 at 9:52 am #

    Loving the names, too. I have a friend who has cats named Idget and Gidget

    • Teresa March 1, 2016 at 6:56 pm #

      That’s cute for a pair of cats!

  8. Eileen March 1, 2016 at 3:12 pm #

    That is wonderful that your goat families stick together. They are all so cute, great photos. Enjoy your day!

    • Teresa March 1, 2016 at 6:56 pm #

      They really do. It always amazes me how they keep that close bond for life.

  9. Jeanne March 3, 2016 at 1:24 am #

    (Nothing like getting behind in the reading!) It’s always so neat to read about how the families stay together! And Kizzy’s family is extra special, because of that wonderful coloration!

    • Teresa March 3, 2016 at 7:54 am #

      Parent-teacher conferences this week. I’m horribly behind too. Thanks so much for coming to visit and catch up.

  10. kmcblackburn March 3, 2016 at 7:54 am #

    Haha…I think your photos and commentary work for EITHER song! 🙂 Thanks for joining in at Song-ography.

    • Teresa March 3, 2016 at 7:55 am #

      Thanks for hosting! I do enjoy it. I might already have my song picked out for this coming week!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Finally More Babies! | brokenbarnfarm - June 12, 2016

    […] the same color theme I am? All three of these does, Indi, Button, and Scarlett have direct ties to Eden Hills goats. I am starting to think that while my buck Blaze is a nice compliment to the does, the color […]

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

